We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you want charm of yesteryear” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“If you want charm of yesteryear”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

This hotel is a "different" ocean side experience ... a great rambling building that yes, can be noisy; that yes, could use better mattresses; that yes, could have larger bathrooms, but has more charm than about any "beach" hotel I've ever seen. It starts with a huge, welcoming front porch complete with comfortable rocking chairs --- you can almost see old dudes sitting out there smoking their cigars decades ago. Enter the lobby, a large room with a great, aging, wood-burning fireplace, and the smell of chocolate chip cookies being baked. Add to that the loveliest, tasteful Christmas decorations imaginable (lovely tree, beautiful Christmas wreaths, and garlands banding the large, heavy, double front doors,) and you can over-look a lot. Great place to take the edge off the loneliness of business travel during the holiday season. Friendly, helpful staff. Good WiFi. A place you can look forward to returning to.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room. They have at minimum an ocean view. Very few ocean front rooms. First...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick163250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
We appreciate your taking the time to write a review of our property. I'll make sure that our staff that did the decorating will read your lovely comments concerning their efforts. During the holiday time periods starting in October we start getting the lobby ready for fall (with our pumpkins and mums) and then move on to greenery and poinsettias right after Thanksgiving. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us--especially your comments about old dudes sitting out in our rocking chairs!

As we are the longest, continuous-running hotel on the Outer Banks, many of our bathrooms are on the smaller size since when the original structure was built in the 40s people didn't build large bathrooms as they do today. We will check on mattresses on the first floor for rooms that were rented near the review date, as all of our mattresses have been replaced in the past few years and I do appreciate your feedback.

We hope to see you again on the Outer Banks and please feel free to contact us if you wish to return! Thank you--Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    417
    203
    80
    42
See reviews for
395
491
60
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
108 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

This property is fairly typical of an older beachfront motel, with some rooms opening directly to the outdoors with other interior rooms directly off the lobby. We occupied one of the smaller interior rooms.

We stayed at the motel for one night in late November, after Thanksgiving. Upon arrival (without reservations), we were greeted warmly by the woman at the reception desk. It was a cold evening, and a fire was burning in the fireplace. People were decorating the lobby for Christmas.

The room we occupied, a smaller one with a queen bed, was supposed to be a non-smoking room, but it definitely had an odor of stale smoke. After some time in the room, the odor became less noticeable. The room was adequate, older but quite clean. There was a large stall shower, and water pressure and temperature were good.

The hallway outside our room door led to the back of the motel, where there was a short walk to the beach. Out back, there is a large barbeque area. A washer and dryer are available off the lobby.

Breakfast the next morning was good for an economy motel, with sausage patties, eggs and an assortment of breads, bagels and fruit. There was a choice of juices and some of the best coffee I've had at a motel.

We enjoyed our brief stay and would definitely consider staying at this Days Inn again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanAndJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Thank you for visiting with us at our Days Inn on the Outer Banks! We appreciate your taking the time to write feedback concerning your stay with us. Our hotel was one of the first hotels on the Outer Banks to have all nonsmoking rooms--we have had all nonsmoking rooms & suites for over 4 years now. I am sorry if there was a smell of smoke in your room. We do charge offenders a $150 charge if they are found to have smoked in the room and then the room is stripped completely down so that everything can be sanitized.

I am pleased that after traveling the staff was able to make you feel warm and welcome upon your arrival and that you like our new breakfast program. We just started it at the end of November now with: sausage, eggs, waffles, cereals, English muffins, wheat or cinnamon/raisin bagels, yogurt and more. During this time of year when it's cold we love to keep the fireplace going and normally from about 1 to 9 pm we offer complimentary hot, spiced apple cider with fresh baked cookies and popcorn.

We would love to have you visit with us again and if we can be of further service please don't hesitate to call! Thank you--Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

We recently went to the Outer Banks for the marathon they host. Days Inn did a great job helping out the runners on race day. The view of the ocean is priceless & to be right on the beach like they are is absolutely stunning!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shenry_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Glad you enjoyed the annual Outer Banks Marathon held in November and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us for the marathon. Runners were very lucky with that great weather we had that Sunday!

We hope that we'll see you again maybe for the Flying Pirate Half Marathon in April or again for the OBX Marathon next year. Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel and we hope to see you soon!

Thanks, Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indian Head, Maryland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

Stayed in off-season late October 2011. Great AARP discount. Excellent friendly service. Great bed, clean room and bathroom. Very happy with this stay and would repeat. While the hotel is older it was so comfortable and wifi worked great. Just sad we didnt find sooner. We are frequent travelers to the OBX and didnt know this treasure was there. And the hot apple cider with cookies were a nice treat after a cool day.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KThompson38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Well we're happy you found us this time when visiting the Outer Banks! And we'll be happy to be your host hotel anytime you get to visit.....I am very pleased that you had a pleasurable stay with us while visiting the beach! We do hope to see you again soon and if we can do anything for you please let us know.

Thanks, Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
88 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

We stayed in the Day Inn for 3 nights in the off season. The rooms were very reasonably priced. The hotel is an older one, it reminded me of traveling with my folks in the 70's but it was very clean. We went for a 'dune' view which meant we had the ocean about 20 yards from our door. Unfortuantely, it was quite cold and windy when we were there so we didn't take advantage of it. The rooms are sealed very well, with the amount of wind that we were getting we didn't have a leaks around the door. The room was very clean including the bathroom. The beds were a bit soft, but they slept fine. The lobby is great, we spent time there sitting and talking to other guests. They had a great fire going most of the time. In the late afternoons and evenings they would have tea, coffee, hot cider, homemade cookies and popcorn. The breakfasts weren't much to write home about. We ate there once and then decided to go out. We went to the Dunes across from the outlet mall. For about $10 for two, they had more food than we could eat.

Room Tip: They have rooms that open to the outside and others that open from the hall. I don' t know what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HaFinkne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property while visiting the Outer Banks. We appreciate your visiting with us and I am pleased that you found your room and stay enjoyable. Though it is too bad you weren't able to sit out in the Adirondack chairs while you were here---but then if it had been warm we wouldn't have had the fireplace going and you would have missed that experience.

I will make sure to share your comments on how clean the hotel was with our housekeeping staff, they will be very happy. Almost all of the rooms with an interior & exterior doors are suites which are 1 large rooms with either 2 double beds or a king bed and a living room/kitchen. They are great if you want a little more space, or if you're in town for awhile and don't want to eat out every day. We hope we get to see you again soon and if we can be of service please let us know!
Thanks---Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
2.3 km away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
2.0 km away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,340 reviews
10.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
8.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
#2 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur

Property: Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Address: 201 N Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7822
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,847 - ₹ 14,804
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nominated in 2009 by Days Inn as 1 of their 10 Finalists for Best Property of the Year (for a hotel with 75 rooms or less). Oceanfront property with expanded complimentary continental breakfast including waffles, cereals, fruit, yogurt & more. All rooms and suites are smoke free. Afternoon refreshments served from 4-6 pm. Microwave/refrig, coffeemaker, & hi speed wireless internet available in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Oceanfront Wright Brothers Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur NC - Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing