We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Farm to table, fresh Persian food! Some of the best I've ever had!”

Pomegranate Kitchen
Ranked #163 of 807 Restaurants in Durham
Cuisines: Persian
Restaurant details
Reviewed 31 March 2017

Five of us went to Pomegranate Kitchen for lunch. We didn't know much about the place, but we all love Persian food. It was absolutely wonderful. Mally is a joyful person who shared all kinds of information about the food and was very patient with us. We had lots of requirements due to gluten-free and other dietary needs. All our needs were filled (and so were our bellies)! We got our take-out and enjoyed our lunch, each sharing the complex tastes and aromas of each dish.

Pomegranate Kitchen is difficult to find, Straw Valley looks like empty buildings because of lack of use and the poor condition of the parking lots. However, the food is worth the hunt!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dianneky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PomegranateKitchen, Owner at Pomegranate Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Merci for the kind words. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

We're big fans of Pom Kitchen. Mostly get her food at the Chapel Hill farmers market. Lovely lady. Lovely food. The Jewel Rice is to die for.

Thank pmspiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PomegranateKitchen, Owner at Pomegranate Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2017

Thanks so much. We have added the South Durham Farmers' Market and Fearrington Farmers' Market to our weekly tour for 2017! Looking forward to seeing you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

We stopped here on our way to Raleigh to visit a few museums, and it was a pleasant surprise! The food was delicious and the service was outstanding. We're all vegetarians and we had plenty of options. It is a small place, but definitely worth a stop!

Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PomegranateKitchen, Owner at Pomegranate Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2017

Looking forward to your next trip to come see us again. Thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016

I love to stop by and get a Jewel Rice, or Lentil Rice to go. Especially after a workout. Small place, only takes cash or checks, but the food is great.

1  Thank kk617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PomegranateKitchen, Owner at Pomegranate Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2017

Thanks so much for the review. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016

Mally, the owner of Pom Kitchen, is one of the nicest people I've ever met. She is kind, caring and has a passion for her food that most other restaurants wish they could express. From the moment you walk in to this humble space, you are greeted by a happy, smiling face and "Bonjour Monsieur!". You may think Mally is French, but she is actually Persian. Her food oozes the delicate flavors of Iran and the complex aromas fill the air inside and outside of her restaurant. Her Pomegranate Stew (Fesenjoon/Fesenjan), fabulous rice dishes and other stews are some of the best I've had. She also has several different types of pastries, like my favorite the tomato pie. Somehow Mally transforms the boring tomato into a stunningly crisp and flavorful tomato pie, wrapped in her homemade puff pastry crust. She only cooks with healthy oils and all of the vegetables are freshly cut by hand. No processed foods here.

My one complaint is not with Mally, her food or anything she can control... it is with the landlord of Straw Valley (the shopping center that Pom Kitchen is in). I'm not sure if they are intentionally trying to run everyone out of the spaces there, but whoever owns Straw Valley should be ashamed at their lack of maintenance, horrible signage (that is impossible to see), and overall appearance of the exterior of the building. I thought the shopping center was abandoned until I found Pomegranate Kitchen. Mally has done all she can to make her space her own, and although it isn't your typical sit-down restaurant (you can sit outside), you still feel invited when you step through her door. I hope whoever owns Straw Valley will invest some money into the center and transform the space into a freshened version of its current form, FIX the parking lot's huge ruts and ensure their tenants are happy with their space. I'm sure Mally could find another location, but all of her customers know where she is and it is convenient to I-40, 15/501, etc.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TriangleFoodLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PomegranateKitchen, Owner at Pomegranate Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2017

Wow! What a review! Thank you for taking the time to write such nice things.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Pomegranate Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing