We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wildberry Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Greenfield Manor(Leicester)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
67
1
3
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
67
1
3
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgooseberry roomgreat roomhot apple ciderlog cabin stylesnacks and soft drinksan animal loverhoneymoon suitewonderful hoststurkey sausagesmall saunafire pitbath saltsevery morningget awaywild berrybed breakfaststayed nights
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 75 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We just left the Wildberry Lodge today, and honestly hated to leave! This log cabin inn is nestled high on a ridge and every room has a private deck. The lodhabits as cozy as a cabin, but grand in stature. The great room looks out at the mountains through floor to ceiling windows -Three stories high.
We stayed in the Blackberry Suite and enjoyed supreme comfort in a large space with high ceilings. Our suite included a sunroom which was strategically placed to welcome the morning sun and face the hiking trail and fire pit in the evening. Simply lovely! The king sized bed was very comfortable, luxury sheets, lots of pillows, cozy furniture. Our suite had a wood burning fireplace that was stocked and ready to burn everyday when we returned from a busy sight seeing day. The bathroom in the suite is very large with a two person jetted tub, large shower and Jack and Jill vanity. Cozy robes, warmed towels, luxurious! Every morning we enjoyed a gourmet breakfast- yesterday it was lemon pecan blackberry pancakes, fruit and granola parfait (homemade granola) and baked plums. We had to leave early so we couldn't have breakfast today, but our thoughtful innkeepers baked muffins for our trip! Our hosts would magically appear when we needed something, friendly and talkative, but were also discreetly absent so we could enjoy the quiet romantic setting.
We plan to stay at the Wildberry every year for our anniversary, if you plan on staying near Asheville, you can't go wrong at the Wildberry Lodge!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cammieoh520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

My wife and I stayed in the Strawberry room for four nights, a very nice and comfortable room. Len and Glenda Cahill, the innkeepers were superb. They were very attentive and pleasant company, but never in our way. The breakfasts were extraordinary, and so much more than we usually have that we did not need anything else until dinner. The inn itself is a beautiful log cabin, and very well appointed with a wonderful blend of rustic and modern. The great room and fireplace were like home (well, even better!). The view of mountains, valleys and farms outside the great room is beautiful and peaceful. We have stayed at several mountain lodges, and Wildberry is already one of our favorites. I hope to return soon. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Strawberry room is away from an area with a TV. There is also a room in the main lodge that has a separate entrance and may be even quieter
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfrank08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

My husband and I just returned from 4 nights at the Wildberry Lodge. It was so magical I can't wait to go back. The lodge is huge and beautifully maintained. We stayed in the honeymoon cabin. The shower with 6 body jets and 4 shower heads was amazing. The tub is enormous. Floor to ceiling fireplace with fantastic views. The owners are great as are Katie and Pat. The breakfast was out of this world. Every morning we couldn't wait to see what creation Pat prepared for us. Katie was so sweet answering all my questions about were to go shop, visit and eat. The views are breathtaking. I am generally a beach goer when it comes to vacations. Well, I have been won over. Everything about the town of Asheville and the lodge were fabulous. I am already planning a trip in the spring.

Room Tip: they are all wonderful
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElizabethDuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

My husband and I wanted a quiet 1 week get-away to the Smoky Mountains and Wildberry delivered! We spent most of the trip in the Honeymoon Cabin, which is absolutely gorgeous! It is separated from the main lodge and boasts a full kitchen, uninhibited view of the mountain side, spacious deck with a grill, push-start fireplace, and one of the best bathrooms I have ever used complete with shower with, count them, 6 sprayers and 4 heads, and a whirlpool bathtub with lights, jets, and over-the-shoulder waterfall. The staff had put out flowers and chocolates for our arrival which was a lovely touch.

The last few days we stayed in the main lodge in the Blackberry Room. The Blackberry Room is also very nice complete with personal deck and sunroom, but not as up-to-date as the Honeymoon Cabin. We also enjoyed spending time on the main lodge's deck and in the common area. Another feature that was just finished during our stay was a sitting area a short hike up the mountains. There is very nice outdoor furniture and a fire pit up there which the staff is happy to start upon request.

Probably one of the best parts of Wildberry were the breakfasts. They honestly served the most gourmet and extensive breakfasts I have ever had, complete with dessert. I think my personal favorite from the trip was raspberry lemon pecan-crusted pancakes. Also, breakfast was served on the screened in porch overlooking the mountains. In the evenings, the staff made delicious little treats and put on wine in the common area. The staff was very friendly and accommodating from our experience. They even set aside some fruit and muffins for our check out date as we had to leave much earlier than breakfast started.

The location is obviously wonderful and peaceful, nestled into the west side of the mountains. However, this also poses one negative to Wildberry for those who are hoping to leave frequently. The distance from town and major highways made any day trip into a journey. Asheville was a good 25-30 minutes away. (as a side note, Asheville has some amazing restaurants including Tupelo Honey Cafe and The Lobster Trap) We also made several day trips to surrounding national parks including Cherokee, Smoky Mountains, Chimney Rock (all about 1.5 hours one way) and Grandfather Mountain (about 2 hours one way). The drives are all scenic but can become cumbersome.

If our journeys bring us back to the Asheville area, we will definitely consider Wildberry again. It would be a very nice location for a smaller family reunion as well.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RKBow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The Wildberry Lodge was much better than I expected it to be. As beautiful as the website & the brochure make the lodge appear, it's much more beautiful. If you're looking for a place to stay that's outside of Asheville but close enough to enjoy the city, this is the place to stay. It's perched atop a rolling hill and the lodge overlooks mountains as far as the eye can see. We stayed in the Gooseberry room which was perfect for a romantic stay. The view was amazing and the room was spacious and clean.

The innkeepers were perfect! The breakfast was delightful. Each morning breakfast was a 3 course meal. It was delicious and filling. We had the pleasure of enjoying breakfast on the screened in porch.

The great room, in the center of the lodge, was inviting, relaxing & just plain wonderful.

We'll definitely return and will tell our friends to stay at Wildberry Lodge as well.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauriefay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews