We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (573)
Filter reviews
573 results
Traveller rating
180
205
105
46
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
180
205
105
46
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgeneral storethe dragondisc golfthe main lodgebedroom cabinputt puttthe ice cream shopcar clubappalachian trailsunset cruisemobile homehorseback ridingget awaybeautiful scenerydirty dancingbryson citybeautiful area
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 573 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

Cabins need a desperate makeover.Dirty,musty and damp.Lack of utensils,plans not even kitchen towels or a potholder.No icemaker because it broke and pulled out.Surface stove light burned out.Showers are old and faucets broke in shower.Bed linens old and thin.Windows filthy and screens ripped or missing. No way you could open windows for fresh air.Carpets torn in both bedrooms.Such a terrible experience we left three days early. Icould go on but my friends where expecting a fun mountain retreat and we ended up leaving!! Oh had a hard time getting in because doorknob and lock was broken.This resort needs a massive remodel. Never again at this resort!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Paul Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that your stay was anything less than amazing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in a regular resort room. The room was acceptable except that there is no iron in the room is if you have rumpled clothes in your suitcase there is no way to remedy this and the bathroom door (room 121) is hard to close without slamming it. The room could use a small occasion or coffee Table in the sitting area in order to enjoy a beverage with out having to put your drink on the floor. Breakfast was overpriced and undercooked in the lodge, dinner was mediocre and overpriced at the grill. There are little food choices outside of the resort without traveling at least 30 minutes. Robbinsville is 30 minutes away and has a great Mexican restaurant and a couple of good breakfast places. The grounds of the resort at quite nice. Wifi was acceptance overall but this location is very secluded for cell phone users, neither a Canadian phone nor a Verizon phone can get service here but is great if you want to "unplug".

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Thank you for your review. Irons and ironing boards are available from the Front Desk to borrow for your room. Cell phone service is limited due to the remote nature of our location, please be aware of this prior to travel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

Stayed in an "Upgraded Cabin" with my wife and another couple in September, after the busy season. Terrible experience. Cabin was dirty, musty and in serious need of remodeling. The carpets were dirty, dingy and worn. The "pergo" floor was warped and worn. The shades were old and smelly. There were no screens in the windows. Kitchen lacked needed utensils, silverware, etc. The water heater struggled. Add the fact that dump trucks working on a local road continuously drove past our cabin all day, every day. So unenjoyable that we left 3 days early even though we had prepaid and weren't given a refund. What more can I say? However, the restaurant in the lodge was very good, as were the servers.

Room Tip: Rooms in the lodge MAY be better
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

I was hiking in March of 2017 and needed to get off the trail due to a storm. Room was small but it was perfect for a hiker. I regrouped and stayed nice and dry for that storm. I would stay here again. Nice and clean with friendly employees.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Gerald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Thank you for staying with us during this difficult time as the storms hit the Smoky Mountains from hurricane Irma. Glad that we could offer some comfort off of the trail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

The grounds are beautifully wooded and hiking trails start right at your door step. Our room was basic and clean, internet was adequate, but be warned that your cell phone might not work there. Good parking.

There is a restaurant on the premises but it is not open for lunch or dinner on Sundays and there is no other other within walking distance.

We wanted to ask at the desk clerk about places of interest in the area and tried to ask twice, but each time gave up waiting as unhappy guests were complaining to the desk clerk. In both instances they were in cabins, not rooms in the lodge. I was glad we were in the lodge.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RamblingRoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Thank you for your review. Fontana Village maintains nearly 20 miles of hiking and mountain biking trails on property. We do also have two restaurants on property, between the two, one is always open for every meal. Check the weekly bulletin on your arrival or call us in advance to check on restaurant hours of operation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews