We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Highlands Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Highlands Inn
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Warm and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

A very nice place to stay if you like historical settings. Furnished with antiques, the lobby and rooms evoke a warm and friendly atmosphere. It is in the center of town, convenient to all the shops.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wesley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    41
    13
    16
    14
See reviews for
29
93
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florence, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

We have been visiting the Highlands Inn at least yearly for almost 20 years now. I grew up in the area and love now to vacation there. We have occasionally discussed buying vacation property in the area, but who needs to own property when you can stay at the Highlands Inn and be thoroughly spoiled? The rooms are comfortable and affordable. A tasty, full breakfast is included in the price. The inn sits on Main Street in Highlands within walking distance of a number of world-class restaurants. The adjacent shops on Main Street are varied and interesting. We spend much of our time sitting on the front porch, watching the world go by and drinking in the mountain air. You are within a few minutes of mountain vistas and hiking opportunities if you feel so inclined. The staff is always gracious and courteous, and we have never felt anything but completely welcome. We are already planning our next visit and encourage anyone interested in the area to look into a stay here.

Room Tip: Back of the inn is quieter, but the front has direct access to the porch...which we love.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

We had friends come from Knoxville and meet us for the weekend, so we put them in the Gazebo Suite. It was awesome and they said the bed was very comfortable. My wife and I stayed in room 45 and it was a nice room. If we return, we'll request the Gazebo Suite because of the fun times we had with our friends sitting around the rock garden.

Room Tip: The rooms adjacent to the rock garden are fantastic for stress reduction. Sit in the rock garden and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johns Creek, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

My wife and I both have stressful jobs. From the minute we walked into Highlands Inn, we could feel the weight fall away. The care taken to preserve a beautiful old building and the feeling you get staying in such a historic place can't be described. The room was cozy, clean, and the bed was more than comfortable. I don't know what else to add, except that we will certainly be back again. Thanks Tim for the dinner suggestions and the warm,, friendly hospitality.

Mike H.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

My 23 year old daughter and I spent three nights at the Highlands Inn this summer, and I wouldn't stay anywhere else when in Highlands. The Inn is ideally located in the center of town, with all the shops and restaurants literally steps away. (Highlands is a quiet town at night, so the central location doesn't create a noise problem.) We were warmly welcomed at the Inn, and the gentleman at the front desk was very helpful in straightening out a minor issue with our reservation. The room was attractive, clean, and roomy. A full breakfast, ordered from a menu, is included in the room charge.

We especially enjoyed a shop called The Empty Sink a few doors down the street, which carries every sort of home goods imaginable. An upscale grocery store with great prepared foods is just a block away; we enjoyed several meals in their dining area.

I can't imagine staying anywhere but the Highlands Inn in Highlands, and look forward to going back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RichmondTraveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
0.4 km away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.7 km away
Highlands Inn Lodge
Highlands Inn Lodge
#5 of 7 in Highlands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
3.0 km away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
0.7 km away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
0.4 km away
200 Main by Old Edwards
200 Main by Old Edwards
#3 of 7 in Highlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlands Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlands Inn

Property: Highlands Inn
Address: 420 Main St, Highlands, NC 28741-8447
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,733 - ₹ 14,126
Hotel Class:3 star — Highlands Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Highlands Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highlands Hotel Highlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing