We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Clean, Cozy accomodations in a Great Location”
Review of Owens' Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Owens' Motel
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We stayed at Owens Motel for 5 nights with our two sons (6, 1) after ditching our plans to camp due to the extreme heat. We were able to secure a room through Expedia for an extremely reasonable rate and were thrilled to have close beach access...literally just across the road. The motel is broken up into a few different sections and we were in the courtyard area. I was a bit hesitant at first about what the motel would be like as the outside does look a bit dated but were pleasantly surprised once we saw the room. It was very clean and did appear to be recently renovated. There was a fridge and a microwave which was great. The rooms were spacious and there was a table for dining at. The air conditioning unit worked well and was newer which we were grateful for after spending a hot day outside. Our room was always thoroughly cleaned daily and stocked with fresh linens. The motel was within close walking distance to all amenities and there was a reputable restaurant on site which we did not get a chance to try but the reviews suggest it is very good. There is also a swimming pool which the kids enjoyed and it was open quite late and there was no indication that it closed.

The beach is very close, just a short walk across the unbusy road and you are there, literally takes less than a minute. The motel does also offer oceanfront rooms and rooms on the oceanside of the road.

I would definitely stay at this motel again and would recommend it to anyone looking for a clean, simple and affordable place to stay that is beach accessible.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel_chaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 78 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2011

My wife and I booked Owens' because of the price and it had good reviews on Tripadvisor. We stayed in a queen bedroom across the street by the restaurant. The room was overall clean, but the shower was small and the bed only had the comforter on it. Enjoyed the location and it helped us with our budget as we skipped down the coast from town to town. Not for people used to staying in Hotels with larger rooms and updated amenities. Would recommend for those traveling on a budget or those who don't mind a true throw back Motel. We will probably not return. My wife is not a motel kind of person and this was her hell, though I did not mind so much.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank DylCarFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

My husband and I live about an hour and a half away from Nags Head and we really like to go down to the beach for a weekend every month or so. We booked kind of last minute and considering it was July 4th weekend, not many places had rooms left. Owens had a room for our 3 night stay in the court yard. Great price. HUGE room comparing it to the larger chain hotels there. Older appliances but it was clean. Couldn't ask for more considering the price. The courtyard was very peaceful, even though it was a holiday weekend. It is within walking distance of the new pier, the outlets, stores, the beach, an ice cream place, and the best restaurant around, Sam and Omies! We really enjoyed our stay and we will definitely be going back. Always a good idea to support local businesses there :) loved it!

Room Tip: not much parking on the ocean side, get a room on the west side courtyard if you're staying acro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbarnhillrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

I booked with this motel because of all the great reviews I read about it. Check in went smooth, the lady was very friendly. Opened the door to the room and it looked very clean. The bathroom was tiny, but we figured hey it'll do the job. Spent most of the day on the beach, that evening we were resting on the beds, watching t.v. when I thought I seen something move under the t.v., well when I looked down... it was a huge cockroach! We tried to smash it with a shoe it ran very quickly under the t.v. stand. when it came out again we tried once again to smash it but the ran under the bed, many paranoid hours later we seen it crawling on the wall (we assumed it was the same one) and finally killed it. Sleep all night with the lights ON. next day about the same time.. another one, hit it but it still got away.. never found it... next day?? another small one... didnt check out because other motels were full or too much.. also the shower temp. would go from scolding hot to ice cold in a matter of seconds.. needless to say, never, ever staying in this motel again.. The room we stayed in had wood paneling walls, we later figured the must have done this to disguise the roaches.. Beach was great though!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fakeflowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Great location, right across from the beach. There are rooms that overlook the ocean which I would try to get next time. The hotel is on the older side but is clean and well maintained. Good for the price, pool is in a really bad spot though, it's right next to the dumpsters....from the seafood restaurant. Woman at the front desk was very, very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marianacci3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
0.7 km away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
4.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
0.2 km away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#11 of 13 in Nags Head
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,596 reviews
15.1 km away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
891 reviews
13.2 km away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Owens' Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Owens' Motel

Address: 7115 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9127
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range: ₹ 4,951 - ₹ 11,662 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Owens' Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owens Motel is a family owned and operated motel that is located on the beach in South Nags Head. Clean, cozy rooms at affordable rates. Where families, fishermen, golfers and bikers are always welcome. Accomodations include oceanfront efficiencies, oceanside rooms, westside courtyard and westside rooms. The oceanfront barbeque grill and picnic are a favorite spot. Located directly across from the beach road, you'll find our clean, refreshing swimming pool. Daily maid service, air conditioning and cable TV are part of the ammenities that will make your stay memorable. The motel is located in the center of it all. Close to the Oregon Inlet Fishing Center, Pirates Cove Fishing Center, Jennettes Pier, Tanger Outlet Mall, Jockey Ridge State Park, The NC Aquarium, Elizabethan Gardens, Historic Manteo and the Lost Colony. Owens Restaurant, a AAA Three Diamond Award Restaurant is right next door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Owens' Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Owens` Hotel Nags Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing