We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent value, fantastic customer service, right on the beach!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent value, fantastic customer service, right on the beach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Can't say enough about the front desk service, a nice young man who checked us in and patiently answered all our questions with a sincere enthusiasm for OBX and our visit. GREAT buffet breakfast got us going in the morning, room was older but quiet and safe, with WI-FI that made keeping up with business easy. Beach was right outside the door! Can't believe we lucked into this value. Owners have a great reputation in OBX, we understand, by talking with other local folks. Would highly recommend for a visit, we'll use them in the future!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the ocean, worth it just to hear the waves while falling asleep. Don't pas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OBXOutfitters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our Days Inn & Suites Mariner. We appreciate your visiting with us during your stay. We're very pleased that you experienced a great stay with us and that you found our new breakfast to your liking. It seems to be a big hit with all of our guests! I am glad that our staff was able to answer all of your questions and help you with your stay.

We do hope that you will visit with us again soon and please feel free to call us direct for reservations--we would be happy to help reserve your next stay!

Thanks--Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    262
    203
    95
    53
See reviews for
389
244
27
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ellsworth
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Right on the beach with the ocean at our front door. It was a beatiful place to spend the night. We got a two room suite with a sitting area and kichenette. Was perfect when travelling with an adult child.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twilite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Thank you so much for writing a review of your stay with us at the Mariner. I'm pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us....we get many returning guests who do love our 2 bedroom suites--they are one of my favorite room types as well. It's great to be able to travel with someone and be together but separate with doors that shut off from each bedroom and the living room/kitchen area. We hope to see you again on the Outer Banks--please feel free to contact us and we would be happy to help make reservations for your next stay!

Thank you--Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

We stayed one night in early Dec. I had read review on Trip Adviser and made an online reservation. Cleanliness was an A-. During my extensive bug check I did discover a empty water under the bed and some dirt behind the headboard. Otherwise very clean.
We were there for business and this was fine for one overnight. For an ocean vacation though this room would be sort of small even for 2.

Room Tip: Make sure you know which building you want as one is across the street and far back from the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KPPP4872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Thank you for staying with us while traveling to the Outer Banks. I will make sure that I share your review with our staff. You are correct--the Mariner II building is located across the street from the ocean...this is why it is best to always follow up by calling the hotel if you make a reservation by internet to make sure the room type you booked is actually the one you wanted so we appreciate your pointing that out in the Room Tip section.

We hope that if you are able to visit the Outer Banks again you'll give us another try and we'll try to make your stay even better the next time!
Thank you--Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, North Carolina
Level Contributor
114 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

We came in at 2 am, having been turned away from Holiday Inn Express due to computer problems. This hotels computer was also down but the clerk had us registered and in our bed in no time. The next morning we enjoyed a fabulous free breakfast which was much more than most hotels provide. Loved it and would definately recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kdhbeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
One property's loss was our gain and I'm pleased that our front desk was able to work around the computer being down to get you checked into the hotel quickly (as I'm sure you were tired from traveling). We appreciate your taking the time to write a review of our property and would love to host your next stay! Please feel free to contact us the next time you'll be in the area and we'll get you squared away for your next stay.
Thank you---Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron
Level Contributor
160 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

We stayed at the Days Inn in late November on a weeknight. There was almost nobody there. Check in was fast and friendly and the prices were fastastic. Breakfast was included. The room was as close to the ocean as possible. The breaking waves kept me awake for a while which was not a problem. The room was clean and close to dining. We will be back if we are in the area again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
We're glad you were able to take advantage of our great lower rates in the winter. I'm very pleased you found everything clean & comfortable and that our staff was accommodating. We are hoping that everyone is enjoying our new, free hot breakfast of sausage, eggs, waffles, cereals, pastries, etc. Please feel free to contact us direct the next time you are able to visit the Outer Banks--we'd be happy to help reserve your next stay!
Thank you--Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
2.4 km away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
1.9 km away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
0.1 km away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,262 reviews
4.3 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Kitty Hawk Outer Banks
2.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
#3 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner

Property: Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner
Address: 1801 N Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7941
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,381 - ₹ 13,749
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 out of 5 Sunburst Award Winning Days Inn & Suites located 1 mile north of the Wright Brothers Memorial. Guest rooms, 1-bedroom, or 2-bedroom suites available--all are smoke free. An expanded complimentary continental breakfast features: waffles, cereals, fruit, yogurt & more. Afternoon refreshments served from 4-6 pm daily. All rooms/suites feature: microwave/refrig, coffeemaker, & free wireless internet. Most suites also feature a fully equipped kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn And Suites Mariner
Days Inn & Suites Mariner Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Days Inn Mariner
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Days Inn
Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner NC - Outer Banks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing