We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Colonial Pines Inn Bed and Breakfast
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Highlands
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Highlands Inn(Highlands)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
200 Main(Highlands)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old Edwards Inn and Spa(Highlands)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laurelwood Inn(Cashiers)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveller rating
134
7
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
134
7
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbargain basementb bthe main housemy husband and ilarge porchgluten free muffinsharris roomfabulous cookin townhome away from homefrench toast casserolecarriage housewithin walking distance to main streetplace to staymaster bedroomother guestscountry ham
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 141 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2012

This was me and my husband's first vacation in the mountains and at a bed & breakfast. Colonial Pines definitely sets the bar high. From the moment we arrived we were welcomed by the owners and shown around. We loved the rustic, country decor and it was very comfortable and clean. Snacks and beverages we're always readily available and we were served various delicious breakfasts throughout our stay. We truly felt like we were at home and definitely plan on returning again soon!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CassNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Meant to write this review since we stayed there in July 2011 (but had to select on the dropdown box that I stayed in Aug. 2011 in order to submit this review). The owners are hands on and did everything to make our stay wonderful. My wife has food allergies and they made her a special breakfast each morning with their homemade blueberry jam (since she can't have eggs). Donna and Chris go out of their way to make each person feel special and I would definitely stay there again when in Highlands or Cashiers.

Room Tip: The guest house has no A/C but if you want to feel like you've rented a cabin, you can stay on the 2nd floor of the guest house, have two bedrooms, a kitchen, a living area, and balcony patio to yourself for an amazing price. We stayed there in July of 2011 and even during their "heat wave" the fans made it possible to stay there without A/C. Of course if you must have A/C, just stay in the main house but definitely, don't forget to get some of Donna's homemade jam...awesome...and her breakfasts are outstanding!!
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank poohathart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We stayed at Colonial Pines in visiting Highlands to celebrate our 53d wedding anniversary. Everything was much better than we could have hoped for. Donna and Chris are superb hosts and make one feel like family. The breakfast each day was simply scrumptious and plenty to eat.The rooms were beautifully decorated and comfortable. The hot water and water pressure were excellent. The goodies provided each night for a snack were delicious. We will definitely stay here again.. Highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonHartwell_GA30643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Our yearly trek to Highlands, NC has always been a treat -- no matter the time of year we choose. N-e-v-e-r have we stayed at a B&B in our lives anywhere, but this time we decided to give it a try. We like our privacy and found a tantalizing prospective place at Colonial Pines Inn B&B. Right away we liked the property setting amongst the huge rhododendrons (not yet in bloom though). We had chosen the 4 room unit separate from the main house. And approaching the front door steps we knew we had made no mistake.

Walking up the stairs we were already taken by the large deck joining the front door -- perfect for morning coffee or lunch or reading. The two bedrooms and combo kitchen/dining/living room were perfect in its decor and style. Spotlessly clean and highly quaint and cozy, it was all entirely more than satisfying. The rooms in the main building are superior in decor, and there is plenty of coffee, teas, and munchy sweet treats into the evening.

If you like watching pine squirrels, grey squirrels, orioles, jays, chipmunks and other wildlife, you'll find all these on the grounds of Colonial Pines Inn.

Oh -- and once you show up for breakfast and partake of the special recipes on your morning plate, you'll find yourself considering how you might stay just one more night to see what the fare will be the next morning. Chris and Donna, the owners, know how to set the hook and reel you in. We'll be back -- for sure.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AtlCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

This was our first B&B experience and it could not have been better. We stayed at Old Edwards Inn last year and Colonial Pines far exceeded that - we truly enjoyed it. Donna and Chris are wonderful hosts and do everything to make your stay pleasant and it was. Donna is a great cook. Our room was so quaint - we loved all the pine paneling in the inn. Our room had its private bath and roomy pine paneling closet that had been made into a dressing area with a dresser. Very clean, homey, welcoming - great place. Nuff said!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRF93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews