We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Old Edwards Inn and Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2012

This hotel is amazing. We were there for a business meeting so I don't know if tourists would be interested in these comments. The town is charming and I purchased quite a bit in an antique store near the hotel. Our room was in the main building, above the spa. The bathroom is incredible with separate rooms including a huge shower, double sinks and a huge jacuzzi tub. The heated bathroom floor was an incredible surprise. There is a lovely living room/bar with wonderful ambience. Most of the bedrooms are not connected to the main building. They are spread throughout new construction yet nicely done. I would recommend staying in the main building.
The Spa is amazing. My massage was 1 1/2 hrs. and probably one of the best massages I've had. Since our room was in the same building, I was able to go to the spa in my robe. Great perk!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emmy6_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

946 - 950 of 1,241 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2012

We were celebrating a 40th anniversary but had to change our reservation at the last minute due to illness. At first the person we contacted at the Inn said they did not have the type room we had reserved on the date we wanted to change to but after inquiring about another time the person checked and decided that they would upgrade our room to accommodate our change in dates. We were pleasantly surprised. We were booked into one of the cottage rooms. This was a very large suite on the second floor. There was no view--we looked out over a roof top where workmen were working all day long. The rooms were quite large and very well appointed. Everything you could possibly want or need was in this room. The bed was very comfortable and the bath was large and luxurious. The cottages are located off of an alley which was blocked at one end due to construction and occasionally we experienced a delay in being able to enter the alley or leave due to delivery trucks blocking the road. Also it's inconvenient for getting to the main hotel building. Staff were nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Cottage room #32 is very large but the view is of a rooftop where workmen are there all day.
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Phyllis848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We are frequent visitors to Old Edwards Inn over the years. In fact as I am writing this, I am staying here. I have never been disappointed, sure there have been small issues, but they have been resolved immediately. The staff is wonderful and concerned about every visitor who visits. I would like to come another 15 times in the next few years.

Room Tip: Definately the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank muffit52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

My wife and I spent our 29th anniversary at Old Edwards. This is the most wonderfully unusual place ever. The town of High Hampton is a hidden secret with its quaint shops and fantastic restaurants. It's a small town paradise. The inn and its staff provided the perfect get away. We stayed in one of the cottages. It was plush, quaint and perfect. The pool area, workout facilities, grounds and overall atmosphere is like no place we have ever been. We were able to leave the world behind. We are considering making the inn our Christmas destination for the whole family.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

I have visited all 50 states, half of Europe and stayed in expensive and exotic locals. This resort rates in the top three of all the places I have ever visited. Nuff said!
p.s. you will never, never sleep in a bed as wonderful as their beds.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ralaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
0.4 km away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
218 reviews
0.0 km away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#6 of 7 in Highlands
176 reviews
3.0 km away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
0.4 km away
200 Main
200 Main
#3 of 7 in Highlands
209 reviews
0.7 km away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages, Inc.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Edwards Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Edwards Inn and Spa

Address: 445 Main St, PO Box 2130, Highlands, NC 28741
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Price Range: ₹ 13,268 - ₹ 55,675 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Edwards Inn and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Edwards Inn and Spa sits atop the beautiful southwest plateau of North Carolina's Blue Ridge Mountains. The acclaimed European style resort fills several blocks filled with amenities, music, dining venues and individually appointed guestrooms, suites and cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TIG Global and TripOnline SA so you can book your Old Edwards Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Edwards Hotel Highlands
Old Edwards Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing