We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hidden Gem in the Mountains”
other travellers have booked this property
Master
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Master
Guest Room Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Master
Guest Room
Kitchen
Ceiling Height
Living Area
'The Bear's Den'
Fireplace and Picture Window
8 foot French Doors
Partial View
Deck SW View
Breakfast Bar
Carport
Driveway
Drive Up
Neighbors - Smokey & Radar
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Maggie Valley, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Judy D
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in the Mountains”
Reviewed 8 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Bears Den is a hidden gem in the mountains of North Carolina. We were blessed to be able to share some time with family who traveled to meet us there. Jim, the owner and builder, was very helpful while planning our trip. He also checked on us while we were there. The cabin was pristine, beautifully built and decorated, with all the needed amenities. The view from the deck was amazing. We enjoyed the fireplace and the coziness of the cabin, since the weather was uncooperative on a few of our days there. On the other days, we ventured out to explore the areas. The cabin is just a few miles from the entrance of the Blue Ridge Parkway. Other attractions are just a 30-45 minute drive. We hope to return again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A rustic atmosphere, with all the perks.
Liked least: The steep road and driveway, but we got used to it.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yanely G
Fleming Island, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“HEAVENLY..HEAR ONLY BIRDS SEE MAJESTIC NATURE BEAUTY”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

If you are looking for a sanctuary retreat in the Carolina's mountains, then look no further. My husband and I along with our twelve year old son and six year old daughter spent a wonderful family vacation for seven glorious nights. The cabin is brand new, impeccably clean and professionally decorated in an beautiful, elegantly and upscale rustic decor. I cooked breakfast daily and dinner every night except for one and the kitchen was fully stocked with every utensil I could need and then some! Jim is very friendly and reliable, there if you need him. My only caveat is that the paved driveway is a bit steep.. and the road to the cabin is gravel, but we had no issues since we drove a 4x4 truck. My son was disappointed about the spotty internet connection,(up on the mountain) but it turned out to be a blessing since we were able to reconnect as a family playing board games nightly. There is satellite TV with many premium channels.. Disney Jr and Nick Jr channels were available- if you have small kids, you understand priority in this. There is also a Blue Ray DVD player and a large library of DVDs to view if you are inclined. However the cherry on the cake is the breathtakingly gorgeous view right out of your huge window and out of your balcony--beautiful and very relaxing.. heavenly. A wonderful vacation- no one wanted to leave. We are already planning our next trip back! Pick this cabin.. you will be glad you did.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and location of this brand new, upscale mountain retreat.
Liked least: steep driveway and gravel roads getting to property
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleair, Florida
Reviewed 6 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: There wasn't anything not to like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Driveway but it is
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewed 18 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing