We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Place...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Marlin Beach Lodging

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kure Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Marlin Beach Lodging
Pilot Mountain, North Carolina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Place...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2011

You could not ask for any nicer owners...Went above and beyond there call.. I give it a 5 star....Should have wrote back last year when we went.. Going back the first of May of this year,,..Great for wheel chairs...

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mamboman38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    2
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
12
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sanford,nc
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2011

My husband and I decided at the last minute to make a trip to Kure beach and the aquarium with our 20 month old. We've always loved Kure beach but hadn't realized how much it had changed in the past several years. (Why do people have to tear down lovely little beach cottages/communities for high rise condo boxes that block out the beach, sun and sky?) How fortunate we were to find the Blue Marlin! This is the Kure beach we know and love! Friendly, genuine owners...a clean, safe 2 bedroom beach cottage (unit #6)...this is what North Carolina's coast is really about! Thank you Gilbert for the hospitality, relaxing weekend, and wonderful memories! We'll be back soon!

Room Tip: room 6 = 1 block from ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hootie100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
121 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2010

We stayed in unit #3 and it was very nice and peaceful. You could sit on the back deck and hear the ocean. I wish I was there now instead of home writing this review. Gilbert was very nice before, during and after our visit. I had emailed him about our stay and he was very nice and replied right away. We chatted a bit when we visited the store and a nice email after we were back home.
Our unit #3 was top floor with a total of 4 units in the building. We never heard a word out of the others. We slept well in our beds and felt very safe at night. We left the door open a lot so we could hear the ocean.
We cooked two meals while we are there (make sure you open the door and cut on the oven fan, so the fire alarm won't go off... of course it could have been our cooking) anyway the oven and stove worked great.
We did have internet but it was VERY slow connection. But enough for us all to do a little on our laptops. It works best on the back deck which was ok by me.
We had no problems with the carpet.... it's beach carpet folks and of course it's going to be a mess if you allow your kids to spill things on it. But ours wasn't that bad in our unit.
Ocean front with a awesome view!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oceanwinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sertoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2010

The carpets were old looking and nasty. The sofas were too scary to sit on. The place says newly renovated? No. Painted I guess. I have a crawling baby and her hands and knees stayed black with dirt inside the ocean front unit we were in. Anytime the kids spilled something the carpet was impossible to clean up properly. The location is excellent. Loved the grassy area between apt and beach. Wish they had laundry facilities in the units. Could put stackables in the furnace closet.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaileyJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert A, Owner at Blue Marlin Beach Lodging, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
YES! Back Then, Dirty-Carpet-Build-UP! This spring, 2013 we found the best professional cleaning "team" around with the best professional products! Now that being said, we ask our guest to use care when staying with us. We found that quality carpet is less expensive than vinyl flooring, ceramic tile or heart pine boards. Thank you for all your help in keeping our floors clean. Gilbert Alphin, Blue Marlin Apartments and Beach Shop, Kure Beach, NC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kure Beach hotels

Winston-Salem, NC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2010

We loved staying here. We stayed it the biggest unit they have, #7. Two bedrooms and a combo room with even more room to sleep. It was great. The only part that I iwsh it had was a poll, because we had small children afraid of the beach. But other thanthat, everything was awesome!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TracyLynn627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kure Beach
2.3 km away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
3.6 km away
Courtyard Carolina Beach Oceanfront
4.4 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
The Savannah Inn
The Savannah Inn
#4 of 19 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
3.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Be...
#1 of 19 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.6 km away
Moran Motel
Moran Motel
#5 of 7 in Kure Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Marlin Beach Lodging? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Marlin Beach Lodging

Property: Blue Marlin Beach Lodging
Address: 309 Fort Fisher Blvd N, Kure Beach, NC 28449-4821
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Kure Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Kure Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing