We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure if I would call it a resort but enjoyed the spa.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hot Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hot Springs Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hot Springs
Reviewed 15 March 2012

I read a lot of reviews before I went to Hot Springs Resort and Spa so I went with an open mind. We stayed in a very quaint little cabin on their campgrounds, it was affordable and served its purpose. The hot springs baths were really enjoyable and relaxing. They were in small private wooden "cabanas" along the river which was neat setting and definetly added to the appeal. The spas were clean and drained after each use. I do think the term resort is a bit misleading as there aren't a lot of amenities by any means, but we did get massages and they were great and the facility was very clean.

Room Tip: Cabins are nice clean, you need to bring your own bedding.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carriemaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (202)
There are newer reviews for Hot Springs Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 170 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2012

Set your expectations very very low, and this place will not disappoint you. Apparently they have never heard of curb side appeal, nor pavement in the driveway. The driveway is dirt, full of pot holes and very unattractive with no flowers, no flowering trees, and nothing more than a very large, unkempt front lawn to greet you on the way in. The "suites" are joke for the money. They are very old, not in a quaint 20's kind of way, but in a tacky 70's kind of way. They boast wi-fi which is also a joke in the suites. The signal is so weak that you cannot connect. They don't bother telling you at check in so when you call to ask about it they tell you to come get a cable to hook up with. The cable is about 2 feet long and the hook up is behind the couch. This gets your laptop about to one of the arms on the couch. Then once you go through all that, it still doesn't work. For more than $200 a night you would expect a LOT more than you get. Ammenities are non existent; not even a kitchenette. But the maids do handily leave you an envelope to leave their tip in. What a joke. The one thing they did get right was the hot water, which takes app 30 min to fill the tub. The hot tubs out by the river are surrounded with what look like chicken coops. There is a very adament policy of no pets in the "suites" which gives you the idea that they are just immaculate, which could not be further from true. This place has the feel of someone milking a cash cow and never bothering to feed it. It really is sad because with a little concern and effort, it could be a real jewel. Right now though it is a high priced rip off. Save your emotions and money and head on in to Asheville and find a hotel or nice b&b. If you don't want a huge let down, don't stay here.

Room Tip: We stayed in the best they had and it was far from great. They don't even have showers.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Buddy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Great service and hot tubs were fantastic. highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dntblink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We purchased a Living Social deal that included an hour soak in the spa. We checked with the people at the desk earlier and were told to arrive early. We did and sat and waited while everyone but one person totally ignored us. Finally, I went to look at the clock on the wall and we had been waiting 40 minutes and were at least 10 minutes into our hour. When I told the girls at the desk that they said "Oh just go out those doors." Luckily, the spa attendant had just come in and helped us to the spa. I would never return to this place. As another review I read said it was not that nice and the spa was not that warm. Bad experience ! Boo!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
6  Thank cleo320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

I was seriously misled by the person I booked the reservation with, the "suite" was concrete tile floors and drop ceilings, and the jacuzzi didn't work properly. When these issues were made to the staff, I got a "sorry 'bout that." The website and brochure said nothing of the constant coal trains that rattle back and fourth 150 yards in front of where you are trying to sleep, nor of the one resturant open at suppertime in town, with a Bob Dylan wanna-be wailing while you are trying to eat.
The best day of our stay was the day spent in Ashville. Three days I can never get back.

Room Tip: We were told by staff that we had the best room in the place, for which I could only laugh.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hot Springs
27.2 km away
Comfort Inn Mars Hills
Comfort Inn Mars Hills
#1 of 2 in Mars Hill
201 reviews
40.0 km away
Crowne Plaza  Resort Asheville
34.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.6 km away
Hampton Inn Greeneville
Hampton Inn Greeneville
#1 of 8 in Greeneville
320 reviews
39.1 km away
Comfort Inn Newport
Comfort Inn Newport
#2 of 10 in Newport
175 reviews
39.7 km away
The Omni Grove Park Inn
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#12 of 66 in Asheville
6,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hot Springs Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hot Springs Resort & Spa

Address: 315 Bridge Street, Hot Springs, NC 28743
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range: ₹ 7,097 - ₹ 13,023 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Hot Springs Hotel Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing