We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cal/Mex in Corolla”
Review of Bad Bean Taqueria - CLOSED

Bad Bean Taqueria
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Description: The only GOOD bean is a BAD bean.
c
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cal/Mex in Corolla”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

I have actually been in the back kitchen when the fresh produce show ups!!! Only go here if you think Taco Bell sucks!!!!!!! Rob is great for supporting the local surf scene. Got his recipes form California...

Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    82
    28
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Local Fast food”
Reviewed 12 November 2011

While one can either eat in or take out, this restaurant in Timbuktu is essentially a fast food place. The burritos and tacos are good, and they have a tasty selection of beer which came as something of a surprise. One senses, however, that the staff all have other interests, e.g. surfing, and this is merely their day job; they are just not into it. On the other hand, other than placing an order, there isn't much contact. Fine for lunch, not my style for dinner unless maybe takeout; the place is a bit loud, lots of large groups with kids [but then again this is the OBX where the houses all seem to sleep about 20 :-) ] One is inclined to linger about as much as one would at McD's.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MEB2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fish tacos good”
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Not much atmosphere, but decent fish tacos for the price. The guacamole was pretty bland and I would skip that next time.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Relleno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“not as good as it used to be”
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Usually the BB is excellent, but our recent visit was disappointing. The food was not up to par (why can't I have a soft corn tortilla?) and the service wasn't good. I'm beginning to think the businesses in Corolla really can't stand the tourists here. Almost everywhere we go we are treated with what seems to be hostility.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jasamaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey Shore, New Jersey
Level Contributor
148 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Food was good, value was not.”
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Right off the bat, this is not a full service restaurant, it's semi-fast food. The full service location is in KDH. Me, my wife and 4 year old daughter stopped by here on a slow friday afternoon. I expected this to be a full service joint, but it wasn't and thats my fault for not checking it out here first. I had two fish tacos, which were pretty good, my wife had a burritto, which she said was good and may daughter had the min-quesadilla, which I ended up eating. We also ordered chips and salsa, which tasted very fresh. The portions were large (as with most mexican food places), but the prices seemed steep. For what I mentioned above and 3 sodas, it came to $38, which seemed kinda high for a place where I have to pour my own drink and clean up after myself. I must say though that we did enjoy the food. The service was really non-existant (you order at the counter, they bring it over and you never see them again), but then again I should've looked this up before we went there. They are located in the TimBuck II shopping plaza in Corolla, kinda hidden on the side of a building.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marvingardens1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bad Bean Taqueria also viewed

 
Corolla, Outer Banks
Corolla, Outer Banks
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing