We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Mountain Getaway you hate to leave”

Review of Highland House

Sign
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sign
Snow Covered Typical Sunset
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Sign
Snow Covered
Typical Sunset
Master Bedroom
Living Room
Fully Equipped Kitchen
Full View Windows
Dining With A View
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Murphy, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bryarfox
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Mountain Getaway you hate to leave”
Reviewed 19 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I could not ask for a nicer place to stay when visiting the Murphy area. The cabin is so lovely and the views are spectacular. Tim is amazingly gracious and so easy to work with. He went out of his way to see to it that I had everything I needed and that all was in good order. I will certainly return to Highland House in the future. I have absolutely nothing bad to say about my time spent there, other than it was so sad when it was time to say goodbye.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The wonderful views
Liked least: There was not anything I did not like
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Reviewed 28 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Mountain views
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LaurenSmi...
Athens, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous home, stunning views, great experience!”
Reviewed 14 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We loved every part of this beautiful cabin. The home was very clean and had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. I was impressed at how well the kitchen was stocked. The upstairs bed that we slept in was incredibly comfortable with a mattress topper and plenty of pillows. The fire place was easy to operate and the tv had plenty of channels so that we could watch our Saturday SEC football! The location was perfect! You feel secluded up on the mountain ridge at the cabin, but it's only a few miles to the nearest grocery store in case you forget something. The views from the cabin were also gorgeous. Our only minor annoyance the whole trip is that the couch cushions tend to slide around when you sit on them. But that was no big deal and in no way detracted from our amazing stay at Highland House. We had a lovely and relaxing anniversary trip. We loved it here and would absolutely stay here again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and overall coziness of the cabin.
Liked least: Silly couch cushions sliding around.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B
Julian, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful home with gorgeous view!”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We found this home to be warm and inviting with a lovely view from the deck. The rooms were beautifully decorated and the kitchen was well equipped. We visited several points of interest within a short distance of the house; Nantahala River, Joyce Kilmer Memorial Forest and Fields of the Wood are all close by, as well as several flea markets and local wineries. Everything was easily accessible. Definitely a great place to stay for a fun, relaxing vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing