We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,088)
Filter reviews
1,088 results
Traveller rating
530
371
121
44
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
530
371
121
44
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews colony iv tower building indoor pool waffles hot tub continental breakfast dune view second floor two queen beds waffle maker floor room beach access biscuits and gravy private balcony the breakfast area watch the sunrise jockey's ridge
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,088 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2018

Stayed in mid-October for 3 days in a room with a kitchen. The room was clean and well equipped, the staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was the best part, offering bacon, eggs, and waffles, along with the usual continental breakfast items. The breakfast attendant was super nice and helpful. Great location on the beach, close to most attractions. The indoor pool and hot tub were a bit disappointing, the pool was too cold, and the hot tub was too hot. Would definitely stay there again!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen V, General Manager at Shutters On the Banks, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2018

Hello Anne S,

Thank you for the review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We do apologize that the pool was cold, we did have a problem with the heater which is now fixed. I will have our team look into the spa and check the temperature to see if it is running too hot. So glad you enjoyed breakfast that's the best way to start your day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2018

Wonderful staff and good ocean views from the tower. Great free breakfast! Really enjoyed our stay. Kill Devil Hills is the best area at the Outer Banks as it is centrally located and close to most of the restaurants and shopping we love.

Room tip: Tower ocean rooms are the best!
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Brenda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen V, General Manager at Shutters On the Banks, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2018

Hello Brenda P,

Thank you for the review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We love this area too lots of activities to do for all ages. Can't wait till your next visit back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2018 via mobile

I have found my lost jewelry. Apologies sent for posting about mysteriously missing items from my room.
This was a great place to stay. Very clean and updated. Friendly staff too. Definitely worth the extra money for the oceanfont room.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank goochys3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen V, General Manager at Shutters On the Banks, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2018

Hello goochys3,

We are so glad you found your jewelry. We appreciate you letting us know. We are happy to know you enjoyed your visit with us. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2018

Property has a great location right on the beach. Beach access is a little hike, especially with little ones that need to be carried. Two pools that are both well maintained. Rooms were musty smelling, but assumption that is the norm considering the destination/humidity levels. Breakfast staff is great!
will more than likely return in the future.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank TLJ007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen V, General Manager at Shutters On the Banks, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

Hello TLJ007,

Thank you for the review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your recent visit with us. We do apologize that your room had a musty smell. We do our best to ensure all rooms have fresh odorless smell. I will have our team look into this immediately. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018

This beach front hotel is centrally located in Kill Devil Hills and near to lots of great restaurants. The staff were all very professional and friendly, from when we called to confirm our reservation to checking in to the breakfast attendants. Also, the breakfast was one of the better complimentary breakfasts I've had - sausage gravy and biscuits, bacon, eggs, sausage, and waffles, etc. There was also an outdoor patio off the breakfast room.

Our room was very comfortable and everything was in good repair, except for the door to our room which stuck and could be difficult to open and close. The private balcony off of our room was perfect for listening to the surf just on the other side of the dunes.

Room tip: Rooms on the 3rd and 4th floor in the tower building have unobstructed ocean views.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cash A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen V, General Manager at Shutters On the Banks, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

Hello Cash A,

Thank you for the review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us. We do our best to ensure all our guest have a wonderful vacation and we are happy to know we did that for you. We do apologize that you had a problem with your door, we will have someone look into this immediately. What a way to wake up or end your day listening to the ocean noises. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews