We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ol' NC BBQ”
Review of Kepley's Barbecue

Kepley's Barbecue
Ranked #13 of 311 Restaurants in High Point
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

I recently rediscovered this place. Kepley's is a joint that I remember fondly from my childhood. Imagine how happy I was to visit 30 years later and find that it hasn't changed! Old school atmosphere, genuinely appreciative service, and superior NC BBQ. Recommend!

Date of visit: April 2017
1  Thank jhumphreylkn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2018

Standard Carolina BBQ but Bob is a delight if you get to speak with him. So many fun stories about the history of his restaurant and the town in general.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Aubrey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

Went here for early dinner 5:30pm. shortly thereafter the locals started showing up. After tasting the Barbecue and hush puppies .... I know why they have such loyal customers. Charming place much like a diner. Since 1948. I don't know how i missed this place for years, but this will be my stop when ever i'm in High Point.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kwo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

The BBQ is sweet and sour very close to Eastern BBQ. Mr. Kepley greets everyone and has a story for everyone to enjoy. The que is wonderful and hush puppies have a sweetness where you want more. The blackberry, peach, and cherry cobbler is homemade and the reward to end a great que.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

Lived in High Point in my school-aged days. Never ate at Kepley's. Now I live in Charlotte, NC and visit my mother regularly in High Point. She knows without even asking that when we come we HAVE TO HAVE Kepley's BBQ. The BBQ is great, the hushpuppies are awesome and the ladies who are the regular waitresses know at the end of the meal I HAVE TO HAVE peach cobbler (they even know I order with extra crust). That's just how often I try to eat there. The waitresses are super friendly and always hustling about. Mr. Burleson is always there and always ready to greet you with a smile and a few kind words. Don't be surprised if you become a "regular", he may even sit down and talk with you a spell. It's a small BBQ joint so you could have to wait for a table, but we've never had to wait long. So go treat yourself.......!!!

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank SuprSweetMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kepley's Barbecue also viewed

 

Been to Kepley's Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing