We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charleston Cheese Dip, and the Crabcakes are to die for!”

The Lantern Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #35 of 211 Restaurants in Hendersonville
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 35
Restaurant details
Reviewed 30 April 2018

I missed Hendersonville so much, we decided to come back and make it a culinary adventure! Went to a lot of the places we never went before, and we were sad we didn't! All have been wonderful, and The Lantern was great! Try the above mentioned dishes if you like seafood! Wonderful food and service!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Eddiebear522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

We had a business meeting there recently. It is a Charming old turn of the century Hotel. Beautiful antiques. The meal was a buffet, it was okay but was not great. There were several on trees but nothing spectacular to write home about. The banana pudding was not true Southern, but it was okay. The chocolate cake was fine. A good salad. A nice bar area. Probably is better when you order off of the menu instead of for a workshop dinner.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

Amazing breakfast, cooked to order by a chef and it was included in the stay. You can't beat it. I didnt have the dinner but it looked amazing too!

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank Diana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kbcrowder, General Manager at The Lantern Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

Thank you Diana! We agree the breakfast is amazing. We hope you come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

Checked in to the Charleston Inn right at happy hour. Drank waaay too much excellent and free happy hour wine. Decided it would not be a smart idea to drive to a restaurant in town. By default, we decided to eat in the Inn at The Lantern restaurant. What a super choice. We started with their Crab Cakes. Holy smokes, they were excellent. I had the Bow Tie Pasta with Lobster, Shrimp, and Filet in a pepper cream sauce. My bride got probably the biggest and best serving of Sea Bass in a wine sauce with a potato crust topping ever ordered. Both were off the charts good!!! Followed up with a slice of Dark Chocolate brownie pie that was incredible as well. Not a fancy restaurant but highly recommended. Chef Lance is a real pro.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kbcrowder, General Manager at The Lantern Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Thank you Don! We are so glad you and your wife enjoyed your dinner. You are right, we are a come as you are restaurant with excellent food. Chef Lance is a pro!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

We love mountain biking the trails near Hendersonville. Now me and my Hsb and our friends have found the perfect place to stay. Very comfortable beds, great breakfasts, wine and cheese after our rides, great food at the restaurant, but best of all is the way the owners of the inn make us feel like family. We get more than is expected at the charleston. All of The people who stay there are happy and enjoy socializing on the front porch We plan on revisiting this gem of a place every year !

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kbcrowder, General Manager at The Lantern Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Thank you Rob! You all were so great to have in the Restaurant and the Inn, we look forward to your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lantern Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The Lantern Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing