We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great hideaway but close to beach”
other travellers have booked this property
DSC 0689
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
DSC 0689
DSC 0537 DSC 0690
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
DSC 0689
DSC 0537
DSC 0690
DSC 0692
DSC 0622
DSC 0626
DSC 0696
DSC 0700
DSC 0592
DSC 0701
DSC 0703
DSC 0711
DSC 0709
DSC 0715
DSC 0713
DSC 0745
DSC 0738
DSC 0749
Photo courtesy of Tina Stack - Sept 2012
Photo courtesy of Tina Stack - Sept 2012
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Corolla, Outer Banks, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
537dcs
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hideaway but close to beach”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This was a wonderful place to stay. The horses came right up to our house on the third day! Very quiet, yet close to the beach. Flip was very helpful and friendly :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quiet and beautiful
Liked least: mosquitos
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley L
Palmyra, New York
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No Need to pay for the Wild Horse Tour. It comes to you!”
Reviewed 28 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We took our Honeymoon at Washwoods and it was truly a relaxing experience. Driving on the sand was a bit stressful at first, but once we got the hang of it we could not resist roaming the roads of the 4X4 section of Corolla and searching for the wild horses. Washwoods had everything that we needed to make ourselves at home and the owners Flip & Melody made every part of planning our trip easy. The house was very clean and even had a washer and dryer, beach chars, an umbrella, and boogie boards for our use. We even brought our dog with us. The last night that we were there we had wild horses in the yard while we were out on the deck. This was the perfect affordable vacation spot to just escape and relax from our stressful lives and recuperate from wedding planning. I would recommend this rental to anyone who wants to relax and enjoy this beautiful place.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muncy, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 16 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Seclusion
Liked least: Driving on beach during high tide
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
janelles2...
Lima, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a wonderful place :)”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed at wash woods from September 20th to September 27th 2014, and it was one of the best vacations we have ever had. This trip was our first time to the OBX area and I must say I think we are hooked!!!! With it being our first time driving on the beach we were a little worried, but it was all fine we did however arrive at the house during high tide, but never had a problem getting there. when we got back to the house we found it to be clean and have a very homey feel to it. we loved all the board games and puzzles that was an extra bonus, we also loved the screened porch area as we sat outside a lot of the time. The weather was mostly good while we were there did rain some and was kinda chilly but you cant control that. We got to see wild horses, deer and a lot of tree frogs. Walking to the beach was great wasnt too far away from the house. Flip and Melody always answered any questions we had right away, which we appreciated very much. We loved that the property is secluded very quite, and to be honest it will be hard to go back to the real world. We are looking forward to a future stay at wash woods, thanks again for a perfect vacation :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the peace and quiet
Liked least: the bugs
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristine...
Kearny, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Could not have been more PERFECT!”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Wash Woods was a PERFECT home for us for the week! It was close to the beach but secluded for a nice getaway! From minute we pulled into the driveway, I was in love! The house was beautifully decorated and was so comfortable, we settled right in! We brought our puppy along and she loved every second of it! She explored the rooms and decided the living room was her favorite. She also loved hanging out on the deck and sunbathing on the beach! We spent our days on the beach and our nights grilling, relaxing and enjoying the hot tub. We encountered some of the beautiful wild horses on the beach and some deer while walking the dog! I don't consider myself outdoors-y by any means so it took a few days for me to adjust to the presence of bugs, but after that, they didn't even bother me! Internet and cell service were spotty but it was such a pleasure to not have to worry about checking emails and answering calls that we welcomed it! We ventured into town a few times (my husband got the hang of driving on the sand after a little snag our first day and thoroughly enjoyed it by our final day) and checked out Historic Corolla Village and the Whalehead Club. We spent a full day in Nags Head, with a stop at the Wright Brothers Memorial in Kitty Hawk, shopping and having lunch. It was a most relaxing week and we were so sad to leave! I would recommend Wash Woods to anyone! I can't wait to return! :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The atmosphere, the privacy of the home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing