We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I'LL BE BACK” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colonial Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Colonial Inn
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I'LL BE BACK”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

When my wife and I left after Thanksgiving we booked a room for Memorial Day week. The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean and Kerri, the manager, is great. I would suggest this motel to anyone going to Nags Head.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richmond60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colonialinnmotel, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 9 December 2011
Thank you so much for your kind words! We miss you already! Can't wait to see you next year..don't forget to friend us on facebook so you can see the specials we will have each month next year! We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    94
    53
    33
    32
See reviews for
123
104
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

My finance and I stayed just one night here in late October and we really regret that we didn't stay another night. This is not a fancy place, but it was one of the highlights of our 2 week road trip: our room was spacious (yes, a bit shabby but nice, with a nicely-equipped kitchen) right on the high dunes overlooking the ocean. We really loved walking down our own wooden staircase to the beach at sunset, just a few yards to the pier restaurant for delicious seafood and live music right on the water. There is fishing on the pier until very late at night and we enjoyed chatting with the locals while they fished. It was just beautiful. The motel is well-run and the owners very friendly. Very reasonably-priced for and ocean-front room -- I recommend this motel to those who want a bit of local color and a change from the boring chain motel experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abigail L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colonialinnmotel, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 20 November 2011
Thank you so much for your kind words. We hope that you will come back and see us next year. We are excited to be showing off our newly renovated rooms for our 65th Birthday. We will be having a different special each month, so please join us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

We visit the Outer Banks about 4 times a year and we stay at the Colonial Inn. It's a great location for a family with different interest, a day on the beach, fishing on the pier and shopping everything you need within a mile or walking distance. The staff at the Colonial Inn are great. They are our family away from home. They make us feel so welcome every visit with the air on in our room and yes they leave the light on when we check in late at night. The Colonial Inn is planning on a new makeover the first of the year. Which I'm looking forward too. The rooms are nice and very clean for the year that the Colonial was built. The rooms are just the size that you need, with plenty of place for clothes. The apartments were a great size for 6 people easy. Parking is hard at times however you will always have a space for you. The front desk makes sure that everyone is parked. They do have a over flow parking for the ones that bring more than 1 car. So if your looking to get away for a weekend or a week The Colonial is GREAT!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colonialinnmotel, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 14 October 2011
Thank you so much for your kind comments! We love having you here and can't wait to see you again soon! We are looking forward to our renovation and in you enjoying the changes as well! Take care of you and yours and we will see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waynesboro, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

Stayed for a week and couldn't have found a better place. Staff very friendly and helpful. Parking is tight but most places are. The rooms are just the size that you need, with plenty of place for clothes.
The apartments were a great size for 6 people easy. Had everything needed except food.
Will diffently be going back in April if not before.
Give this place a try.

Room Tip: I would try to stay at 3B or 4B if I needed an apartment size room. On ground floor and right at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BettyB2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
82 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

Booked this motel for three nights on the Outer Banks - it was in a great location, right on the beach. I requested a ground floor room as my parents are elderly and we were given a two-bedroom apartment on the ground floor around the pool which was ideal. The apartment was pretty basic but clean and ok for just sleeping and showering. The pool was very nice and literally outside our door. However, on the third night there was a stag do, it seemed as though there were 15 men next door, I have no idea how many there actually were. I don't have a problem with stag do's as such, I've followed football all over the world and stayed in rowdy places. However, my parents are elderly and there were children in the motel. If I'm staying somewhere like Magaluf I wouldn't comment, but in a motel of this nature, when the noise and rowdy behaviour (RIGHT outside my window) went on until 3.30am, it's pretty unacceptable. I tried to call the front desk but it wasn't 24 hour. So short of going out there to face a crowd of drunks, we just had to put up with it. What made the whole thing worse, indeed why I'm even mentioning it, is that when I complained in the morning the staff said "oh, yes, it's the stag do" as though this was an acceptable explanation. It totally ruined the stay and I don't know if it's a regular practice but would warn people that this could happen.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whugirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
8.2 km away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
3.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
7.6 km away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
#13 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
3.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
3.2 km away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,345 reviews
6.5 km away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Inn

Property: Colonial Inn
Address: 3329 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9267
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,276 - ₹ 15,177
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonial Inn is nestled at MP 11.5 On the oceanfront right next door to the Nags Head Fishing Pier. The hotel offers many different room types to accommodate every need. We are also pet friendly! There is a seasonal outdoor pool, a private beach access, refrigerators and microwaves in every room, as well as LG flat screen TVs. We also provide free YMCA passes at request, and free WIFI for our guests. We offer discounts for AAA, AARP members and run specials throughout the year. Historical sites, gift shops, and the outlet mall are just minutes away. Jockey's Ridge State Park is half a mile south and the Wright Brother's National Memorial is less than 4 miles away. Lucky 12 Tavern is in walking distance, and Tortugas' Lie Shellfish Bar & Grill is half a mile north of the Colonial Inn!If you are looking for Old World Charm in the heart of Nags Head, the Colonial Inn is the place for you and your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Colonial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Nags Head
Colonial Motel Nags Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing