We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“What's not to like?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Edwards Inn and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Edwards Inn and Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What's not to like?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

We only had lunch here, but what a treat. The service was top notch and the food was unique but very very good. I had the Chicken salad and others at our table asked about it and the server brought them a taste. You must try the peppercorn ice cream. I know it sounds strange but it is great. We walked around the hotel and it's very charming just like the town of Highlands.
This is a good place to spend a day. The spa look nice also. Would love to come back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelsey4747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    937
    83
    29
    14
    14
See reviews for
136
703
28
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

loved our room. the staff was very helpful. my favorite amenity was their refrigerator/freezer stocked with dove bars which were most welcomed after a hike to nearby Ruby Falls!

Room Tip: We loved room #1 which was a small suite. It is wonderful to have two bathrooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patti F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Level Contributor
194 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

The spa and its facilities are second to none. This is a wonderful place to go to get away from it all. Its a quiet hotel and has lots of charm. The restaurant is not as good as it use to be, they try to fancy up southern cusines like meatloaf. And that may be great if you are form up north, but not so much if you are from the south. The restaurant has great breakfast, excellent breakfast. Get the bacon, it is like no where else you have ever had (thick and smokey).
Park your car and never drive again. We have stayed here 5 times now, and it never gets old. Enjoy the Dove ice cream bars in the lobby after dinner!

Room Tip: stay at the lodge if you can, or one of the rooms around the lodge. they are bigger than the inn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheKrispyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012 via mobile

I'm in agreement with most of the previous reviews. Highly recommend staying in the newer spa suites as some of the lodge rooms are small and more dated. Were off to a rough start when the bellman, who had zero personality, did not know how to operate anything in our room and didn't even know where to find ice for the bucket, nor did he point out some major features of the Inn such as business center, butler's pantry, pool area etc. These we eventually stumbled onto ourselves and it would have been nice to know they were there sooner. Waiters at Madisons and front desk clerks were friendly but missing some of the polish you would expect at a high end property of this sort (ie: wine bottle left behind on the table from a one glass pouring, slow service, awkward serving and removal of dishes etc). Kudos to Eduardo, however, who took the time to outline a very nice itinerary for our day out and about. Spa experience was average but didn't particularly appreciate the 20% up front gratuity added. I prefer to decide after the service is done as to what gratuity is deserved based upon the quality of the treatment I get. Very handsome public areas although some improvements in housekeeping could be made. When we came down for drinks in the library, previous guests dishes, glasses and crumbs were everywhere, even crumbs on the furniture. Highlands is a delightful, friendly and beautiful town and I would highly recommend a visit, particularly per or post summer when you have the place virtually to yourselves. Then Old Edwards Inn is no doubt the best bet for a relaxing stay.



Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank A36traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesboro, Kentucky
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

If you like small crowds, this hotel and spa meet the bill in the off season. We were greeted by the concierge with champagne upon arrival, the bell captain took our luggage to our free upgrade to a suite. he told us the valet parking was compimetary, but we could just leave it parked in the middle of the street as it would be more convinent! Our suite had a back entrance to the spa, so you did not have to trapse through the lobby in your gym shorts. The food was good, the service impeccable, and the biggest plus for us was the place was empty. The only drawback also was the place was empty. The georgeous pool and Golf Club did not open until Mid-April.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuckerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
0.5 km away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
3.2 km away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
0.2 km away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#6 of 7 in Highlands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
0.7 km away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
0.5 km away
200 Main by Old Edwards
200 Main by Old Edwards
#3 of 7 in Highlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Edwards Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Edwards Inn and Spa

Property: Old Edwards Inn and Spa
Address: 445 Main St, PO Box 2130, Highlands, NC 28741-8447
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,552 - ₹ 44,332
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Old Edwards Inn and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This European style luxury resort cascades over several scenic blocks in downtown Highlands, NC, offering multiple room types, suites, cottages and full guest estates. Two spectacular outdoor heated mineral pools with whirlpools and cabanas, a world-class spa and fitness center, award-winning dining, and golf at the private Old Edwards Club are signature experiences at this full-service mountain resort. All guests enjoy champagne arrival and complimentary Dove Bars, fresh fruit and bottled water. European bedding, fine Italian linens, plush robes & slippers, rainfall showers and heated bathroom floors enhance the in-room experience. Most rooms feature fireplaces as well as private patios or balconies. The restaurants serve farm-to-table fare harvested fresh from two gardens and a greenhouse. Craft cocktails are enjoyed around the resort at casual bars and upscale lounges, and several live music venues provide entertainment indoors year round and outdoors in warmer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TIG Global, Hotels.com, Expedia and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Old Edwards Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Edwards Hotel Highlands
Old Edwards Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing