We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Gebharts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 4-1/2 Street Inn Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Highlands
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
4-1/2 Street Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 8 Highlands B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Acworth, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gebharts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

My husband and I have been staying at the 41/2 Street Inn at least once a year for eighteen years. Wonder why we keep going back? Must be the Innkeepers and the cozy homey feel. Each time we have "run into" folks from our general home location and have great exchanges about who we all might know back home, it adds to our experience.. Such a hoot!

As well as a comfortable room, Rich and Helene serve wine and cheese on the porch in the afternoons and a lovely breakfast each morning. The drive or walk into Highlands is only a few blocks and merchants who find out where we're staying comment on the 41/2 with affirmations.

We are looking forward to our next visit.

The Gebharts

Room Tip: The Bird Room has a door directly onto the side wrap around porch. Such a breeze and relaxing atmos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    12
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
184
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
north carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

The owners, Rick and Helene do everything to ensure that their guests have a delightful and totally restful vacation. We were actually among the only first- timers at the inn. The fact that most of the guests were repeat visitors speaks to their exceptional hospitality and service. the property is lovely and quiet but located steps from the main street in highlands. The breakfasts were wonderful and the afternoon hors d'oeuvres, wine and exceptional conversation were highlights. Rick and Helene provide great recommendations for dining and recreation. We will definitely visit again soon. peter and chris 7/12

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yankeesinnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

This is probably our fourth or fifth trip to the 4 1/2 street inn in Highlands, NC. We go up for the music festival, cooler air than Atlanta, very nice restaurants, and a friendly atmosphere. The Seigels serve wine and an appetizer in the early evening and a delicious breakfast the following morning. Helene made reservations for us for dinner. Rick suggested some great hikes. The music festival is superb. A great weekend and a great value.

Room Tip: We like the room in the back on the ground floor. Quiet and very private (but visible from the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank riri-70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

The 4 1/2 Street Inn is very well-kept, and the owners Rick and Helene take excellent care of their guests. My husband and I went to Highlands for our wedding anniversary, and they made sure that we had a wonderful weekend. When they found out it was our anniversary, they even left a small bottle of champagne in our room.

The Inn is in the perfect location. It's close enough to town, restaurants, and shopping, that you can walk if the weather is nice, but it's far enough off the main road that you don't have any noise. Helene's homemade breakfasts are delicious, and she bakes cookies in the afternoon for the guests to enjoy after a day of hiking or shopping. They serve wine and hors d'oeuvres in the late afternoon, and they will help you with dinner reservations by making recommendations or even placing the call for you if you like.

The outdoor spaces on the property are beautiful, and if the weather had been nicer during our stay, I'm sure we would've spend more time outside. There's a hot tub (so be sure to pack you swim suits!) and a two-level deck on the back of the inn, in addition to a wraparound porch on the front.

As another reviewer mentioned, we met several guests who were repeat customers, which does say a lot about the inn and the innkeepers. It was our first time staying there, but next time we go to Highlands, I'm sure we'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathi74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

We like to stay at B&B's and booked the 4-1/2 based on TA reviews. The experience was exactly as described by other posters. There was a full house the last night we stayed. We were the only guests who had not stayed there before with most having stayed multiple times....tells you something, huh?

As others have reported, the breakfast was outstanding and ended up eat too much including dishes I normally don't care for (offer me heroin....I can turn it down, but not Helene's cooking).

Cannot overemphasize the social aspect of the stay highlighted by the cocktail hour...nothing forced, just there if you want it. It is almost if eveyone knows they are sharing a very special place.

Next time, we will stay at least 3 nights in the Highlands with Rick and Helene and Jake taking time to read, watch the birds, taking hikes in the mountain (at least the ones that are short and not too steep), and once again listening to the sounds of an afternoon thundershower as we sit in the 4-1/2 Street Inn.

From John and Rhonda.....Thanks! And be sure to let us know when Rick appears in his next play.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheKingEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
0.7 km away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.6 km away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#6 of 7 in Highlands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
2.6 km away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
1.1 km away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
0.8 km away
Old Edwards Inn and Spa
Old Edwards Inn and Spa
#1 of 7 in Highlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 4-1/2 Street Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 4-1/2 Street Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: 4-1/2 Street Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 55 4 1/2 St, Highlands, NC 28741-8499
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Highlands
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,414 - ₹ 10,784
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing