We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (588)
Filter reviews
588 results
Traveller rating
187
209
108
46
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
187
209
108
46
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews general store the dragon disc golf the main lodge bedroom cabin putt putt the ice cream shop car club sunset cruise appalachian trail mobile home horseback riding get away beautiful scenery beautiful area dirty dancing bryson city
Filter
Updating list...
545 - 550 of 588 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2009

We had a very good time at Fontana Village Resort. Overall, it was a great fall destination for our family, which included two adults and 3 children under 6. We stayed in the Lodge rather than the cabins after hearing about uneven experiences there. Our rooms were a great value for the money -- nice beds, etc. and while the bathrooms were small it was enough. We enjoyed two wonderful dinners at the hotel -- definitely exceeded expectations food and service wise. For lunches, we picnic-ed and ate breakfast in our room, although the restaurant was more affordable.

There are lots of outdoor activities that are fun. Putt putt, football, basketball, tennis, kickball, etc. A nice new pool for warmer times of the year. Overall the facilities are nice but a tad uneven -- some areas are less maintained than others, but for the price I was not expecting Sea Island.

They have great trails for those who like to trail run, hike or mountain bike. A mix of single track, old road beds, and existing forest service roads. The hike to Cascade falls from teh 20 mile ranger district was a nice 1 hour day hike, and a trip to the Dam and overlook was pretty cool. I would imagine the Marina area is hopping in the summer. The general store was well stocked, as was the outfitters.

We thought the Lodge was a great value for the price and overall had a great time. For folks who don't mind walking and don't want to do much driving, a great place.

Be sure to note that the Wildwood Grill is closed from October through Spring (I think) and they do not mention this on their website. Only other potential down side were some fraternities that rented all the cabins and partied pretty hard that night. Also, given then location (30 mins in any direction from town, etc.) this is not the best place to be a "base camp" for a trip anywhere else. If you go to Fontana Village as a destination, you won't want to be doing a lot of driving each day given the roads. The location near the Tail of the Dragon and AT means you will also see a lot of hikers and bikers. We didn't have any issues with either!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bjbrodrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2009

We stayed in a Willow cabin (one bedroom) for three nights. Loved the covered front porch (it rained the whole time). One of the rocking chairs was broken, and none of the outside lights worked. The Grill restaurant was closed for the season, so we ate all our meals at the cabin. Glad I took lots of groceries; it was too nasty to go up to the Lodge (and too expensive). No cell phone service and no phone in the cabin...if you needed any help, you had to go to the General Store (closest place) but it closed at 6 p.m.

The worst part was the water in the cabin. It came out of the faucet looking like it was mixed with milk -- so cloudy. We had plenty of bottled water, thank goodness.

If you're looking for a "back to nature with indoor plumbing" experience, this is a nice place.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigRuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2009

I took a trip to Fonatana Resort to give my parents a chance to get away. There were 5 of us in one of the 2 bedroom cabins. The location was awesome. Some of the most beautiful views of the mountains and lake that I've ever seen. I was reminded of the setting from "Dirty Dancing" in the make up of the resort. The cabin was clean and well appointed. (No bugs as experienced by other reviews). The grill served great food at reasonable prices. The lobby of the hotel was beautiful and made me wish we had rooms in there. The road coming into the resort is extremely curvy and was the only part of the trip that most agreed on as a negative experience.
Note, this is not a place to visit if you want to stay connected on a working vacation, make lots of trips to Cherokee, or want a modern Disney type of vacation. However, if you desire rest, a beautiful setting, and a break from the wild and crazy vacations of today, This might just be your kind of place.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank my2centz103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

My family (2 adults & 1 7 yr old) stayed for a week in the round top (Yurt). We were admittedly spoiled by the excellent accommodations. But other wise the grounds and facilities were great! There was plenty to do and we enjoyed every minute of our stay. We went boating on fantana lake, the Dam is a great site to see. We hung out and played mini golf, baseball, swam in both pools and the lazy river. We went whitewater rafting at "Wildwater rafting center", and our guide "Lee" was awesome! We took the trip to Clingman's dome...a must see for everyone! We went horseback riding, we did try fishing in the trout pond and that was a joke, but it was fun to spend time with the family trying. We BBQ'd at one of the huge fire pits with grills, roasted marshmallows and made friends everywhere we went. I just can't say enough about this place. I am definitely bringing my family and extended family back next year. I am so glad i didn't listen to the negative hype...if your not into mountains, nature and "disconnecting from the world" than go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeristephanie80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

We stayed at Fontana Village for 5 days in a Willow cabin. It is the smallest cabin they offer, 1 bedroom. The accommodations were decent. They are not luxurious, but they are clean and comfortable. The staff at the Village was polite and accommodating. We got everything we asked for.

There are some obvious management issues within the Village, as they could do a better job with activities, but as long as you go prepared with plans, food and supplies, it is a great get away.

You can get cell service at the Fontana Dam scenic overview. Also, if you stay close to the general store or events center, you can pick up the wireless service easily.

The village was beautiful and relaxing. If you want a good experience at Fontana Village, you do need to prepare with supplies, food and plans, but the village itself was great. It is a perfect place to get away from it all.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TXI0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews