We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprised” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

I decided that this vacation i wanted to spend more $ on recreational activities and not so much on a hotel room after all it would just be a place to rest our heads. I have never been a huge fan of Days inn's as they have always portrayed a "yuck" appearance but I thought I will suck it up and make the most of a great vacation anyway. Upon arrival, the manager and front desk staff were so kind and friendly...we arrived early and they called us to let us know the room was ready hours before scheduled check in. We walked into the room and everything was clean & smelled fresh. I can clearly see this establishment is older but the staff keep this hotel and grounds clean and are always ready to assist. The beds were comfortable enough and the house keeping did a fantastic job. The breakfast was awesome....a great selection and the lady who is responsible for making sure every item is stocked and replenished deserves a pat on the back....i could'nt even find a spot from someone spilling coffee or syrup lol. Of course its an older hotel and a lot of upgrades could not hurt it but it taught me a few things this vacation....simplicity at its best. The only thing i would change if i could was the cigarette butts on the beach by the steps to go back onto the Days inn property...i am not a smoker so that was visually disturbing. overall GREAT VISIT!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thejewelz2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Thank you so much for visiting with us at the Mariner during your stay on the Outer Banks. We appreciate your taking the time to write a review of your stay and we appreciate all the kind words. I will make sure to share this with our staff. I'm very pleased that you found your stay enjoyable and that your room was clean, tidy and fresh. We hope that you can come back and enjoy more of all that there is to do on the Outer Banks--please feel free to call and ask for me and I would be happy to help make your reservations for your next stay! Thank you--Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

809 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    265
    204
    98
    55
See reviews for
396
250
28
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southern Shores, North Carolina
Level Contributor
286 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Mariner. Having known this place since the late 1970's (stayed year after year for over 20 years before it was a Day's Inn), we were pleased to see on the Days Inn website "recently renovated". Our room was has not seen a renovation for decades. Even though the bed was reasonably comfortable, the stench of mildew made sleep unpleasant. The room was very clean, so credit to the housekeeping crew for doing as much with so little to work with. I suggest someone from Day's Inn look up "truth in advertising" and revise the web site until some work is done. Once the rooms are not a disaster to stay in, it will again be a premier place to stay on the OBX since the location and layout are equal to anything here. Until then, avoid this place.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mje12518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
We appreicate your coming to the Outer Banks for your trip. Concerning our "recently renovated" mention, many of our rooms have been recently renovated. The 2 story building closest to the ocean featuring all the queen suites and 2 bedrooms suites (as well as other suites) has all been renovated. Every year we take blocks of rooms and renovate these blocks so that something is continuously being reonvated--we actually just put 2 rooms back online today that were finished this afternoon. So though not all rooms have been renovated, as I have mentioned in previous responses, many have. If you are able to visit the Outer Banks again we do hope that you will visit with us again and please feel free to contact me for more information....Thank you, Tonia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kill Devil Hills hotels

Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

I was in the annex building across the street from the main location. Many mold spots on bathroom walls. Carpet looked clean, but sticky to bare feet. Spider webs around curtain rods and ceiling corners. Nite stand cup ring was not wiped clean. The included breakfast is only from 6:30 to 9:30a. Not long enough in my opinion. Not a terrible experience at all, just needs a good cleaning.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

Just returned from our annual trip to the Outer Banks. We booked the hotel as it was one of the few hotels in the area that will accept a one night reservation. The hotel is located directly on the beach, which is great. The rooms are really small and outdated. Beds were very uncomfortable and the walls seems to be thin as we could hear all of the noise coming from the large group partying down at the other end of the floor. Didn't get much sleep the night we stayed there. Felt it was overpriced for what we got. Next time will probably save ourselves a hundred dollars and stay just outside the OBX and drive to the beach instead.

Room Tip: Maybe a room on the otherside of the beach road would be a little more quiet?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skyruisstoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

I wanted to take my daughter and her friends to the beach for a relaxing few days before school started and booked a room at this hotel. First of all, I see nowhere on any of the promotional pictures or information which makes this hotel look as if it is modern, so people booking here should know very well they aren't getting a high end Wyndham resort... it is a Days Inn. Having said that, I found this hotel to be a good value for the money. We had a one bedroom efficiency which was spacious and clean. Sure, the hotel is older and IS in need of updates. However, our bed was clean and comfortable, as was the bathroom, kitchen area, and the rest of the unit. The only negative I was uncomfortable with was that the carpet felt damp for a couple of rainy days. The AC unit was going full blast because it was hot outside and I suppose the coolness of the air, coupled with the humidity made the carpet feel damp. However, I wear sandals or slippers in hotel rooms most of the time anyway, so that was easily remedied.

We had friendly service. The breakfast was good. The pool, I can't comment on because we didn't go in it. The location is great. I felt safe there. I work in the travel industry and frequently stay in various hotels, ranging from 2 to 5 star quality. I found it to be a good value for the money!

People who book a Days Inn and expect a Wyndham Grand Resort will be disappointed. However, if you would like a great location, clean room, free breakfast and wifi, oceanfront views and easy (non-handicapped) access to the beach, this hotel is a good value.

Room Tip: There is no elevator in this 2 / 3 story hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalmWaterRoughSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
2.4 km away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
0.1 km away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
1.9 km away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,340 reviews
2.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
#2 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
11.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner

Property: Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner
Address: 1801 N Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7941
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,782 - ₹ 14,608
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 out of 5 Sunburst Award Winning Days Inn & Suites located 1 mile north of the Wright Brothers Memorial. Guest rooms, 1-bedroom, or 2-bedroom suites available--all are smoke free. An expanded complimentary continental breakfast features: waffles, cereals, fruit, yogurt & more. Afternoon refreshments served from 4-6 pm daily. All rooms/suites feature: microwave/refrig, coffeemaker, & free wireless internet. Most suites also feature a fully equipped kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn & Suites Mariner Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Days Inn And Suites Mariner
Days Inn Mariner
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Days Inn
Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner NC - Outer Banks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing