We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Will be seeing us again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Ranch Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea Ranch Resort
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Will be seeing us again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

This place is great. The location is just what we were looking for. They comp breakfast a short walk to the jolly Roger, and a walk on the beach to the pier will take you to awful arthurs. Also the food lion is right up the road along w crabby fries take out. We had an ocean view room which was outstanding, clean rooms, quick and friendly housekeeping, not one bad thing to say. If you want an affordable place to stay, with amazing rooms, and barely a need to drive to anything this is the place to stay. They will definitely be seeing our faces again in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raeleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    406
    232
    66
    32
    24
See reviews for
273
317
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

we stayed oceanfront at the sea ranch. thay had a summer special so it was very affordable. we hope they will do another special next year. the view was awesome, the pool was clean, the housekeeping was quick & the room size was great . you dont hear people from the other rooms. i would give this hotel a 10 star on every part of our stay. there is nothing that wasnt great about our stay. this is the only hotel we will stay at when we visit the outer banks area. if you get the chance to go to the obx stay at the sea ranch hotel you wont regret it. AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!! keep up the great job. thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: oceanfront. views from balcony is great & front door views you can see the wrights brothers monu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ptatarock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2011

This hotel is a solid three star hotel. The rooms are clean enough and the amenties seem nice. We were down in March and the indoor pool was closed, but they were offering the Y as an alternative. The onsite restaurant was closed for the season. We had an oceanfront room and the view was great. The first night the neighbors were a little loud, but quieted down by the time we were ready to go to bed and we were able to sleep with our balcony door open to hear the surf. Check in was easy and the staff was courteous. Each morning we picked up a voucher that allowed us to get breakfast at Jolly Rogers. The choices were eggs and bacon or sausage, pancakes or waffles, or oatmeal. That experience is also easy. You just give them the voucher and you don't have to worry about checking out, which was busy in the off season so I imagine is very busy in season. I would stay at the Sea Ranch again for a quick getaway. I don't know if that is what I would want for a week vacation. I am used to renting a house for our week vacation.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vataylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acme, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2011

My wife and i stayed for four nights. The staff was exceptional. We loved meeting them and they were very knowledgeable about the area. This was the fourth time i was at the beach but the first time i ever stayed at a hotel. The breakfast coupon at The Jolly Rodger was amazing. I would go back just to get breakfast there. We mainly enjoyed the beach but did go swimming in the indoor pool one night that it rained. We found the pool to be clean and well taken care of. The hotel does need some help with the outside appearance but don't let that fool you. Our room with a King bed was up to date and allowed for a peaceful night sleep. We really enjoyed ourselves and would stay at the Sea Ranch again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewFamily2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, NC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2010

We stayed here after agreeing to see a timeshare presentation for another property. Therefore, we were given a very discounted rate on the room. Upon checking in we saw the real rates for the room and our jaws dropped. Seems the going rate for this place is $200 or more (summertime weekend).

I am sorry, but I would have been very upset to pay any more than $75 for this hotel. I have stayed in much nicer places for less. Here are some pros and cons:

Pros
It is on the beach
Great location with many restaurants and attractions nearby
Super friendly staff; we felt very welcome
Clean rooms- we never saw anything nasty
Nice minifridge and microwave in room at no extra cost
No pets allowed- thank goodness because this disgusts me

Cons
Older hotel and the rooms show it
Pool was indoors- not oceanfront
Pool was fine but carpet around pool was absolutely disgusting- coming apart all over your feet, old and dirty (staff told us they were working on getting it repaired)
Old style room keys- our first one was broken and the maintenance man quickly fixed it
Kind of dark and dingy look

I thought the hotel was average; my husband hated it. He felt dirty and grimy in it. I thought it was alright but definitely would not return. I heard a rumour that the property almost went into foreclosure and that it was facing financial issues. The odd thing is that it was booked solid the nights we were there because I was at the counter when the phone rang three times with people looking for a place to stay. They were told no rooms were available.

There is a nice restaurant attached to it- a French restaurant. It is pricey but has a beautiful ambiance. We did not eat there but I observed how professional the waitstaff was and how the menu looked very impressive. The main chef really is from France. I found it strange how such a high-class restaurant was attached to what I considered a very modest hotel.

Beware when you pull in- we were terrified at first glance because we saw the old Sea Ranch (now abandoned) to the right. We thought that was where we were staying and got very nervous. But the real hotel looks much better than the abandoned one.

Bottom line- stay here if you must but don't pay anymore than $100 for it. I think if you pay more, you will feel ripped off!

*Fun attractions nearby- Flying Kites at the Jockey's Ridge Sand Dunes. Be sure to check out the inside of Jockey Ridge State Park- very nice educational display
*Avoid Hot Stacks Pancake House- long lines and you have to stand the entire time and wait to order in line. Awful setup but good food; not worth the wait
*Check out Manteo- beautiful nearby town; very relaxing and where you can see the Lost Colony Outdoor Theater show
*I loved the Outer Banks- I just will not return in the summer. Too crowded!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gabesmomilm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.8 km away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
11.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
8.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 km away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
27.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla
2.3 km away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Ranch Resort

Property: Sea Ranch Resort
Address: 1731 N Virginia Dare Trl, PO Box 325, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7940
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,616 - ₹ 15,545
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Ranch Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the room accommodations that reflect a coastal color palette and modern room finishes that will create a relaxing and comfortable space for your stay. Convenient on-site amenities include an enclosed heated pool (seasonal),fitness center, outside picnic area and grill. The Sea Ranch also welcomes you to our oceanfront restaurant, the Beachside Bistro, which offers a delightful menu with a focus on American Coastal Cuisine. Join us in the dining room or on our deck where you can soak in the beautiful ocean view! Beachfront Resort: All rooms on the oceanfront and main building include: microwaves, refrigerators, Cable TV and Internet. Oceanfront Suites: 2 BR / 2 Bath fully equipped, condo style suites. Each suite offers a fully equipped kitchen, washer & dryer and living room with a sleeper sofa! Minimum of a 2 night stay required in season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Sea Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Ranch Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Sea Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Sea Ranch Resort Kill Devil Hills, NC - Outer Banks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing