We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A must do adventure!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rick's Jeep Adventures - CLOSED

Rick's Jeep Adventures
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We offer Jeep Rentals to see the Outer Banks Wild Horses. Rick's Jeep Adventures is the only rental company in the Outer Banks that allows you to customize the Jeep the way you like. These options include the choice to put the top down, take the doors off, avoid direct sunlight with a mesh SPF50 Bikini Top and a complimentary iced cooler. Our Jeeps are customized for beach driving, with top of the line AEV lifts from 3 to 5 inches and 17 inch alloy wheels with 35 inch Kevlar sidewalled tires. These additions not only look great but offer superior handling, ground clearance and traction on the beach. Rent from the best and all you need to do is enjoy your ride! Your off-road Jeep adventure lasts a little over 2 hours. The Jeep tour will take you across the pristine 4X4 beaches. Because our Jeep Rentals are "self driven" but "fully guided" we can offer a full money back guarantee to find the horses. Following a guided tour provides you with access to our guides who enjoy sharing local history and information on the Spanish Wild Horses. Our guides are your GPS and can guide you safely around the 6-7 feet deep mud puddles of Carova and keep you safe back behind the dunes. At Rick's Jeeps we care about our local area, so we want to make sure that everyone has fun on the beach with the minimum environmental impact possible. We also want to ensure that the Spanish Mustang Ponies of the Outer Banks stay free and wild for generations to come.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A must do adventure!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Our tour was awesome!! We went just 2 days before my son deployed overseas with the Navy. We went in without a reservation and Linda did everything she could to fit us in, including giving us the tour herself! My son drove the Jeep behind Linda's lead car. What an incredible day!! We saw the wild horses and even saw a whale off shore. This was a memory making experience that my family will never forget!! Thank you so much!!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    20
    10
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Apex, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

I went with my grandmother, parents, aunt, uncle, and cousins on a week vacation to the OBX. On our last day we decided to go with Rick's Jeep Adventures to see the more unseen parts of the outer banks. Our tour guide, Scott (I think that was his name), was absolutely wonderful! He was knowledgeable but presented the facts in an interesting way. Our group was split into two jeeps (with Scott and Peyton) Even Grandma and the teens had a wonderful time! Like Scott said during our tour, we truly "ended our trip with a bang"!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank BeachGirl1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WELL BEYOND THE ORDINARY 12-29-2011”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

Great trip up into 4X4 territory beyond Corolla to the real Currituck Outer Banks where the wild Colonial era Spanish Mustangs freely roam! What a thrill to see these wild horses on the dunes and beach areas of extreme northeast NC. Jeep driving on the beach was an experience not to be missed; professional guide was awesome and went way beyond the call of duty to ensure we saw plenty of wild mustangs. Well worth it; would do again in a minute. Great experience.

Helpful?
3 Thank 56Orca56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manassas, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome and fun experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

My sister, 4 year old and I visited OBX three days after of Hurricane Irene hit. The devistation was so heartbreaking. We decided on Thurs. afternoon to try to go see the horses. We were able to get on a tour Friday afternoon. Our guide was Gary. Since we were the only ones that wanted an enclosed vehicle because of the 4 year old, we ended up getting a private tour! What fun!! We were able to see around 20 horses. We went through this one narrow, jungle like area then out popped some houses and horses. It was like Gary knew exactly where to go. There is a law about getting too close to them, so we couldn't touch, but just to see them as close as we did was awesome. There were a group of 4 horses that were in someone's yard. We were trying to figure out how the people were going to leave their house!! We can't wait to go back to OBX so that we can take the rest of the family on the tour.

Thanks Gary for making a sad week better!!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great experience, we plan on going again in December”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

We had a great trip, it was awesome to be able to bring our big dog too. We saw lots of horses and learned a great deal about their history. Gary was an excellent, informative guide. Driving the jeep on the beach and in the sand was a blast!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rick's Jeep Adventures also viewed

 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing