We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Casual Italian”
Review of L'Uva Enoteca - CLOSED

L'Uva Enoteca
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
chapel hill, nc
Level Contributor
110 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent Casual Italian”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

L'Uva is a great addition to the American Tobacco campus. The Italian food is of high quality, with many inventive items on the menu. The wine list is moderately priced with some very nice bottles, and the service is friendly but professional. The space is not all that well laid out, leading to a bit of feeling of being crowded in, but it's hardly a deal breaker. A great place to go if you are headed to DPAC.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikep244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
47 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food - nice relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

My husband and I went here for the first time on Saturday 3/17 and we are so glad we gave it a try. All the food was fresh and delicious and the wait staff was very friendly. The bread to start is perfect - crusty on the outside, fluffy on the inside and warm. It was an effort not to eat it all since it was served with an almond basil pesto dipping sauce. We had the bruschetta with mushrooms, arugula and taleggio after that - yum! Then I had a small serving of rigatini with pomodoro sauce, spinach and goat cheese - light but satisfying with fresh flavors. Perfectly al dente.
My husband had a pork chop with tomato jam and whipped garlic potatoes and green beans. Very nice presentation and it was off the charts flavor wise! The tomato jam was sweet, tart and spicy. Excellent! We were too full to try dessert. We will be back! This may be our new favorite in Durham.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank txtravelgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
121 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Small, great Italian place in American Tobacco Comples”
Reviewed 22 January 2012

L'Uva Enoteca is good Italian, at really good prices. The chef is the same as Revolution in Durham and he has roots as sous chef for a REAL Italian chef that worked at the Siena Hotel in Chapel Hill. You can tell this is upscale, but affordable Italian food. It is not a pizza joint with some Chicken Parm on the menu. All the pastas were very fresh and light and flavored well. The mushroom ravioli with gorgonzola was light, flavorful and just a bit fancy. The atmosphere is modern and chic. It is a small restaurant in the American Tobacco complex, but it is very close to the main parking deck, so easy to find. The waiters were knowledgeable and attentive. Desserts were minimal, but good. It is a great spot for "after the game". We spent about 90$ without tip for 2 people and that is with wine. I like that there are small and large sizes of the pastas and entrees. One odd thing is that they have some tables outside the main space in the lobby of the building. I preferred to sit in the main space, but if you did not have a reservation, you still eat well, but almost out in the hall. In the summer, they have a beautiful porch for outdoor seating.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanaW873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brit in NC
Level Contributor
157 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food from Jim Anile”
Reviewed 15 December 2011

Had a great meal here with my wife. The food was fantastic and she loved the wine list. Really recommend that you try it out. My wife had fish and I had a chicken dish that were superb.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank limeyferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORTHERN NEW JERSEY
Level Contributor
121 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“not sure we will go here again”
Reviewed 23 November 2011

It was a Sat nite- We thought the food was ok- But beware - the portions are on the small size for a Italian place. Also they did not have a kids menu. Also it was cold even tho we were inside the place. Beet salad was great. they were very busy so service was not good.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JerryDEBO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Uva Enoteca also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing