We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Jamesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great View Great Value”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

This particlar site has the Ocean on the front and the Sound on the back side so you have water on all sides. My room had both an Ocean and Sound view. The service is very good and the without question the view was GREAT!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    139
    103
    50
    49
See reviews for
157
198
15
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The location of the hotel was great. Not to far from the main strip and just close enough to the beach. Walking into the lobby of the hotel, I was greeted with warm and friendly service. This was a constant through out my stay. I love the breakfast. It wasnt the typical coffee muffins, toast so forth and so on. The lobby area is every inviting

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Selegence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vamit241, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Selegence,
Thanks so much for staying with us during your visit to
Outer Banks. We’re glad you had a pleasant stay at our hotel..!!!
Our staff tries to bring personal attention into every guest
interaction, and we are very pleased that you received
that attention at the front desk. We have done our best with upgrades and hope guests would take a cue from you and try us out.
Thanks again for the kind words and we really hope to see
you the next time you are in Outer Banks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

This is an ocean front hotel, and fine for someone with the ocean focus. Rooms are spacious; ours had a balcony with minimal seating. Bathrooms are adequate, and all was clean to good hotel standards. The staff was very welcoming, gracious, and competent. Breakfast is complete and tasty. The huge negative at this hotel is the ridiculous two-ramp walk and luggage push/shove to get to the first floor AND elevator. One can hardly imagine any hotel originally designed with this absurd demand. And, this ramp is NOT a gradual "handicapped" climb. The angle is sharp, and unbelievable. During busy check-in hours there is help on staff to assist you getting your luggage up the ramp, but this is not 24 hours per day assistance. I'm 30, in reasonably good shape, and it was a challenge for me! The elevator is agonizingly slow, too.

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd floor and above. The first floor rooms are below the dune, and a view is not available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick163250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vamit241, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
We want to make a difference but would like our guests to share with us their varied experiences during their stay both positive as well negative. Each of these inputs help us to find resolution and make us strive that much harder. Your feedback is an opportunity and we like to cash on them. We realized the difficulty with our ramp and are "insisting" all guests to get our help, you just have to indicate to us your desire.....we.'ll do it for you...! This includes myself, no qualms in that regard. Trust us & try us, we will expect you not even think of our Ramp...less you want to burn some calories...., ha.
Thank you.

Amit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro,NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed for two days last week. Hotel was under renovation for carpet in corridor. Despite that were pleasantly surprised as our room on 4th floor was very inviting and clean but smelled of paint I suppose? I love the smell of paint...! The drapes in room looked obsolete. Staff was helpful in checking us early. I dont want to be picky & knock them at this time but felt that its worth coming back to this hotel with great location.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view rooms worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DashingDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vamit241, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Thank you. Did we not hear you loud sir? We did and have got new carpet for our rooms, new flat screen 32" TV, lamps pkg, new drapes to replace the "obsolete drapes", and new lounge chairs in all our rooms. Infact these changes are all underway as I write. You may have missed them but not next time..we reward our returning guests with good discounts and specially those who rode with us during these trying times of remodel.
Thank you and keep us in mind and your word of mouth referrals help us to improve.

Amit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Yes, it's right on the ocean, and yes, the breakfast was better than most chains, but you can stop there. After being told "The room is ready," we found that in fact, housekeeping had been there, but the wastebaskets were full, there were no bath towels, used soap in the shower, cigarette burned bedspread, and a dirty bathroom sink. And this was AFTER they cleaned the room. Then you watch the housekeeping staff leaving at the end of their shift, walking through the bar and the lobby with their beer in plastic bags for the ride home.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holenhund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vamit241, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
I apologize for the experience during your recent stay with us. It definitely was not a clean room by any standards. Let me assure you it is also not the reflection of our standards and expectations we set ourselves. How I wish this was brought to our immediate attention ...?
Pl give me a call as I want to make this right for you next time and use this to covert into a positive experience for you.
Thank you,

Amit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kill Devil Hills hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
4.3 km away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
837 reviews
1.9 km away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,187 reviews
11.5 km away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,433 reviews
2.4 km away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,120 reviews
12.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn On The Ocean? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn On The Ocean

Property: Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Address: 1601 S Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7754
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,180 - ₹ 23,790
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn On The Ocean 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn On The Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn On The Ocean Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Clarion On The Ocean
Clarion Kill Devil Hills
Comfort Inn On The Ocean Kill Devil Hills, NC - Outer Banks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing