We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner”

The Iron Horse Restaurant and Tavern
Ranked #2 of 12 Restaurants in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 1 November 2018

My wife and I were in town for a couple of days for the fall colors and stopped by the Iron Horse for dinner. It was Halloween night and it was slow. Waiter was in costume, which was cool. The service was excellent, as was the food. My pan sautéed trout was excellent. The peanut butter pie was homemade and delicious. We met the new owners who were extremely friendly and gave us a tour of the Inn after dinner. Great place.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Jody Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 541 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2018 via mobile

We met here to catch up with some old friends who have moved to the area. The daily club sandwich special was huge, and my husband said it was delicious. I had the chicken white bean chili which was also excellent. The atmosphere is quaint, and the proprietor of the Inn gave us a private tour of his newly remodeled guest areas. We didn’t spend the night, but I would consider it when in the area.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank gailcI3066ER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2018 via mobile

My wife and I stopped in for lunch after 2 days of hiking the Appalachian Trail. We both ordered a burger and fries, and I ordered an iced tea. I have to say it was one of the tastiest burgers I've ever had, fries were delicious, and tea was so good I had 3 glasses of it! We later joined friends for dinner at the Iron Horse and everyone was pleased with their order, two had ordered trout and both said it was excellent. What a great little family-owned restaurant!

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

Great destination for lunch in the middle of the mountains. We drove along the French Broad River from Asheville,NC to Hot Springs, NC and had lunch at the Iron Horse. Creative cuisine that is well prepared and tasty.
Good service and across the street from the famous mineral baths.
A nice place to relax before tackling Hwy 209 West towards Fines Creek. You will see some mountain back roads and elevation changes before you run into I40.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank turbogator1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

One of our group of 8 friends took us to one of her favorites, and the rest of us could see why. We started with an order of the fried green tomatoes for the table. Everyone was waxing eloquent about how good these were---especially in this group of seasoned Southern cooks! At the recommendation of our friend, we all had the sweet potato fries as the side with our sandwiches, and not even one little "burnt end" was left on our plates. Our sandwich orders ranged from the burger to the Cuban, with everyone satisfied with their choice. Beers on tap went down well, too. All this on a little side street overlooking the trains that occasionally passed by, making it a trip back in time to the days of America's small towns connected by railroads.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank purplen2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Iron Horse Restaurant and Tavern also viewed

Hot Springs, North Carolina Mountains
 
Hot Springs, North Carolina Mountains
Hot Springs, North Carolina Mountains
 
Hot Springs, North Carolina Mountains
Hot Springs, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The Iron Horse Restaurant and Tavern? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing