We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
25
20
7
1
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
25
20
7
1
6
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2016

If you're looking for a classy and luxurious place to stay, The Buccaneer isn't for you. My family and I however thoroughly enjoyed our stay. A spider in our bed the first night freaked us out a little bit, but other than that the place served our needs just fine. We cooked some meals in the little kitchen that was separate from the sleeping area. Our favorite part of staying at The Buccaneer was it was mere steps from the beach. This was the selling point on us choosing this hotel (the price wasn't bad either!) We were on the beach all day and even took walks at night. If we return to OBX we will definitely be choosing this motel again.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Crystal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 November 2015 via mobile

Found at the last minute to whisk my wife away for her birthday. This was our first time visiting OBX, and even though it was a little cool. The room was clean and just right for the two of us. I wasn't a fan of the tile floors because dirt got tracked into bed. But overall it was a pleasant stay.

Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank W858UIpaulp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 October 2015 via mobile

A good looking place. Clean, as close to the beach as any other. One cockroach tho. Big sucker too, but he's dead now. Other than that not bad. Bed's a bit tough but who isn't? Has seperate kitchen area which is nice and has that cool vibe. Sit out front on your personal chairs & enjoy the wind

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank thespadebaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 October 2015

If you are looking for a quaint place to stay in Kitty Hawk, this is one. The owner was very welcoming and informative and the rooms are roomy and made to feel like home. Even though this motel is rather old, it is clean and well maintained. We had everything we needed for a pleasant stay. There is free WIFi available, refrigerator, microwave and TV in the living area as well as a couch, chair, and two end tables. Our room had 2 queen size beds, a night stand, and a dresser. The only thing missing was a hair dryer. It is a short walk to the beach and really gives you that old beachy feeling. Good place for families on a budget as well.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NenuPapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 September 2015

This is an old motel, not particularly attractive and next to a huge trailer park. Initial impression not good. HOWEVER it worked out very well for us. I love having two rooms, living room and bedroom, with door between. Small views with no view. Good kitchen facilities although we didn't use them. We were on the second floor. It has a deck running along in front of all the rooms with wooden benches. A nice place to sit although there was only a glimpse of the ocean. The nicest thing was chatting with other guests, very friendly folks. Also the price was low. It has an outdoor pool - small but pleasant. And a outdoor hose to wash the sand off your feet.

The beach was great. We just had to cross the road and follow a short part over the sand dune. Then were at the wide, clean beach with very few people on it (early Sept). I was surprised at how warm the ocean water was.

We didn't like Kitty Hawk. Wall-to-wall condos. Felt way too tourist-y

Room tip: We liked the 2nd floor - quieter. However the 1st floor rooms have the advantage of a covered patio - would have been nice in the rain.
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucyLoring
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews