We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalachian Christmas weekend visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lake Junaluska
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2012

I had the wonderful experience of visiting Lake Junaluska during the Applachian Christmas weekend activities. Lisa's review "Lake Junaluska: Jem of a Getaway" does a great job of explaining the experience. I echo her comments.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DHPColumbia_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lake_junaluska, Public Relations Manager at Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

DHPColubmia_SC, we are glad that like Lisa, you also had a wonderful experience during Appalachian Christmas weekend! We have a lot of great programs planned for 2012 including another Appalachian Christmas weekend. We hope that you can join us again soon! Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your positive experiences.
Blessings,
Stephanie Drum, Communications Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 167 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2012

My husband and I stayed at Lake Junaluska for the Appalachian Christmas weekend in Dec. 2011 and were delighted with so many things....the incredible lake view from our room in the Lambuth Inn, the personal service afforded to us from everyone from the desk clerk to the room maid to the group sales manager, to the GREAT entertainment provided by the extremely talented Lake Junaluska singers and David Holt. We moved to Knoxville in 1996 and were surprised that we did not know about this jem of a getaway so close to our home (about an hour's drive from Knoxville, mostly by interstate).
I realize the conference and resort facility has been viewed primarily (in the past) as a Methodist-based spiritual retreat-type facility, but really, it seems to be an affordable option for any type of corporate or business retreat, organizational music or crafts workshop, etc. It would be ideal for a family reunion, especially in the summer. But even in the winter, the walking trails around the lake and various modes of transportation encourage fitness as well as convenience.
It is so close to Asheville, convenient to all the amenities that Asheville affords, with Biltmore House and Grove Park Inn, etc. only a short drive away.
It also struck me in having potential as a beautiful yet afforable place to get married....the lakeside chapel is stunning, and wedding photos would be gorgeous both inside the chapel and outside under the arches, framed by the lake. With the variety of lodging and dining faciilities on site, I imagine it could be a budget-worthy wedding venue. (I wish my niece had known about it last year when she was married. )

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front side of Lambuth Inn with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 85Lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lake_junaluska, Public Relations Manager at Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review! I will pass along your compliments to the staff and the Lake Junaluska Singers. We are glad that you and your husband enjoyed your stay at the Lambuth Inn for Appalachian Christmas, and we look forward to your return when your travels bring you this way again.
Blessings,
Stephanie Drum, Communications Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

Had a wonderful time! Rented a small 50s cottage called best view on the lake. Close to asheville, waynesville and the parkway. A great place to stay year round.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank khtaber01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

My mom & I were there for a conference, having visited the area a year before and liked it. The Terrace Hotel overlooks the lake (ask for one of those rooms!) and the rooms themselves are very simple and super-clean. Towels and sheets were of the thin and skimpy variety. However, the lobby is spacious, with fireplaces, internet access, long balconies overlooking the lake, and nice, cool water fountains. Lake is great for walking/running around--a decent 2.6 mile loop.Gardens are stunning. Service could not be friendlier. This is in a special category, as it is a spiritual center, with lovely chapel and community unto itself. But we saw plenty of folks who were just there pre- or post-camping. Waynesville is nearby, with wonderful shops for those appreciating antiques and fine crafts.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank runningelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

The Lambuth Inn boasts a beautiful setting and friendly service, but the the hotel needs major updating and breakfast options were slim. The prices were on the high side for what was offered. At least they have wi-fi.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flymeawaytoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Junaluska
0 km away
Lambuth Inn
Lambuth Inn
#3 of 3 in Lake Junaluska
108 reviews
9.2 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 25 in Maggie Valley
297 reviews
7 km away
Best Western Smoky Mountain Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
The Clarketon Motel
The Clarketon Motel
#13 of 25 in Maggie Valley
106 reviews
6.2 km away
The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa
10.8 km away
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
#1 of 25 in Maggie Valley
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center

Address: 91 N Lakeshore Dr, Lake Junaluska, NC 28745-9730
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Lake Junaluska
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lake Junaluska
Price Range: ₹ 2,387 - ₹ 9,935 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center 2*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With over 400 lodging rooms, we can easily accommodate groups of all sizes and budgets. All of our facilities are unique inside and out. From the historic columns of Lambuth Inn to the spectacular views from the Terrace Hotel dining room, our lodging will make your visit exceptional and memorable. Also available is Lakeside Lodge, a motel-style facility, along with the Sunnyside and Mountainview Lodges which have dormitory-style rooms with private baths. The Junaluska Apartments are great for families and youth groups, with kitchenettes in most units. A wide range of accommodations are available at our Camp Adventure campground from tents and RV hookups to cabins and apartment efficiencies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Junaluska Conference And Retreat Hotel Lake Junaluska
Lake Junaluska Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing