We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fontana Village Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fontana Dam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Just an outstanding Inn in the Mountains of NC. You will not be disappointed. Lots of things to do outdoors. The Inn has plenty of rooms and a nice restaurant with a wrap around deck. Staff does Some-ores over a wood fireplace in the evenings.

Room Tip: Rooms in he woods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank N1541EMjoem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Thank you for your review! Activities for everyone abound at Fontana Village Resort. Our summer night bonfires in the Village Center are not to be missed, all guests are welcome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

Cabins need a desperate makeover.Dirty,musty and damp.Lack of utensils,plans not even kitchen towels or a potholder.No icemaker because it broke and pulled out.Surface stove light burned out.Showers are old and faucets broke in shower.Bed linens old and thin.Windows filthy and screens ripped or missing. No way you could open windows for fresh air.Carpets torn in both bedrooms.Such a terrible experience we left three days early. Icould go on but my friends where expecting a fun mountain retreat and we ended up leaving!! Oh had a hard time getting in because doorknob and lock was broken.This resort needs a massive remodel. Never again at this resort!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Paul Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that your stay was anything less than amazing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in a regular resort room. The room was acceptable except that there is no iron in the room is if you have rumpled clothes in your suitcase there is no way to remedy this and the bathroom door (room 121) is hard to close without slamming it. The room could use a small occasion or coffee Table in the sitting area in order to enjoy a beverage with out having to put your drink on the floor. Breakfast was overpriced and undercooked in the lodge, dinner was mediocre and overpriced at the grill. There are little food choices outside of the resort without traveling at least 30 minutes. Robbinsville is 30 minutes away and has a great Mexican restaurant and a couple of good breakfast places. The grounds of the resort at quite nice. Wifi was acceptance overall but this location is very secluded for cell phone users, neither a Canadian phone nor a Verizon phone can get service here but is great if you want to "unplug".

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Thank you for your review. Irons and ironing boards are available from the Front Desk to borrow for your room. Cell phone service is limited due to the remote nature of our location, please be aware of this prior to travel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

Stayed in an "Upgraded Cabin" with my wife and another couple in September, after the busy season. Terrible experience. Cabin was dirty, musty and in serious need of remodeling. The carpets were dirty, dingy and worn. The "pergo" floor was warped and worn. The shades were old and smelly. There were no screens in the windows. Kitchen lacked needed utensils, silverware, etc. The water heater struggled. Add the fact that dump trucks working on a local road continuously drove past our cabin all day, every day. So unenjoyable that we left 3 days early even though we had prepaid and weren't given a refund. What more can I say? However, the restaurant in the lodge was very good, as were the servers.

Room Tip: Rooms in the lodge MAY be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

I was hiking in March of 2017 and needed to get off the trail due to a storm. Room was small but it was perfect for a hiker. I regrouped and stayed nice and dry for that storm. I would stay here again. Nice and clean with friendly employees.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Gerald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Thank you for staying with us during this difficult time as the storms hit the Smoky Mountains from hurricane Irma. Glad that we could offer some comfort off of the trail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fontana Dam
10.7 km away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
732 reviews
12.3 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 6 in Robbinsville
665 reviews
25.3 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Andrews
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bryson City
38.6 km away
Harrah's Cherokee Valley River Casino & Hotel
28.1 km away
Best Western Cades Cove Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontana Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontana Village Resort

Address: 300 Woods Rd, Fontana Dam, NC 28733-7603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Fontana Dam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fontana Dam
Price Range: ₹ 8,382 - ₹ 10,638 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fontana Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fontana Village Resort, a year round destination resort, is set amidst the pristine beauty of the Nantahala Forest of western North Carolina, gateway to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. The Village has a wide range of accommodations, including rooms in the intimate settings of The Lodge, suites, cabins in the forest, as well as RV & tent camping on Cheoah Lake. Add conference space, complimentary wi-fi service, restaurants and lounges, General Store, gift shops, outfitters, pools, marina, fitness center, mountain bike shop, miles of on-site trails suitable for biking and hiking, and it's easy to see why Fontana is a Great Smoky Mountain Destination. The resort offers an assortment of dining options including the Mountview Restaurant and the Wildwood Grill offering resort-casual dining and event catering. The Pitstop offers a fast fare menu for guests or travelers on the go. If watersports are on your itinerary during your stay, the Fontana Marina, located on the beautiful 30 mile long Fontana Lake, has an assortment of different watercraft rentals and equipment available. The Marina's ship store offers a complete line of tackle, light groceries and snacks and anything else guests might need for a perfect day on the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Fontana Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontana Village Hotel Fontana Dam
Fontana Village Fontana Dam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing