We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sea Gull Motel
Nearby Hotels
US$ 145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Cape Pines Motel(Buxton)(Great Value!)
US$ 157
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Breakwater Inn(Hatteras Island)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
13
21
6
6
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
21
6
6
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocracoke ferrytwo nightsplace to stayoceanaccommodationsovenstovehurricanerefrigerator
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 55 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2011

The location is the great thing. You can walk out of your room barefooted or in slippers, and in 1 minute you’re at the beach. A wooden walkway takes you from the parking lot, over the dunes and onto the sand. Two benches on the walkway on top of the dunes are nice to sit on. There is a faucet on the walk to clean your feet. There was a wooden box next to the pool with two very old chairs (I would not sit on them); I didn’t see (or ask) if the hotel had other beach items for use. Each room has two Adirondack chairs in front, a nice touch. Across the street is a deli with some good sandwiches; otherwise, you have to drive into the heart of Hatteras to eat.
We had the top floor room which was closest to the breach. You can see the ocean from this room (#116). It’s the only room with a window that directly faces the beach, and you can see the ocean above the high dunes. With the window open, you can also hear the ocean waves. But, this room also overlooks the pool. When we were there, no one used the pool. Yes, walls are thin. I could hear the television from the room below us.
The room was large and clean. Coffee pot looked dirty, so we didn’t use it. Staff gave us an internet cable so we could use the internet.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GarySaw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

Stayed here one night on our way to Ocracoke this past Sept. Fairly new looking motel, very clean but ordinary rooms; we thought rooms were somewhat expensive for what they were. It's on the beach though you can't see ocean from the rooms due to the dunes. They do have stairs and a boardwalk over the dunes. We enjoyed sitting on the beach and watching a roiling ocean due to an approaching storm.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeannelizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

Rooms exceptionally clean. Staff friendly. Price excellent. Location awesome.... right on beach. Rooms, however do not face ocean, so no view from room. But a quick walk over the sand dune and the beach is right there. The sleep quality was not so good. The walls and ceiling are very thin. We could hear our neighbor talking on the phone and their toddler dropped toys on the tile floor till 11:30 at night. They have a pool which is very nice and very clean.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FromPA__10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2009

We were on Hatteras just around dark and needed a place to sleep for the night. I thought the rate was expensive for the quality of the room and the facility. The mattresses were terrible even the bottom falling out of 1 of them and the room was really bare only 1 picture on the wall. The bathroom was very small, you even had to close the door to get to the toilet paper roll. As my review title states, "nothing special" but certainly better than sleeping outside and cleaner than I anticipated. The location with the ocean just over the dunes is probably the best thing about this place.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarieRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2009

Had some issues with check in as we booked the two room apartment at the motel but were conveniently "switched" to a cottage... they said the cottage was within walking distance to the motel and beach... cottage was on the sound and a solid mile or two from the hotel. We got switched back but they booked the apartment the last few days of our trip so I'm assuming that's why they tried to switch us... no compensation was made, which was pretty lame.

Outside of that, the two bedroom room was nice... clean and had a nice kitchenette. When we switched to the two single rooms one was a smoking room, or at least it smelled that way, so that wasn't very pleasant.

The pool is very nice and a great location with very little traffic. The beach access was top notch and we could leave our stuff on the beach.

Overall, if you want to be in the Village of Hatteras area this is a great motel... quite and nice and not very spendy, especially if you get the two bedroom apt for a large family.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reimersnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews