We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“What a treat!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
Ranked #3 of 70 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights this week. I was, indeed, WOWED by this hotel. Not only is it exceptionally clean and neat, but the rooms are sooo very contemporary and well appointed. There are features that I have not seen in chain hotels outside of Europe, such as separate commode and tub/sink rooms with sliding opaque glass doors, huge rooms and a cozy L-shaped couch with chaise lounge on one side. The living area with coffee/microwave area and office area are separate from the bedroom area and would be comfortable for a long stay. The inside pool and hot tub were immaculate and just the right temperatures. There was an outside seating area with a water feature as well as a huge fire pit lit in the evening. I have never written a review of a hotel before - this hotel needed to be noted!!! (Jennifer, the front desk host, was gracious and helpful, as well.)

Room Tip: Water pressure on the 6th floor was slow and it took a good while for it to get hot so a lower floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xgwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Hello xgwoman,

Thank you for the kind review. It is most appreciated. I would like to apologize for the water pressure issue. It should be a simple fix involving removal of debris. I will relay your comments to our staff, including Jennifer and again thank you for the review as well as your business. Come see us again.

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    123
    38
    15
    4
See reviews for
239
66
27
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Homewood, Alabama
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

This is a fairly new hotel and it was staffed by great people. The staff went way out of their way to accommodate me, and my wife during this trip.
First off, I planned on doing a work out in the Durham/Chapel Hill area, and I needed a place to take a shower afterwards. After a very quick call the front desk assured me that they would have a room ready for me when I got there about noon. Not only was the room ready, but they had my paperwork all set and only needed to see my ID when I walked through the door. No issues with the early check in and the room was immaculate.
We got a room closest to the elevators so I was a bit apprehensive about noise, but my worry was for naught. We never heard the elevators, and we got a great night's sleep.

My wife had an all day meeting the next day, and I was left to work remotely. Not only did the front desk staff allow me to do a late check out, 1:00 pm, but they set up a little workstation for me in the lobby to finish my day.
This would have been enough, but, from time to time, the staff would ask if I would like some coffee when they brought out a fresh pot. It was a great experience, and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling in the Durham/Chapel Hill area.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NattoMatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Hello NattoMatto,

Thank you for the great review. The kind words as well as your business are both greatly appreciated. I'm truly glad that you and your wife enjoyed your stay. Please come see us again.

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

I stayed at this hotel on two separate occassions for business and used space for meetings. The staff provided excellent customer service in responding to our needs whether it was printing a document or bring refreshing drinks. The staff was very accommodating and met our requests with a smile. We especially enjoyed the lobby/lounge area and outdoor space with the fire pit. Thanks for excellent service - Rodney, Jose', Laura and Linzi! I look forward to my next stay!

Room Tip: All the rooms are suites so anyone you choose will be great because the couch lets out into a bed an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kepe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Hello Kepe H,

I would like to thank you for taking the time for submit a review and would also like to thank you for all the kind words. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and an equally happy to hear that you will be back again. I will certainly share your comments with the staff, especially the four employees you mentioned. Thanks Again!!

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Convenient location, modern furnishings, clean room, polite staff, great breakfast and a great value. I was very pleased.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank verborgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Hello Verborgen,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to submit your review. I am very pleased that your stay was such a positive one. That's certainly what we strive for. I hope you will come see us in the not too distant future and thanks again for the feedback.

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apex
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Our company has completed three trainings at this hotel and each one has been great. The customer service is excellent! Laura Pelletier (the sales manager) does a wonderful job making sure everything is ready for our meeting and also making sure the participants coming to our meetings are able to get their rooms at the rate we promised.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Hello Elisa D.,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. It is most appreciated. I have shared your comments with Laura and will do so with the rest of the staff as well. I was particularly excited to read how happy you were with the service we provided. Thank you Elisa. We're truly glad we have become "A great place for Meetings".

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
8.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
0.4 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durham-Chapel Hill / I-40
2.3 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Chapel Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-RTP
10.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
0.2 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Durham Chapel Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill

Property: SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
Address: 5310 McFarland Rd, Durham, NC 27707-6831
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durham
#2 Family Hotel in Durham
#6 Best Value Hotel in Durham
#11 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,889 - ₹ 12,034
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Durham Chapel Hill Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing