We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great stay!”
Review of Islander Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nags Head
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Islander Motel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Although we did not have reservations and arrived late in the evening, we were kindly greeted and set up with a 2nd floor room with an ocean view for 3 nights. The price was very reasonable compared to other oceanfront rooms I had checked out online. The lady checking us in told us they had just put in all new mattresses. They were very comfy! Our room had a nice size refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker w/coffee. There was no extra charge for Wi-Fi service which worked fine. The hotel is not real large (which I liked) and is well kept. There is a lot of nice landscaping and there always seemed to be someone around there doing some type of upkeep on it. The pool was very clean and since the hotel is small, there were rarely more than 3 or 4 people in it at a time. The housekeeping staff did a great job and all of the staff we encountered were very polite. We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and will definitely stay there again if we're ever back in that area.

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floors have the best views
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lois R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (78)
There are newer reviews for Islander Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 53 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2012

We stay at the Islander every visit to the OBX. It’s always clean, friendly, reasonable, & conveniently located to beach access and all things OBX! The entire staff is wonderful – they always wear a smile and offer pleasant “hellos”. It’s quiet and comfortable though nothing fancy! Guests seem to be really friendly too. Our favorite beach accommodations anywhere!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kcstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

THIS IS THE PLACE YOU WANT TO STAY! We arrived in OBX to find this very nice motel that met our every need! Great place to stay with extremely nice folks. It's my new favorite motel. Rooms were well maintained, EXCELLENT VIEW! The beach is less crowded in this area too.

Room Tip: Take something on the 3rd floor for the view.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OBXTravelGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Nothing fancy but the Islander is affordable and allways does the job for me.They are a clean place with a very nice pool and pool area.The owners are nice and they are oceanfront.You are not paying 5 star rates so there is no need to complain when you dont get a 5 star resort.I will be back to the Islander and have no problem recomending it to anyone else.It is a very relaxing place at the beach for a long weekend or a week stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kvilletraveler_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We went right after Hurricane Irene and some parts had been devastated. We delayed our trip by one day due to road closing. When we arrived, it was amazing the cleanup this hotel had done to make ready for guests and it was greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lynndda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
1.1 km away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
0.6 km away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,567 reviews
0.4 km away
Owens' Motel
Owens' Motel
#11 of 13 in Nags Head
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#12 of 13 in Nags Head
181 reviews
3.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
14.7 km away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islander Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Motel

Address: 7001 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9125
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Price Range: ₹ 5,727 - ₹ 9,762 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Nags Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing