We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice lunch”

Route 12 Steak & Seafood
Ranked #41 of 82 Restaurants in Corolla
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newport News, VA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very nice lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

My husband and I were staying nearby & had some exciting activities planned so we were on a time schedule and decided to grab a quick lunch. We were actually planning to try a different place in the same shopping center, but they were closed, so we decided to try Rt. 12. That was a great choice! I got the crab cake sandwich, and it was huge & delicious! My husband got a salas and he said it was great. From the time we walked in, until the time we left the staff was super friendly & eager to help. We will definately stop back by the next time we are in Corolla!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emily51402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    72
    55
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Randolph NJ
Level Contributor
58 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Bad food. Not well prepared. Not recommended ever.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

We took our large family here on our last night and were very disappointed. Seafood was overcooked, strange portions (the scallops were microscopic and shrimp very small). All of it was badly overcooked. Had 1/2 dozen hard steamers and shrimp and scallops overcooked and rubbery. One of our teens ordered prime rib and the fact that they served a piece of meat with literally 5/6ths of it it pure fat was unbelievable to us. And fat all the way through it. They took it back and got him something else but it just showed their cooks have no clue. The mashed potatoes were good. Three of our large party had stomach issues that night too. We ate here 5 yrs ago and it was good but we will never, ever return. When the kids are walking out saying we should never eat here again and the adults all agreed - that tells you all you need to know.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JerseyDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Some of the best prime rib I've ever had.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

The prime rib was excellent, juicy and full of flavor. The sides were adaquate but nothing to write home about. The restaurant was cramped and hot. I would go back for the prime rib but not much else.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RamblinVAFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, PA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“You call this seafood?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

Sorry...the service and atmosphere was great but the seafood platter we had was pretty bad. I could not eat the crab cake (which was grayish) , the shrimp too small for a platter, the mahi was tasteless. We are originally from MD so maybe we just expect too much.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ImaHungry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“We love a good meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

We were vacationing with a group of eight adults with different flavor palets and we all enjoyed excellent meals and service. The pork chops were out of this world. No one had a complaint about their meal and we all had different entrees.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Weliketogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Route 12 Steak & Seafood also viewed

Corolla, Outer Banks
Corolla, Outer Banks
 
Corolla, Outer Banks
Corolla, Outer Banks
 

Been to Route 12 Steak & Seafood? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing