We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Highlands Inn
Nearby Hotels
The Park On Main Hotel(Highlands)(Great Value!)
US$ 295
US$ 180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Half-Mile Farm(Highlands)(Great Value!)
US$ 291
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Main Street Inn Highlands(Highlands)(Great Value!)
US$ 203
US$ 173
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
200 Main(Highlands)(Great Value!)
US$ 181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Chandler Inn(Highlands)(Great Value!)
US$ 181
US$ 176
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Highlands Inn Lodge(Highlands)(Great Value!)
US$ 171
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 167
US$ 153
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages, Inc.(Highlands)(Great Value!)
US$ 98
US$ 95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveller rating
90
46
16
17
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
90
46
16
17
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain streetfront porchfabulous locationthree nightsdesk stafffurnished with antiquesmiddle of townwater pressurewithin walking distanceshops and restaurantsprivate deckeach eveningrocking chairsmountain fresh grocerycan't wait to go backmajorscharm
Filter
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 183 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We have been visiting the Highlands Inn at least yearly for almost 20 years now. I grew up in the area and love now to vacation there. We have occasionally discussed buying vacation property in the area, but who needs to own property when you can stay at the Highlands Inn and be thoroughly spoiled? The rooms are comfortable and affordable. A tasty, full breakfast is included in the price. The inn sits on Main Street in Highlands within walking distance of a number of world-class restaurants. The adjacent shops on Main Street are varied and interesting. We spend much of our time sitting on the front porch, watching the world go by and drinking in the mountain air. You are within a few minutes of mountain vistas and hiking opportunities if you feel so inclined. The staff is always gracious and courteous, and we have never felt anything but completely welcome. We are already planning our next visit and encourage anyone interested in the area to look into a stay here.

Room Tip: Back of the inn is quieter, but the front has direct access to the porch...which we love.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We had friends come from Knoxville and meet us for the weekend, so we put them in the Gazebo Suite. It was awesome and they said the bed was very comfortable. My wife and I stayed in room 45 and it was a nice room. If we return, we'll request the Gazebo Suite because of the fun times we had with our friends sitting around the rock garden.

Room Tip: The rooms adjacent to the rock garden are fantastic for stress reduction. Sit in the rock garden and read a book or have a glass of wine and all life's problems seem to disappear for a while.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

My wife and I both have stressful jobs. From the minute we walked into Highlands Inn, we could feel the weight fall away. The care taken to preserve a beautiful old building and the feeling you get staying in such a historic place can't be described. The room was cozy, clean, and the bed was more than comfortable. I don't know what else to add, except that we will certainly be back again. Thanks Tim for the dinner suggestions and the warm,, friendly hospitality.

Mike H.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My 23 year old daughter and I spent three nights at the Highlands Inn this summer, and I wouldn't stay anywhere else when in Highlands. The Inn is ideally located in the center of town, with all the shops and restaurants literally steps away. (Highlands is a quiet town at night, so the central location doesn't create a noise problem.) We were warmly welcomed at the Inn, and the gentleman at the front desk was very helpful in straightening out a minor issue with our reservation. The room was attractive, clean, and roomy. A full breakfast, ordered from a menu, is included in the room charge.

We especially enjoyed a shop called The Empty Sink a few doors down the street, which carries every sort of home goods imaginable. An upscale grocery store with great prepared foods is just a block away; we enjoyed several meals in their dining area.

I can't imagine staying anywhere but the Highlands Inn in Highlands, and look forward to going back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RichmondTraveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We stayed three nights in the Highlands Inn and really enjoyed our stay. The room was a good size, the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was nice and roomy. The room was cooled/heated by an individual unit in the room, so creating the right temperature that is comfortable to you is no problem. The Inn is very interesting in that it is over 130 years old and has all the charm you would expect. There have been some additions made onto the Inn over the years, so there are seemingly endless hallways, but it adds to the charm of the place.
Breakfast is included with your stay and it was good although guests who are staying at the Inn order from a limited menu as opposed to those who come in off the street. The service in the restaurant was VERY slow our first morning. We waited for a long period of time (15-20 min) to get our drinks and finally had to help ourselves. The food came in a reasonable time after we got our drinks, but there was a problem getting refills on coffee, etc. There were others who complained of the slow service that morning as well. Since we were on vacation, it didn't upset us too much but it was annoying. However, we wanted to try other places along Main Street for breakfast while we were there and this gave us a good reason to justify doing so!

Room Tip: 2nd floor Rooms that are along the wall that face Main Street are the noisiest. Rooms on lower level are very quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews