We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful get away fort he two of us” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Edwards Inn and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Edwards Inn and Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
285 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Wonderful get away fort he two of us”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

My wife and I stayed at OEI for a wedding and loved it. The staff was wonderful, the food was great and I did not feel like I was charged for everything. The town is small, but has a lot of great restaurants. I will return some day. My wife said it was the best message she has had ina long time.

Room Tip: If you are going to the Highlands spend a fee extra dollars and stay at OEI. It is by far the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steinbrenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    964
    88
    30
    15
    14
See reviews for
138
729
29
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

It takes a lot to blow me away. On first arrival we checked in at the Historic Inn with complimentary champagne. We were greeted by Mike who was absolutely hilarious and made us feel right at home. At check-in we were given multiple suggestions of things to do, and we ended up taking the suggestion on a hike about 30 minutes away to Rainbow Falls in Cashiers. Absolutely beautiful! After checking us in, he gave us a tour, showed us around the property and walked us up to our room. He suggested we eat at the in house restaurant, Madisson's which may be the best in WNC! Our server Amy was awesome and so much fun. The food was spectacular. Great wine list and just an incredible evening. One of the special things that sets this place apart from any I've stayed is the service. Every time we saw Mike he greeted us by our last names and a smile. The entire staff seemed to know who we were and went out of their way to be friendly and answer all our questions. I can't say enough how great the staff is at Old Edwards.

We came back and really enjoyed the luxurious pool. It was pretty cool outside, but the pool was heated and the landscape around was just stunning. The Spa was really nice. I've never had a massage by a professional before and it was well worth it.

Overall the experience was amazing. Such a beautiful setting in a neat mountain town. There is so much to do in Highlands that I didn't realize before we visited. The pure beauty of the area would make you come back, but the incredible service we had and the overall experience will make you go back for years to come.

Room Tip: The church bells in the area went off pretty early, One of the interior rooms may be better for thos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hunter_9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

The Old Edwards Inn is a first-class destination. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left, we continued to be amazed at the superior service and attention to detail. Have you ever been to a hotel where the entire staff stands up every time you walk into the lobby? We had not...until we went to the Old Edwards Inn! This gesture signified in a very clear way that the staff was there for the guests, and that was just the beginning. Champagne upon arrival, a personal tour of the property, a detailed itinerary including meal reservations, and a personal note from the property manager began our experience. The Inn itself is a work of art. The stone and woodwork are beautiful, a real must see if you enjoy "the way things used to be made." Our room, located on the third floor of the Inn, was perfect and included a very comfortable bed and heated bathroom floors!

Dinner on the first evening was perhaps the highlight of our stay. Jeffrey is the most amazing waiter we have ever encountered. His charm, humor, and knowledge of the food no doubt come from his background as a personal chef. He translated the dinner menu (which was quite daunting for an ordinary couple of folks) into a magical four-course dining experience, and for that we were extremely grateful. Luiggi, also on staff in the restaurant, was pleasant on the first evening and a welcome familiar face for the duration of our stay, even offering tips on where to see the best views of Highlands. The food was second to none throughout our stay. We highly recommend the crab cake (no fillers!), the butternut squash soup, the sea scallops, and any of the tiny biscuits they deliver to your table...talk about morsels of heaven!

On the last day of our stay, we had the good fortune to enjoy a service at the spa. They seem to book quickly, so don't wait until the last minute to make your reservation! If you don't want to pay for a particular spa treatment, you can still enjoy the mineral pool, sauna, meditation room, and the most amazing locker rooms you will ever see! The fitness room was also quite nice, and there are complimentary organized fitness classes that guests can enjoy including zumba, yoga, and walking tours of Highlands.

The attention to little details is what made our experience at the Old Edwards Inn so enjoyable. The staff was superior, and seemed to really care if we were enjoying our stay. Even on our way out, they offered us fruit and water for our trip home. This is a truly classy establishment with the highest quality staff. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: The third floor of the Inn is worth walking up the extra flight of stairs. Rooms on one side of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CountryGirl725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Beautiful property, great location, fabulous food, oustanding staff, wonderful amenities! Highly recommended and we hope to return soon!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fmey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This place is beautiful. The rooms around the Lodge are so quaint. They have their own fireplace, screened porch, and living room. They are decorated beautifully. The staff has been very pleasant and professional.

The meeting rooms are all good sizes and the technology is top notch. We will definitely put this on the list to come back to.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thatcher50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
0.4 km away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
15.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
3.1 km away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#6 of 7 in Highlands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.7 km away
Highlands Inn Lodge
Highlands Inn Lodge
#5 of 7 in Highlands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.7 km away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Edwards Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Edwards Inn and Spa

Property: Old Edwards Inn and Spa
Address: 445 Main St, PO Box 2130, Highlands, NC 28741-8447
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Price range (per night): ₹ 22,717 - ₹ 43,753
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Old Edwards Inn and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This European style luxury resort cascades over several scenic blocks in downtown Highlands, NC, offering multiple room types, suites, cottages and full guest estates. Two spectacular outdoor heated mineral pools with whirlpools and cabanas, a world-class spa and fitness center, award-winning dining, and golf at the private Old Edwards Club are signature experiences at this full-service mountain resort. All guests enjoy champagne arrival and complimentary Dove Bars, fresh fruit and bottled water. European bedding, fine Italian linens, plush robes & slippers, rainfall showers and heated bathroom floors enhance the in-room experience. Most rooms feature fireplaces as well as private patios or balconies. The restaurants serve farm-to-table fare harvested fresh from two gardens and a greenhouse. Craft cocktails are enjoyed around the resort at casual bars and upscale lounges, and several live music venues provide entertainment indoors year round and outdoors in warmer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Old Edwards Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Edwards Hotel Highlands
Old Edwards Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing