We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Worst place I've stayed at OBX” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rodeway Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst place I've stayed at OBX”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

Without a doubt this was the worst hotel we've stayed at OBX. The web side photos are definately deceiving. The bathroom was very small, tiny in fact. The water at the sink was hot, however, the shower water was tepid at best. Seems the hot/cold water selector was fixed so that you could not get hot water in the shower and the shower curtain was pitiful, it did not cover the entire shower opening. For $241.36 for 2 nights it would have been nice if housekeeping had made the beds and run the vacumn. There was no hair dryer in the room, you could get one from the front desk but had to return it every day after use. Wi-fi did not work the entire weekend. Also they charge $1.00 per key if you return them. Would not recommed this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claudia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    58
    18
    15
    17
See reviews for
41
63
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Typical for most Rodeway Inns I have been in. Room was a small but adequate. Clean and in good shape. Considering hurricane Irene beat up the Outer Banks pretty good in September. Many rooms were damaged in this hotel but the upper floor room we had was just fine. We needed a place to sit out the nor'easter snowstorm on Oct. 29th. before heading back to NY. No complaints

Room Tip: Grab a ground floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sportclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

The place is wonderful because the people are great, the price is great, the beach is just a walk away and the hotel is definitely worth your money. Everything is clean. I have enjoyed my stay and if I come back I will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KimCody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

Previous reviews and hotel pictures are quite deceiving. The room was shabby and worn. It was advertised as large but there was barely room to walk to get to the bathroom because the bed was so close to the wall. The bathroom so small that you couldn't turn around to dry off after the shower. It had a tiny toilet and sink with no counter to set anything on and the toilet tank top was not flat. There is no hair dryer. Bar soap was wafer thin, bath towels very thin and about the size of a hand towel, very thin, worn sheets, worn bed spread and carpet. The continental breakfast was a real joke. Every guest had at least one dog. The two jack russells in the next room barked every time I turned over in the bed. The steps (no elevator) should be closed as a safety hazard as they are only about five inches deep and maybe 30 inches wide--very difficult to carry luggage upstairs. The pool was very small and parking was a real challenge. Staff not so friendly. I would not recommend and would never spend the money again for this hotel.

Room Tip: Must love dogs. The rooms on Virginia Dare are the only ones with windows large enough for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

This is the fourth year that I visited Nags Head, N.C. Each year I have stayed at the Rodeway Inn. The location is very convenient and accessible. The staff are always very welcoming. The rooms are always clean and comfortable. I'm beginning to feel like this is my very special place. I'm already looking forward to my trip to Nags Head next year. I'll definitely be staying at my special place at the Rodeway Inn.
Thanks Brent and Staff - you're the best!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
0.5 km away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
4.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
1.2 km away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 km away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
13.4 km away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
13.0 km away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites

Property: Rodeway Inn & Suites
Address: 7218 S Virginia Dare Trl, PO Box 367 MP 16 1/2, Nags Head, NC 27959-9128
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
Price range (per night): ₹ 18,295 - ₹ 19,182
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the beautiful beaches of the Outerbanks of North Carolina. We are a small pet friendly hotel located directly across the street from the Nags Head beaches and the new Jennette's Pier NC Aquarium. We offer newly renovated rooms and suites, kitchenette and ocean view rooms are also available. Free continental breakfast and Wi-Fi is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn And Suites
Rodeway Hotel Nags Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing