We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beach facing room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“beach facing room”
Reviewed 22 May 2012

we had a lovely beach facing room with the ocean less than hundred yards away and this was a plus and a negative, plus great view, downside noise from people on beach at nice, room was average size, with wifi fridge , clean bathroom etc, however could do with update as whilst furnishings clean and usable a little dated but not enough to detract from the rest, air conditioning unit noisy. breakfast a little more sparse than other chains but certainly passable with waffles, cereal and some fruit etc, reception beautiful wooden floor s and nice staff.
plus points are on site washer dryers and plenty of brochures etc for attractions and locations which can t be beaten and of course price!!!!
negatives: a little dated in parts

Room Tip: beach side is probably still best but upper floor might reduce noise at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annakrisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. We appreciate your coming to visit the Outer Banks as well. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and am happy you found our property clean and tidy. We hope that you are able to visit the beach again and if you are able to return please feel free to contact me and I would be happy to help make reservations with our property. Thank you--Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    427
    211
    83
    42
See reviews for
408
501
61
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We stayed here last week before the holiday rush, so it may account for the great rate of $75/ night plus tax. Ours was the AARP rate for a dunes view king room. The ocean is less than 100 feet away, but there is no ocean view from this room. The room is nice and large with a flat screen TV, sofa, small refrigerator, microwaveand king bed. The bath is new, but has little counter space. The room comes with a free breakfast including waffles, eggs and sausage.

Please don't let the outside of this hotel fool you. It,s rustic charm is wonderful and the staff is very friendly and accomodating.

BTW, theres a nice restaurant for lunch and dinner close by called the Kill Devil Cafe.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are in the back and upstairs. They only come with 2 double beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StThomasSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. Deals are certainly to be had prior to and post our summer season that's a fact! We're glad you were able to take advantage of our lower season's rates and AARP and AAA members always receive a discount when they call our hotel direct to make their reservation.

I'm pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us and thank you for your lovely comments concerning our property and our staff. We do hope you're able to come back to the Outer Banks soon and please feel free to contact me for reservations if you are able to do so! Thank you, Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2012

The price, location, cleanliness of the rooms was awesome. However, the mattresses were terrible. Very hard and thin. No support. We were told they were replaced at least every 2 years, however, they might want to get a better quality mattress. Otherwise, the rooms were very clean, very well kept, majority of the staff was quite pleasant (though we agree with one review about a desk manager who didn't seem to want to be here).

Please get better mattresses and we'd love to come again!!

Georgia

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Thanks for trekking to the Outer Banks to visit and for staying with us. We appreciate your comments and suggestion concerning the beds. I am pleased that you did enjoy your visit and do hope that you are able to come back and visit soon. We would love to see you again and feel free to contact me should you be able to return. Thank you very much, Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carver, MA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

Our exoerience started with a front desk clerk who was not happy to be at work. I stated that I hadn't had my frequent guest number when I made my reservation to which she told me and everyone else waiting that when you booked via Expedia frequent guest points were not earned and that my stay was actually costing them money!
I can look past someone's attitude if I need to but I shouldn't have too! Our room was large, it did have full size appliances, the beach was right behind the hotel however the room smelled like mildew, the rug had stains on it and felt wet, the sheets on one bed were DIRTY as was the blanket on another (large orange stain) and the bathroom was dirty- hair on the floor and in tub. I carry lysol wipes with me when I travel and I washed down everything. I called three surrounding hotels within the first hour of checking in but no one had a room available. Would not return here.

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank shay_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
We appreciate your taking the time to write a review of our property on the Outer Banks. I am sorry that you experienced any issues for your stay. As you can see from our other reviews, this is not the norm for guests at our hotel. All of our carpets were professionally cleaned from mid to late April and they have been cleaned again since then. We do strive hard to maintain the Days Inn Chairman's Award which we have won for over 15 years running.

I am sure this was an anomaly, however again I am very sorry you experienced any issues during your stay. If you are able to visit the Outer Banks again please feel free to contact me and I wll help make sure your stay is everything you expect and more. Thank you, Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springfield va
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I Have been staying at this place at least once a year for the past seven. The place as a rustic charm to it. Great location. Always enjoy visiting. Good breakfast. Also, good snacks during the afternoon.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank toddcassell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
2.3 km away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
2.0 km away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,406 reviews
0.5 km away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
#2 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
10.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
8.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur

Property: Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Address: 201 N Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7822
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,724 - ₹ 18,289
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nominated in 2009 by Days Inn as 1 of their 10 Finalists for Best Property of the Year (for a hotel with 75 rooms or less). Oceanfront property with expanded complimentary continental breakfast including waffles, cereals, fruit, yogurt & more. All rooms and suites are smoke free. Afternoon refreshments served from 4-6 pm. Microwave/refrig, coffeemaker, & hi speed wireless internet available in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Oceanfront Wright Brothers Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur NC - Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing