We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Cozy, warm, comfortable, affordable!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Certificate of Excellence
atlanta
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cozy, warm, comfortable, affordable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

My room was so cozy and comfortable. Just last week, I stayed at a hotel in Orlando with floresecent lights and cold impersonal feeling, so stepping into the room at Mitchell's made me think ...YES! It's so homey. I brought my darling dog along so missed out on the room I thought I was going to have with the fireplace, but the room I got was the perfect combination of rustic and convenience. It was cozy, with rustic, plne log furniture, thick quilt on the bed, a wet bar with dishes, sink, refrigerator and microwave, plus a lovely deck overlooking a little stream with nice funiture outside to sit and contemplate. (Some rooms do NOT have a private deck it seems....they join adjacent rooms, but even they have a little rocker outside.)

It was FREEZING cold in Highlands the night I was there (and keep in mind that the town of Highlands is seasonal and not much open in the winter), so didn't really get to enjoy the starry night, but I was so happy to have a cozy comfortable room at Mitchel's Lodge. The lobby had a roaring fire going when I arrived and the people were all so sweet and nice. I feel so good giving this type of place my business. Love it!

Room Tip: Call and tell them what you want...they will help you find the perfect fit...many choices!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bigmura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    71
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
62
81
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Watkinsville, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

We booked a very last minute trip to Highlands, NC at the end of December. Great location, close to the lovely town of Highlands. We upgraded to the 2 bedroom cottage and it was perfect for our family. Our kids loved the duck pond and the pavilion area. We enjoyed New Year's Eve at this cozy place. Very clean and the staff was very friendly. The cottage had an equipped kitchen, dining room, fireplace in the living area and a deck near the pond. Although one of the queen beds in one of the rooms was a bit lopsided, all in all, this was a great deal and we hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cecilia2011J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavernier, Florida
Level Contributor
180 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

We discovered this gem tucked away in the beautiful mountain village of Highlands NC. It was like stepping back in time. Our room was rustic in decor and spotlessly clean. It overlooked a
brook and we had a fireplace. We hit it at the height of fall foliage and the staff was very helpful in showing us mountain trails to go hiking on. The room comes with a continental breakfast which was more than adequate with fresh fruit and muffins, cereal juice and great coffee. The staff was more like family and could not have made us feel more welcome and at home. We had original planned on spending one night and stayed for 3. The is a very sweet resident cat
named "Bootsie" who came several times to visit us in our room and make us feel right at home. We felt honored. We will be back. Great place and staff

Room Tip: Ask for twin, queen or king bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WinnieTavernier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
337 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 382 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

My husband and I were here in August 2011. We booked for 2 nights but we liked the place and so we decided to stay one night more. The location is great! so closed to many lovely attraction such us beautiful falls!
We booked a Deluxe suite and we were upgrade in a lovely deluxe Kitchen suite.
Our room was very big and clean; there were a fireplace, a jacuzzi, a small kitchen with fridge and microvaves, a deck with table and chairs.
The only thing that I dind't like was the following: breakfast in the morning is very simple and poor :(
All the staff was very kind and friendly and the place are more lovely than appear in the website!
Absolutely I would like to came back to highlands and to stay here ! Some friends od mine suggested me this place and I never stop to say "Thank you"!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FedericaRoma_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

While the location is good, this establishment is "very tired". I felt like I shouldn't touch anything. The pillows had to be original to the room. My wife needed a nap and instead of laying down in the bed, she slept in the car.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
0.4 km away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
2.8 km away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
0.7 km away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#6 of 7 in Highlands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
0.1 km away
Highlands Inn Lodge
Highlands Inn Lodge
#5 of 7 in Highlands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.7 km away
Old Edwards Inn and Spa
Old Edwards Inn and Spa
#1 of 7 in Highlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages

Property: Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
Address: 264 Dillard Rd, Highlands, NC 28741-6672
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,037 - ₹ 9,597
Hotel Class:2 star — Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages is nestled by a small mountain stream and lake only 2 blocks from Main Street in Highlands, NC. Accommodations include a secluded lob cabin with fireplace, kitchen and Jacuzzi overlooking a small mountain lake, to a suite with some of the same amenities located in the Cedar Lodge, the newest building on the property. If you want a great rate, try one of the Standard Rooms. Free wireless internet access, free continental breakfast on the weekends. We hope to see you soon. "It's Like Coming Home" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitchell`s Lodge & Cottages Hotel Highlands
Mitchell`s Lodge And Cottages
Mitchells Hotel Highlands
Mitchells Motel Highlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing