We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Durham
Ranked #30 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

If you need to visit Duke University, I highly recommend staying at Holiday Inn Express on Guess Rd. Easy 6 minute drive to campus, great location near restaurants and shopping. Staff VERY friendly and helpful!

Room Tip: Quieter on non freeway side, but it was not an issue for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coffeegayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    56
    23
    5
    6
See reviews for
52
29
15
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights- excellent location - right off highway. This property is older- and it shows. Bathrooms are TINY. and they have tried to modernize them, but they are TINY! The staff are great- friendly, helpful, always available. The express b-fast is very basic- same menu as other H I Express hotels. There are 4 or 5 other properties across the street-- next time I will try one of them.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DKG_12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durham, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Dear goodwintom,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. We are glad you liked the location of our hotel as well as our friendly staff. We are deeply sorry you found your room accommodations less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.


Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I rented at this hotel because I was going to the Pink Martini concert at DPAC, and this was nearby (about ten minutes or so) and within decent price. I don't have any real complaints! The front desk service was polite, even knowledgeable - after checking in I asked for a place nearby to get a quick dinner, and they were able to point me to a few places in the area. My room was neat and clean, and just what I would expect for a hotel room. Something worth mentioning: I rented a smoking room so I could enjoy my pipe, and the ash trays were clean and there were no cigarette butt stains any where. Overall my stay in the room was perfectly fine.

Some might complain about the location. Yes, it's near a highway, although I didn't have too much problem with that myself. The only thing I kind of noticed was the area around it was a wee bit sketchy. I didn't fear for my life or the contents of my car, but driving along Guess Road leads you into a mixture of nice neighborhoods and not so nice neighborhoods. But like I said, I didn't fear for my life in the parking lot (and I came back from the concert around 10:30 PM or so), and they actually lock the doors to the front lobby after a certain time, and you either have to be rung in or you can use your card key.

Overall, I had no real complaints, and enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benedetto D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I've stayed here several times on business and it is reliably - friendly, clean, comfortable. The staff are wonderful. I only wish there were a Starbucks within walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank king238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I have travel a good amount with hotel stay, but this hotel had the tiniest pillows! We booked on line and didn't know how closed to the interstate it was. When we arrived we asked not to be on the interstate side. They placed us at the end of the building nearest to the interstate. We were given a senior rate, but for $82 we could have stay four star in Durham. Breakfast was fair with unsupervised children running around. I will say this, that was the cleanest hotel!

Room Tip: Try and confirm a room not on the interstate side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timeline01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
1.3 km away
Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown
3.0 km away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Near Duke University
1.1 km away
Comfort Inn Medical Park
Comfort Inn Medical Park
#44 of 71 in Durham
62 reviews
0.2 km away
Red Roof Inn Durham Duke University Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Durham? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Durham

Property: Holiday Inn Express Durham
Address: 2516 Guess Rd, Durham, NC 27705-3307
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,771 - ₹ 9,762
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Durham 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an ideal location near I-85 and the Durham Freeway, the Holiday Inn Express(R) Durham hotel offers the utmost in comfort and convenience for your next trip. Use the free Wi-Fi access to keep in touch with home and the office, and the Business Center offers all the tools you need to make a dazzling presentation. We also offer free taxi service to Duke University Medical Center. In the morning, we serve up a free, hot breakfast buffet, featuring both hot and cold items. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Durham Hotel Durham
Holiday Inn Durham
Durham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing