We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Not like most Hampton Inns” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Corolla
Certificate of Excellence
Havelock
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not like most Hampton Inns”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

The rooms are obviously older, the snacks and drinks at the snack shop were all expired. We chose not to eat breakfast there so I cannot review that. We have stayed at LOTS of Hampton Inns and this is by far the worst experience I have had with one. Having said that...it was still much better than experiences with some other hotel chains.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    773
    321
    86
    27
    8
See reviews for
498
500
33
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
maryland
Level Contributor
148 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We visited over Easter weekend and had a standard room, 2nd floor facing south. The room itself was nice and had a small balcony to step out and gaze 180 degrees across the island. You could see and hear the ocean well and it was very comfy. The bathroom was very large, as was the room for a standard sized room. The a/c-heater made a few odd clunks as it went on and off, but nothing to really be concerned about...typical hotel a/c unit.

The lobby is immaculate with a great display case in the entryway. The breakfast area was fine and breakfast was typical Hampton Inn fare. On Easter morning, they had an egg hunt for all the kids. That was unexpected and nice. The pool, though small, was fine for an indoor pool...as was the hot tub. The outdoor pools looked nice, but it was just too cool to take a dip in them...maybe later in summer.

The boardwalk to the beach was great and a fine way to enjoy the beach and collect shells without all the bother of all the typical beach-combing public crawling all over. I don't think I could have asked for a nicer place to stay in the Outer Banks unless I had a private house on the beach. We used Hilton Honors points...and they were well worth using here versus in the Kitty Hawk area for the Hilton Garden there. I'd take this any day.

The staff was friendly as well. A+ all the way.

Room Tip: 2nd Floor south side or ocean view...anything but east facing is fine for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfwilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

This hotel was exactly what we wanted. We had an oceanfront room. The breakfasts were very good with more choices than many places. You can walk out of the hotel, up the stairs over the dunes and right out to the beach. Deer were grazing on the dunes right in front of our room one morning! Everyone at the hotel was friendly and helpful and we'll definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brbpollock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

This hotel has one of the best beach locations on the Outer Banks if you are interested in being away from the touristy beaches of Nags Head/Kitty Hawk. It is literally the only hotel for miles and is surrounded by upscale beach homes. The main lobby and public spaces are lovely and well kept. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms, however, do reflect a decade of the kind of wear and tear that only beach hotels have. The door to our top floor ocean view room was loose enough that the gusts of wind from the ocean made it vibrate and as a result kept us awake at night. The room was fairly clean but had a slightly musty smell, and we did find a hair in the sheets. The bathroom was also clean but the shower head had red mold and the tub caulking needed replacing. Breakfast is standard Hampton -- not great but edible. These issues should not keep you away from this property if you plan to spend most of your time outside exploring the lovely and quaint town of Corolla and walking on the beach.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tarheel08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

If you are looking for a hotel in the Outer Banks that is right in the middle of all the action then this is NOT the place for you. Located in Corolla (about 10 miles north of Kitty Hawk), this Hampton in is the only hotel on this stretch of beach. A beautiful property any time of the year. Our favorite time if winter because the beach is deserted and property is quiet.

Room Tip: ask for Room 300.... very private balcony, big room, and kitchen facilities enough to never have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwgjr9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corolla
18.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
27.1 km away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
38.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.4 km away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
31.5 km away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,314 reviews
29.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
#3 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla
Address: 333 Audubon Drive, Corolla, NC 27927-9589
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Corolla
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Corolla
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,729 - ₹ 25,808
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal Outer Banks hotel right on the beach in Corolla, NC. We offer oceanfront rooms and suites that look out onto the pristine sandy dunes of the Outer Banks. Explore the remote beauty of the outer banks of North Carolina. See wild horses, the famous light houses of the outer banks, take a kayak tour, or choose to sit by the pool or lounge in our lazy river. Enjoy our free daily breakfast and wifi. Relaxation awaits you at our outer banks Corolla NC hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Outerbanks Corolla Hotel Corolla
Hampton Inn Outerbanks Carolla
Hampton Inn Corolla
Corolla Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing