We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Stay at the Wildberry Lodge”
Review of Wildberry Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wildberry Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Leicester B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Destin, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Stay at the Wildberry Lodge”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Wow, my husband and I just returned from our stay at Wildberry Lodge. The lodge is an amazing work of architecture with an absolutely beautiful view of the valley and mountains. From the moment we set our bags down it was just like being home, but without the to do list. We enjoyed wine in the evenings out on the deck and while enjoying the fire. Glenda and Ken are gracious host and fabulous cooks. We will be back to visit them again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Gooseberry Room with a balcony and an amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    0
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
6
50
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We just left the Wildberry Lodge today, and honestly hated to leave! This log cabin inn is nestled high on a ridge and every room has a private deck. The lodhabits as cozy as a cabin, but grand in stature. The great room looks out at the mountains through floor to ceiling windows -Three stories high.
We stayed in the Blackberry Suite and enjoyed supreme comfort in a large space with high ceilings. Our suite included a sunroom which was strategically placed to welcome the morning sun and face the hiking trail and fire pit in the evening. Simply lovely! The king sized bed was very comfortable, luxury sheets, lots of pillows, cozy furniture. Our suite had a wood burning fireplace that was stocked and ready to burn everyday when we returned from a busy sight seeing day. The bathroom in the suite is very large with a two person jetted tub, large shower and Jack and Jill vanity. Cozy robes, warmed towels, luxurious! Every morning we enjoyed a gourmet breakfast- yesterday it was lemon pecan blackberry pancakes, fruit and granola parfait (homemade granola) and baked plums. We had to leave early so we couldn't have breakfast today, but our thoughtful innkeepers baked muffins for our trip! Our hosts would magically appear when we needed something, friendly and talkative, but were also discreetly absent so we could enjoy the quiet romantic setting.
We plan to stay at the Wildberry every year for our anniversary, if you plan on staying near Asheville, you can't go wrong at the Wildberry Lodge!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cammieoh520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, GA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

My wife and I stayed in the Strawberry room for four nights, a very nice and comfortable room. Len and Glenda Cahill, the innkeepers were superb. They were very attentive and pleasant company, but never in our way. The breakfasts were extraordinary, and so much more than we usually have that we did not need anything else until dinner. The inn itself is a beautiful log cabin, and very well appointed with a wonderful blend of rustic and modern. The great room and fireplace were like home (well, even better!). The view of mountains, valleys and farms outside the great room is beautiful and peaceful. We have stayed at several mountain lodges, and Wildberry is already one of our favorites. I hope to return soon. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Strawberry room is away from an area with a TV. There is also a room in the main lodge that has a se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfrank08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

My husband and I just returned from 4 nights at the Wildberry Lodge. It was so magical I can't wait to go back. The lodge is huge and beautifully maintained. We stayed in the honeymoon cabin. The shower with 6 body jets and 4 shower heads was amazing. The tub is enormous. Floor to ceiling fireplace with fantastic views. The owners are great as are Katie and Pat. The breakfast was out of this world. Every morning we couldn't wait to see what creation Pat prepared for us. Katie was so sweet answering all my questions about were to go shop, visit and eat. The views are breathtaking. I am generally a beach goer when it comes to vacations. Well, I have been won over. Everything about the town of Asheville and the lodge were fabulous. I am already planning a trip in the spring.

Room Tip: they are all wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElizabethDuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

My husband and I wanted a quiet 1 week get-away to the Smoky Mountains and Wildberry delivered! We spent most of the trip in the Honeymoon Cabin, which is absolutely gorgeous! It is separated from the main lodge and boasts a full kitchen, uninhibited view of the mountain side, spacious deck with a grill, push-start fireplace, and one of the best bathrooms I have ever used complete with shower with, count them, 6 sprayers and 4 heads, and a whirlpool bathtub with lights, jets, and over-the-shoulder waterfall. The staff had put out flowers and chocolates for our arrival which was a lovely touch.

The last few days we stayed in the main lodge in the Blackberry Room. The Blackberry Room is also very nice complete with personal deck and sunroom, but not as up-to-date as the Honeymoon Cabin. We also enjoyed spending time on the main lodge's deck and in the common area. Another feature that was just finished during our stay was a sitting area a short hike up the mountains. There is very nice outdoor furniture and a fire pit up there which the staff is happy to start upon request.

Probably one of the best parts of Wildberry were the breakfasts. They honestly served the most gourmet and extensive breakfasts I have ever had, complete with dessert. I think my personal favorite from the trip was raspberry lemon pecan-crusted pancakes. Also, breakfast was served on the screened in porch overlooking the mountains. In the evenings, the staff made delicious little treats and put on wine in the common area. The staff was very friendly and accommodating from our experience. They even set aside some fruit and muffins for our check out date as we had to leave much earlier than breakfast started.

The location is obviously wonderful and peaceful, nestled into the west side of the mountains. However, this also poses one negative to Wildberry for those who are hoping to leave frequently. The distance from town and major highways made any day trip into a journey. Asheville was a good 25-30 minutes away. (as a side note, Asheville has some amazing restaurants including Tupelo Honey Cafe and The Lobster Trap) We also made several day trips to surrounding national parks including Cherokee, Smoky Mountains, Chimney Rock (all about 1.5 hours one way) and Grandfather Mountain (about 2 hours one way). The drives are all scenic but can become cumbersome.

If our journeys bring us back to the Asheville area, we will definitely consider Wildberry again. It would be a very nice location for a smaller family reunion as well.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RKBow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leicester
The Residences at Biltmore
#22 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brookstone Lodge
#32 of 63 in Asheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#12 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,651 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildberry Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildberry Lodge

Property: Wildberry Lodge
Address: 135 Potato Branch Rd, Leicester, NC 28748-6604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Leicester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Leicester
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,286 - ₹ 21,849
Hotel Class:3 star — Wildberry Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just outside of Asheville, NC, Wildberry Lodge is the perfect mountain retreat. The Lodge has 7 beautiful log guest suites, 2 of which are in our separate cabin, the Honey Cabin Suite hosts a luxurious spa bath. Spend your days on the Blue ridge Parkway, Appalachian Trail, at the Biltmore Estate, or just relaxing. Come and enjoy the spectacular mountain views, sunsets and starlit nights. As innkeepers of Wildberry Lodge we invite you to relax and renew in the splendor of the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Wildberry Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing