We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
29
19
11
5
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
19
11
5
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjohn henrycourtesy busoffer shuttle servicemain buildingmedical appointmentmedical centerduke universityper nightlocation is greatbeds were comfortablenice hotelfirst floorwithin walking distancewould stay here againconveniencelobbymattresses
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2018

I reserved a block of rooms for conference attendees who said they loved the rooms, the gym and Business Center as well as the restaurant onsite. I ordered catered food for lunch for conference attendees. The food was affordable and expertly presented. It was delivery quickly and they paid attention to detail by branding the dessert with our organization's colors. I was very impressed with the affordability of rooms and food as well as the excellent customer service.

Room Tip: Affordable rooms, excellent customer service and amazing food at restaurant onsite.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keysha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

The hotel was very nice, with a boutique style that looked very new (on the inside). The bed was comfortable, and the price reasonable. My score for the hotel was a bit lower due to the low water pressure and and luke warm temperature of the shower, and the hair in the shower drain. Otherwise the hotel was very clean.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kday-ketel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamConcord, Manager at Cambria Hotel Durham - Near Duke University, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Dear kday-ketel,

Thank you for staying with us and for reviewing your experience. Although we are happy you loved much of your stay, please accept our apologies for the shower issues you experienced. Rest assured we take feedback such as yours to heart and will use it to fine tune our procedures to better serve you. Our maintenance team will also look at the shower head. We hope you will give us a chance to host you again on a future visit. Thanks again for your feedback.

John Henry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018

During our many stays over the past 10 years, we have been very favorably impressed with the care and compassion exhibited by what was then the Brookwood Inn (now cambria suites). This hotel is across the street from Duke medical center and guests often have special needs.
Cambria's employees seem to have stopped caring about their guests.
I booked a room for my spouse who was in durham for an annual cardiology appointment. i used my credit card to secure the reservation, When spouse checked in, he handed the desk clerk his credit card.
Imagine my husband's surprise to get a call from our bank alerting him to two questionable charge on my card - $2000 for flowers, $2000 for a airline ticket. When he told the desk clerk what had happened, the clerk said talk to the manager in the morning, A chat with the manager brought no help or apology and no interest in how his hotel aided this fraud.
Sad to say, my advice now is to stay away from cambria suites in Durham- perhaps all their properties

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank hengaoxing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamConcord, Manager at Cambria Hotel Durham - Near Duke University, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2018

Dear hengaoxing, thank you for bringing this to our attention. We take matters such as this very seriously. As a result, please allow us some time to look into this matter further.

Sincerely,
John Henry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2018

We were in town to visit children and have stayed at many hotels in Durham previously. We had never stayed at this chain of hotels. The price was reasonable so we gave it a try but that was just about the only thing we liked. The staff we met were also very nice. We were placed in the back building so only saw the lobby when checking in. The one good thing was the black out shades. Our room was on the 5th floor and our door along with others on the floor would not shut without slamming. The frig door was also difficult. The drawers and hanging space was tiny. We had 2 queen beds and the layout of the really small room left no room for my husband to pass behind when I was in the chair at the desk. My phone would not receive emails in the room. The TV did not receive network stations. The second night 2 men from the hotel? came to our door and said they did not have us in the computer so were checking to see if someone was in the room. The next night our keys would not work. Fortunately the hotel staff sent a guard over to let us in as it was raining outside. We will not be back. Forgot...the AC grill rattled all the time. Also, there was a spot of yellow dried urine on the toilet seat when we arrived. I love to give great reviews on Trip Advisor but could not. This hotel needs to get its act together.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sue44044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamConcord, Manager at Cambria Hotel Durham - Near Duke University, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2018

Dear Sue44044, we are so disappointed you did not have a comfortable and enjoyable stay. Please accept our sincere apology for the problems you encountered throughout your guest room. You deserved a comfortable and stress-free visit, and we did not live up to your expectations. We assure you that what you experienced is not acceptable, and we have addressed this with both housekeeping and engineering. Please come back to see us and we would love an opportunity to show you the experience you would expect from the brand. Thank you for being our guest.

Sincerely,
John Henry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018

There are a lot of great things to be said about the Cambria Hotel & Suites,Durham. It's located in a great spot--just across the street from the VA Hospital and Duke Hospital. The restaurant offers a good selection for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The shuttle is far nicer than many we've used--it has an actual step to get into the van making it easier for those who might need a little help and better support. The rooms are tastefully appointed and very clean. And the staff and management are exceptional. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank becca m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamConcord, Manager at Cambria Hotel Durham - Near Duke University, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Dear becca m.,

We are so happy you chose the Cambria Hotel & Suites Durham Near Duke University for your recent stay and are thrilled to read all of the great things you loved about our hotel. We appreciate your business and hope you will choose us every time you are in the Durham area. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

John Henry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews