We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shutters On the Banks
Nearby Hotels
US$ 167
US$ 162
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn(Kill Devil Hills)
US$ 158
US$ 145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites(Kill Devil Hills)(Great Value!)
US$ 194
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur(Kill Devil Hills)(Great Value!)
US$ 175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills(Kill Devil Hills)(Great Value!)
US$ 147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 183
US$ 179
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Outer Banks Inn(Kill Devil Hills)(Great Value!)
US$ 131
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn On The Ocean(Kill Devil Hills)
US$ 269
US$ 210
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Ranch Resort(Kill Devil Hills)(Great Value!)
US$ 276
US$ 255
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cypress House Inn(Kill Devil Hills)
US$ 236
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,039)
Filter reviews
1,039 results
Traveller rating
506
352
118
43
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
506
352
118
43
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstower buildingindoor poolwaffleshot tubcontinental breakfastboiled eggsdune viewnice gazebosecond floorwaffle makerfloor roomjockey's ridgedefinitely stay here againnice breakfastprivate balconybeach accesswatch the sunrise
Filter
Updating list...
947 - 952 of 1,039 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2007

We had high expectations based upon the ratings on Trip Advisor and Colony IV didn't dissapoint us.

The hotel was very clean and well kept up. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our maid service did an excellent job with our room (which isn't an automatic with a 4 year staying there). Although we went during near peak and the room was on the top floor I fealt the price was not unreasonable.

Colony IV is a beach front hotel and our room had a direct view of the beach. Based upon review we opted for the top floor because of the cooling breeze and its view over the dunes. 1st and 2nd floors don't really have a view of the beach because the dunes are very high (although the dunes themselves are quite pleasent).

The pools were both nice despite there modest size. It was nice to have both the indoor and outdoor pool as one day it was sprinkling.

Breakfest was OK. There were few tables in the breakfest area which meant it wasn't always possible to find a place to sit if you went down during a busy time. The food was OK (my son enjoyed the ego waffles) but there was no fruit.

The internet in the room pretty much worked fine. I think there was a very short period of time when speeds were pretty low but in general it was snappy (I downloaded a number of TV shows from iTunes and it came down fairly quickly).

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2007

This is our second time here, nothing has changed (which is good). This review is from visit during off season, which is the only time we go to this area. So, things are nice and quiet, and layed back. The hotel is in great condition, rooms are average rooms but are also clean and in EC. The indoor pool had good water temp, the hot tub was HOT! Both of those were clean too. The breakfast is standard continental stuff, but there was enough of it. Beware of the hawk who watches so you do not remove things back to your room. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank metalhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2007

Right when we arrived at the Colony IV we were greeted with real nice and friendly staff. We booked a room on the first floor of the oceanfront (tower) building and we were able to walk right out the back door to the ocean via the walkway that goes by the gazebo. It was convenient for us because we often went to the beach and gazebo to relax and watch the ocean.

The room we stayed in had two queen beds and was very clean and well stocked with the basics such as soap, shampoo, lotion, towels, and washcloths. The room also had a small microwave, fridge, and coffeemaker. The TV had standard tier channels and several extra movie channels. An Ethernet port was also in the room to plug your laptop up to the Internet. The bathroom was kind of small but it served its purpose. The sink was located on the outside of the bathroom near the front door.

The indoor pool and hot tub was a nice place to have fun and relax. The pool was heated and was clean and the hot tub was very relaxing and soothing; it was clean also. There was a small room within the indoor pool building that housed a few exercise machines to work out on.

Free breakfast was another feature this motel had. The lobby had a breakfast area which we ate in every morning while we were there. There were about 4 or 5 tables and there was a TV in there as well. As far as the breakfast food is concerned, it was an average continental breakfast with bagels, muffins, frozen waffles, danishes, oatmeal, grits, and cereal. Fresh fruit was also supplied along with apple and orange juice and of course, coffee and hot chocolate was included. The lobby area was well decorated and it had a computer that you can get on and surf the web. There was a checkerboard table that we played a few games on as well.

If you are looking for a nice clean and friendly place to stay on the Outer Banks, Colony IV by the Sea is an excellent choice and we would definitely want to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank synthman19872003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2007

We stayed at the Colony by the Sea IV based on all of the positive reviews that we read on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. We stayed for 4 days. We had a great view of the ocean and a short walk to the private beach access from our room. The staff was always very friendly and helpful; the rooms clean and comfortable; the grounds and pool were well-kept. The motel was convenient to a lot that the area has to offer but off the highway so it was a more relaxed atmosphere. We will definitely stay here again when we visit the Outer Banks.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mayzie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2007

The room was very clean with plenty of towels and two comfortable queen size beds. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We arrived hours before the official check in time and were allowed to get the room then. The breakfast was OK - the typical cereal, waffles and fruit. Nothing to write home about, but not bad. I will definitely stay here next time I am in Kill Devil Hills.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ApexMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews