We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet, clean, oversized rooms.”
Review of The University Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The University Inn
Ranked #40 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Greenville
1 review
“quiet, clean, oversized rooms.”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Quiet! Nice staff .got a good deal on priceline! would recommend to anyone who just wants a good night's sleep. No partiers or screaming kids.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idlehands_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    29
    23
    5
    5
See reviews for
27
12
13
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

I was staying here with my mother,sister and nephew,when my mother needed testing at Duke. They have a medical rate which helps somewhat when you are staying more than just a night. They have a shuttle service which helps a lot since they dont have a lot of parking and you dont want to lose your spot.The breakfast is pretty average,juice,milk,activia yogurt,bagels,oatmeal,fruit,you know the standard continental.But it is a free meal. The rooms are your basic rooms,mini fridge,microwave,tv,stuff like that. I will say that as far as cleanliness, i think they shampoo the carpets every other day, and they take down and wash the shower curtains after every stay(which means you have a clean curtain in the room,when you check in),the staff is friendly.Duvets,not sure,but thats kinda sketchy everywhere,though many wont admit it.But mine didnt smell and the room over all was clean. So this isnt the Marriott,Hilton or what have you, but it meets the needs.

Room Tip: dont stay near elevator,and rooms 306 and 304 are connecting rooms with 304 i belive is the accesibl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shugbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holden Beach, NC
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

The hotel is adequate in most respects. It's a little worn and the "continental breakfast" is poor. But the location is very good in you are going to the Duke medical center. And the shuttle service will take you to most nearby places if you ask. Wifi is only available in the lobby. Wired is available in the rooms. Vin Rouge restaurant is not too far away and very good.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank subtropical_ken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springbrook Township
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

The University Inn at Duke is an okay place to stay as long as you are not expecting anything fancy. Our room was large and comfortable and it did include a microwave and refrigerator. Their free Wi-Fi went down and it took us over a day to be able to get connected. The Continental Breakfast is just cold cereal, cold waffles that you could toast and pastries along with orange juice and coffee. The coffee was Maxwell House so that was good. As far as the staff everyone was very friendly and helpful so I would give them an excellent review. And, the price for the hotel is very reasonable so in a sense, we did get what we paid for. We would stay here again if we were visiting Durham and Duke University in the future.

Room Tip: Tell them Harold from HaroldSays referred you
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HaroldSays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havelock, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2011

This was a great place to stay, close to the hospital and the staff was very helpful, it was a 2 min. walk to the hospital, the rooms were clean and very comfortable. They let us check in before check in time because we had traveled all night and were very tired. The curtains made the room very dark so you could sleep durning the day. The staff was very friendly and I will stay there again when my husband goes for his next surgery and his treatments. I would recommend this to anyone, it was recommended to us by friends and we were not dissappointed.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diamondgirl65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.0 km away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Near Duke University
1.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
1.5 km away
Millennium Durham
Millennium Durham
#36 of 71 in Durham
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Residence Inn Durham McPherson/Duke University Medical Center Area
2.6 km away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
2.5 km away
Red Roof Inn Durham Duke University Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The University Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The University Inn

Property: The University Inn
Address: 502 Elf Street, Durham, NC 27705
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,293 - ₹ 8,476
Hotel Class:2 star — The University Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The University Inn at Duke is across the street from Duke University Medical Center Hospital and the Durham Regional Veterans Administration Hospital. We are walking distance to the Duke Medical Pavilion, Duke Cancer Center, Duke Ambulatory Center, Duke Eye Clinic, Duke University, Duke University Medical School, Cameron Indoor Stadium, Duke Gardens, Duke Chapel, Duke East Campus and Duke West Campuses. All of our rooms are extra large and include a microwave, refrigerator, and free WIFI. We have a complimentary Shuttle bus for the Duke campus and medical center that runs Monday thru Friday 7am to 9pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Inn At Duke Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing