We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (594)
Filter reviews
594 results
Traveller rating
188
211
111
46
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
188
211
111
46
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews general store the dragon disc golf the main lodge bedroom cabin putt putt the ice cream shop mobile home car club sunset cruise appalachian trail marshmallow roast memorial weekend motorcycle riding get away lazy river pool bryson city
Filter
Updating list...
586 - 591 of 594 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2006

Stayed there spring 2006. Some rooms and the restaurant in the main building have been renovated but none of the other facilities. The motel part is moldy and dirty and hasn't been renovated since the 1970's. The overall feel of the "resort" is of a run-down summer camp out of a Bill Murray movie.

While we were there they had only a really bad, 6 item buffet of frozen food for lunch and dinner and they increased the price by several dollars while we were there. No a la carte service and only the main restaurant was open. One day for breakfast we waited over an hour for raw grits, no orange juice, no fresh fruit, no hashbrowns, etc.

The women who work in the way, way overpriced general store are extremely rude to customers. They inform customers a half hour before closing time that they are closing in five minutes and ask them to leave. Other employees did state that those women are rude to everyone and not to take it personally.

There were starving stray dogs running around. Nobody did anything about them because they said the animal control only comes once a week and only if they are called and that you have to have already caught the dog.

I would never stay there again.

Date of stay: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Extraordinary24247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
craiglitz, Marketing Dir. Fontana Village Resort at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2006

Prior to this last year, the 65 year old Fontana Village Resort had begun to show it's age. However, with new ownership, the Village is very busy restoring the magic that many generations have come to enjoy on the southwest wall of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Every week brings new renovations and more amenities available to our guests. The Lodge at Fontana Village has now been completely renovated with new meeting rooms, fitness center and saunas, the Mount View Bistro & Bears Den Lounge and wireless internet access. All of the poolside cabanas and suites have been treated to the same attention to detail.

Throughout the 400+ acre resort, the new construction and renovations are apparent with a new marina on the shores on Fontana Lake, new & restored cabin rentals throughout the valley as well as a strong emphasis on all activities associated with the Smokies- hikiing, mountain biking, boating, fishing and all things outdoors. The Hazel Creek Outfitter has everything one needs when planning a day trip into the local forests. Car & cycle enthusiasts will find the Hellbender Pitstop at the Village entrance ready to send them on their way to the Famous Dragon with 318 curves in 11 miles, the Cherohala Skyway and the popular Hellbender 28 winding 22 miles along the shores Fontana Lake.

With the renovations has come a renewed commitment from the staff in the Village to provide a memorable experience for our guests. Our incredible venue truly makes Fontana Village Resort a Great Smoky Mountain Destination.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2005

Went to Fontana Village for "Miatas at the Gap". We rented a Willows cabin and it was exactly as I envisioned. The resort was much, much larger than I imagined. I had done some research on their website and from the maps provided, it was quite spread out.

The cabin was well equipped. A living room with couch, easy chair and TV. The kitchen was fully equipped, even a blender and hand mixer. The bathroom was quite small, but for the short time we were there, was sufficient.

Not all of the cabins come with air conditioning, so be sure you've checked into that if that's what you prefer.

Fontana Village is located in Graham County which is a dry county. The general store just recently got their liquor license, but only sells beer, no hard liquor, so bring your own, otherwise it's quite a drive.

We arrived driving "Deals Gap" and what an experience that was. 11 miles of twisties, curves and at times white knuckles. Not knowing what was around the next curve was nerve wracking at times. But, we made it safely and hope to go back sometime in the future.

Date of stay: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank shelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2005

Stayed in "The Inn" Rm 132 with my wife and two kids (3 & 6) for 3 nights during the middle of June 2005. We were very disappointed, and the room was definitely not worth $89 a night. These rooms need some serious renovations. According to the plaque out front the Inn was built in 1975, and I do not think they have done anything since. We had such high hopes as we arrived. The grounds and surrounding area were beautiful, the lobby was reminiscent of a nice lodge. You actually enter the lobby of the Inn on the 2nd floor, and our room was on the first floor. However, there is no way to get to the elevator (or restaurant for that matter) without going down some stairs. This would have been nice to know before the luggage cart was completely loaded! This area is definitely not wheelchair or stroller accessible. Our room was dark and musty smelling, the carpet badly stained, the door frame was rusty, the bathroom had mold and mildew. The shower head in the bathtub is very low. I'm 5' 10" and the shower head was chest level, you have to stay hunched over to get the water on you. The metal grids on the drop ceiling were rusty, you could barely open the sliding glass door, the screen for sliding glass door popped off and wouldn't stay on, there is inadequate lighting, and the only ice machine in the building was broke. Felt like we were in a dungeon. Don't bring any extra electronic equipment (phone charger, laptop, etc) because there is no place to plug them in. We tried to change rooms but were told no other rooms were available. Upon check out we let the front desk staff know about our concerns again and were simply told "I'm sorry". As for the activities, the pool with the slide, the marina, and horseback riding are actually a mile down the road. So there is no simply walking there, or letting the kids go by themselves. It is also worth noting that the "front desk" is not actually located on site, but in a separate building about 1/4 mile away and there is no controlled access or monitoring of this building. Basically anybody can enter the building at all hours. This was definitely not an enjoyable experience and I will not stay here again.

Date of stay: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
27  Thank MTLotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2005

This is a place that can't decide what it wants to be. It charges a bit too much for primitive accommodations, but has activities that are priced very reasonable on the property. Mini-golf is only 4-bucks. Swimming pool and slides are only 4-bucks. But the only restaraunts on-site are overpriced! The cafe charges nearly 8-bucks for a burger(no fry or drink included). The other restaraunt charges gourmet prices! Are you kidding me? Did I not just drive by some shacks and cabins next to the restaraunt? It's basically a campground that knows you have to drive 40-minutes to the nearest Wendy's, so they charge you out the booty to eat there. A lot of the facilities are outdated from the 1960's. The indoor pool looks like something from The Shining. The "swim club" has rust stains on the bottom of the pool. The shuffleboard is very old. The fitness room needs to come into the 21st century and get a water fountain while they're at it. And, the trout pond is basically a cesspool. And, oh by the way, their promise that the restaraunt will clean and cook any trout you catch is a lie! Nobody at the restaraunt knew anything about it. Then again, it wouldn't have mattered since there were no trout to catch. Kids working the place were local redneck teenagers who knew nothing and were apathetic to everything. My advice? Stay in Gatlinburg and drive down to see the Fontana Dam if you're that hard up for it. It was beautiful, but not worth the trip.

Date of stay: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank TrailBlazer25432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2005

My husband and I stayed here in a "Dogwood" cabin, which is one of the basic cabins at this resort. The cabin itself was slightly "dated", mainly by the mildew in the bathroom -- otherwise the bathroom was pleasantly clean -- and the stains on the carpet. For the price we paid (about $75) it was well worth it, especially since we split the cost with another couple. We were there for a mountain bike race which was right there on the resort and we were able to ride our bikes to the start line. Everyone at the resort is quite helpful and pleasant... we would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Julianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews