We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's All Good - Highly Recommended”

The Boiler Room Oyster Bar
Ranked #2 of 82 Restaurants in Kinston
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Reviewed 5 January 2018

We went for the oyster happy hour and a half, $1 oysters from 4:30 to 6:00 and were not disappointed. The Mobacks from the Chesapeake Bay were the best raw oysters we've had in quite some time. They ran out of those, so our second dozen were local, from Pamlico Sound. They were good, but not nearly as good as the Mobjacks.

The service was friendly and efficient, there is a good selection of draft beers and the ambiance does a good job of capturing what coastal raw bars used to look like a few decades ago.

We drive from PA to Savannah and back once or twice a year. I think we'll try to arrange our schedule to a stop here from now on.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gakpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chefandthef, Owner at The Boiler Room Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Hello Gakpa – Thank you for reviewing our Boiler Room! We're pleased that you enjoyed our raw oysters and drafts selection. We're honored to be a part of your Savannah-bound trip. Please join us again the next time you come down. – Kindest regards, Vivian & Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (489)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 64 of 489 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

The Boiler Room is a small restaurant in Kinston with a casual atmosphere that serves great oysters.
No reservations but you can stop in and get a pager,
then go over to the local brewery while you are waiting for your table.

Thank mfspears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chefandthef, Owner at The Boiler Room Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Hello Mfspears,
We're glad you enjoyed the oysters! Thank you for visiting us and come back soon! – Kind regards, Vivian & Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

I enjoyed the peacekeeper sandwich...a fried shrimp
and oyster po-boy type sandwich. It was perfectly cooked and served on a hoagie type roll with lettuce, tomato, and a citrus aioli. Expertly balanced with regard to appearance, texture, and taste. Absolutely delicious!

Thank SweetTea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chefandthef, Owner at The Boiler Room Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Hello SweetTea S –
We are delighted that you enjoyed the Peacekeeper at our Boiler Room! We hope that you'll come back for more delicious items. Thank you for your review. – Kind regards, Vivian & Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017

OK, so I am a fan of A Chef's Life and have dined at Chef and the Farmer. I was driving through Kinston on my way to visit friends in New Bern and it was sort of lunch time, so...yes I stopped there for a pricey lunch. I did order a dozen oysters on the half shell, which jacked up my tab, they were so yummy with my burger! Fantastic and attentive service and fresh, fresh food. After lunch I went across the street and managed to get someone to open the gift shop - I bought three of Vivian's cookbooks, bumper stickers and a few tee-shirts for Christmas gifts. Just wish I lived closer to stop in for lunch more often.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TheGilmoreGirlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chefandthef, Owner at The Boiler Room Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Hello TheGilmoreGirlz –
Thank you for being a fan of our show and for visiting us! We're so glad you enjoyed the oysters. I wanted to make sure you knew about our weekday special. Between 4:30 and 6pm, get raw oysters for only $1 a piece! It's the best deal around save from shucking them yourself. We hope that you'll come back soon - bring your friends from New Bern! – Kindest regards, Ben Knight

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017 via mobile

Best Restaurant in Kinston. We go to the Boiler Room at least 3 times a month. The food is excellent and the service is great.

Thank Ryan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chefandthef, Owner at The Boiler Room Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Hello Ryan K. – Thank you so much! We appreciate your review. – Kindest regards, Vivian & Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boiler Room Oyster Bar also viewed

Kinston, North Carolina Coast
Kinston, North Carolina Coast
 
Kinston, North Carolina Coast
Kinston, North Carolina Coast
 
Kinston, North Carolina Coast
Kinston, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to The Boiler Room Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing