We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“It felt like home!”

Review of Palmetto Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Emerald Isle, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jdavisbco
Blossburg, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“It felt like home!”
Reviewed 10 November 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We loved this rental! As soon as we walked in it was like we'd been there before. It was immediately comfortable and not intimidating like you didn't want to touch anything. We felt right at home and immediately got down to the business of enjoying our long awaited vacation.

The rental is located on the Point and the location was perfect! We enjoyed the covered and uncovered decks every day and especially at night. I don't think we have ever seen "shooting stars" like we did at the beach! The rental is close to town and shopping and just a little ride to the pier for fishing or dolphin/shark sighting.

The only "complaints" that we had were that the sleeper sofa was broken and the beds were not made upon arrival. Yes, we are capable of making our own beds, but it's so nice when you don't have to as soon as you get there. I am however glad that the owner provided linens for our use and we didn't have to pack them. Another slight downside is the laundry is not on the living level or connected to the inside of the house, but on the ground floor.

Overall, we really liked this place a lot! We are planning on staying there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and layout of the house
Liked least: Beds were not made upon arrival and laundry room on ground floor, sleeper sofa broken.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blossburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and layout of the house
Liked least: Beds were not made upon arrival and laundry room on ground floor.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rick B
Scituate, Massachusetts
1 review
“Why we always come back to Emerald Isle...”
Reviewed 3 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Each year the seven of us, my family of four and our best friend and her two kids, venture south to get away from it all. This was our fourth year in Emerald Isle, and we loved Palmetto Cottage! It was clean, well laid out and comfortable. There are several areas where one can get away from the rest of the group to read a book if they choose. Two different deck levels, with nice, sturdy rocking chairs on each. The house was well furnished, and appliances are recent and in good repair. The refrigerator has an ice maker - you would be surprised how many don't, and just how much you miss it when you do not have it.

This house is on the point, at the southern tip of Emerald Isle. There is more sand to traverse to get to the water than previous houses that we have stayed in, and I actually liked it better. There is also a more gradual slope into the water - you can walk a bit further out, with no real drop-offs, unlike some areas further up the island. Strangely, the sand appeared to be a bit whiter that further up the coast, and had fewer rocks... Very clean. it actually kind of squeaked when you scuffed along it with your feet.

The weather cooperated much more than we had originally thought it would. The weather predictions were supposed to be stormy the whole week, but we actually only had one stormy event, and that was at night. Storms are commonplace down here in August but, aside from Hurricane Irene in 2011 (we were evacuated halfway through our vacation), the weather has been awesome.

Lots to do in the area. Quite a few great restaurants - locally caught seafood - always a favorite! Beaufort is a nice town, with a lot of history - parasailing and a boat ride out to Shackleford Banks to see the wild horses and collect shells from Beaufort. Miniature golf and go-carts nearby. North Carolina Aquarium at Pine Knoll Shores is great fun as well.

We will be coming back to Emerald Isle, and back to Palmetto Cottage, soon. Just not soon enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansboro NC
Reviewed 3 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing