We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (573)
Filter reviews
573 results
Traveller rating
180
205
105
46
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
180
205
105
46
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgeneral storethe dragondisc golfthe main lodgebedroom cabinputt puttthe ice cream shopcar clubappalachian trailsunset cruisemobile homehorseback ridingget awaybeautiful scenerydirty dancingbryson citybeautiful area
Filter
Updating list...
493 - 498 of 573 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2011

This is a great hotel if you are planning a quiet retreat or if you are like us and you want to drive your car on Deal's Gap. Fontana Village is located in a very picturesque area of North Carolina, very close to the Tennessee border. We have stayed in both the rental properties and the lodge. Our choice now is to stay in the lodge rooms. Fontana has all sort of things to do on their property from pools, fitness room, ball fields, massage therapy and so forth. It's pretty much self contained which is a good thing because once you are up on the mountain, it's pretty much a ride to get to civilization.

Rooms are very nicely appointed and the entire hotel is very clean. When you stay at Fontana, the only cell phone service that will work is Verizon and it will be in a hot spot on the property. Internet access is within certain areas of the hotel. This is a place that you go to stay and if you are looking for a place to *disconnect*, it pretty much can happen here.

There are some great drives in the area and the staff at Fontana is very helpful and will gladly set you up with a map and tell you about some of the roads. We take our Miata there every year for an annual meet up with other Miatas, but we would definitely go here on our own just to enjoy the surrounding scenery. Very highly recommended!

Dining in the Mountainview Bistro is the very best! We always enjoy having meals there. A lot of creativity goes into meals there

Room Tip: We prefer staying in any of the lodge rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank islandgirlejfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

We are a "beach" couple... but this resort *could* make us mountain-people.

Room Tip: The cabin was luxurious - gorgeous granite countertops, beautiful/relaxing views, super amenities - didn't want to leave. Had visited Gatlinburg to see family previously, but this is a totally different experiene!! Do the Shuckstack tower hike & be active on the AT!!
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeachGirleeo x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stated Saturday night 10/29//11 and were awed by the settings.The cabin we stayed in was clean and the staff wonderful.Only ate breakfast in the lodge but food was very good. i cannot say enough about the attitude of the staff, they went out of there way to make our stay pleasnt from early check-in to smiles on all faces.We were a group of car people and reserved the fire pit for a bonfire and all was good!

Room Tip: the Willows cabins are prefab type units but large for one bedroom.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

We were there on a Sunday and Monday night. The restaurant in the lodge was the only one open so they were a little busy. Reservations are recommended. The first night they were out of most everything, but the waitress was very charming and the food was very good and the prices were reasonable. As a matter of fact, we commented that the room decor, service and ambiance didn't fit the menu. The food was burgers, fish n chips, spaghetti and meatballs type fare for less than $20 when you feel like you're going to be looking at gourmet food and pricing when you walk in the room. We rented a cabin and I don't know what the other people in here are talking about with the 'no locks', 'no phone' and dirty. Our cabin was spotless and very well appointed. The bed wasn't great is my only negative. Many things were not available to us this time of year, but that's to be expected. We enjoyed a bon fire and marshmallow roast. We took a 7 mile hike with JP, who is the amazing activity director. We also rented a pontoon boat for an hour and we wished we had three hours, it was so beautiful. My only comment would be that I wished I'd brought along some bleach as the boat was very mildewed. If you're looking for a quiet, beautiful area to relax, Fall in Fontana is really nice.

Room Tip: If you want a fireplace you might need to call in advance. There seemed to be only about 5 cabins with fireplaces.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

we've been going to this resort each fall for the last 3 yrs. our room waas clean with excellent mattresses. all the help was courteous and the service prompt. the meals were exceptional and inexpensive. combine all this with the natural beautiful surrounding one, and return trips in the future are a done deal as far as we're concerned.

Room Tip: great views from the front of the lodge and deck
Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
4  Thank wandall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews