We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“4 1/2 Street Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 4-1/2 Street Inn Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Highlands
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
4-1/2 Street Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 8 Highlands B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“4 1/2 Street Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

We had a tremendous time at the Inn. Helene and Rick are super hosts. Clean, great breakfast and they tell you all the good places to go. We Hiked Whiteside Mountain and had a great lunch at Cornucopia in Cashiers.

Can't wait to go back.

We love their dog Jake!

Room Tip: We were in room 2 which was great nice porch to sit outside and have a class of Vino.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    12
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
184
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maggie Valley, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

This was our second trip to the 4-1/2 St. Inn in Highlands, NC. Each time we have enjoyed the character and ambiance of a really neat old home that is within walking distance of the quaint
Highlands downtown, yet set far enough away to be quiet and restful. The grounds are beautiful with porches and decks to enjoy the large trees and garden areas. Your hosts, Rick and Helene, couldn't be more accommodating. They started a nice fire for us in the fireplace upon our arrival, and served wine and hors d'oeuvres (including a delicious raspberry compote!) in their beautiful sitting room. The big black lab, Jake, made us feel right at home as well, as he respectfully eyed the treats laid out for us, yet left them just for our pleasure!
Helene is a fabulous cook, and the breakfasts were exceptional. When we wanted to dine out, they had plenty of suggestions for us as well. Our room, on the ground floor at the front of the house was quiet and charming with a huge bath and walk in shower. We love to visit Highlands, where at 4000 ft., the air is always cooler and the little town quieter than our South Carolina residence in Greenville. Highlands is one of the most charming little towns in Western NC and you just can't beat the 4-1/2 St. Inn if you choose to visit there!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AvecBrisance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

We love Highlands NC. A tremendous area for hiking and finding natures best waterfalls.Our trip to spend a couple of days on our 3rd anniversary was again wonderful. We love 4 1/2 Street Inn. It is a comfortable walk to downtown but very quite for evening relaxation and viewing the starry night sky . We very much appreciate Helene and Rick and the wonderful gourmet breakfast she serves although she probably wouldn't call it that. We have afternoon wine and cheeses and then they leave home bakes cookies and fresh decaf for evening . The rooms are cozy , roomy and linens and bed make a wonderful nights rest. It is truly the best. and the best part is the host and hostess. . Thank you.

Room Tip: the two downstaris rooms are roomy. One has a larger bath room and the other has a door which opens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carroll G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

4 1/2 Street Inn was a really great home base for our Highlands stay. Rick and Helene are exceptional hosts whose focus is that their guests get the most out of their stay. Food, setting, comfort and the community of the guests were top notch!

Room Tip: All rooms seemed nice. We stayed in #7. Most are available for viewing online and it seems like if t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

We have been coming to the 4-1/2 Street Inn since Rick and Helene became the innkeepers. We visit, on average 4 times a year, from Atlanta. It is always superb. Great company, great food and ambience, and a wonderful get-away! Quiet nights, wonderful wine and snacks in the early evening and a gourmet but down-home breakfast. Always memorable conversations with Rick, Helene and other guests in the company of a roaring fire in the fall and outdoors on the porch in the spring and summer. Over the years, we have brought family, friends, celebrated anniversaries, birthdays, and the passing of the seasons - really ANY excuse we can find to get away. It really is the perfect place to unwind, refresh and renew. Looking forward to the upcoming season! See you there?

Room Tip: They are all great - I think that we have stayed in every room at least once! Each individual and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernadette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Highlands hotels
0.7 km away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.6 km away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#6 of 7 in Highlands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
2.6 km away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
0.8 km away
Old Edwards Inn and Spa
Old Edwards Inn and Spa
#1 of 7 in Highlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
13.7 km away
Fire Mountain Inn
Fire Mountain Inn
#1 of 8 in Highlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 4-1/2 Street Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 4-1/2 Street Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: 4-1/2 Street Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 55 4 1/2 St, Highlands, NC 28741-8499
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Highlands
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,500 - ₹ 10,910
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing