We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and very clean B&B”
Review of The Esmeralda Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Esmeralda Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Esmeralda Inn is a charming and well run B&B. Beautiful lobby with rock fireplace was not working when we were there because it was warm weather. However, it would be beautiful in the colder months. Staff is great and it has great little touches like fresh baked cookies in the lobby/ The breakfasts were wonderful. The only criticisms that we have are that some of the room are so small as to be un livable. We had room12 which was so small that I couldn't get around the bed. It also only has a light (for reading) on one side of the bed. There is no room to a second one because room is so small (room is about 2 inches from the door). All this for $200+ per night. We later moved to a "king" room which was much bigger, but there was still only one light. The other undesirable feature was the fact that you had to go to another floor to make a cup of tea or coffee. It didn't have a small coffee machine in each room (a feature that you get in even the cheapest of motels/hotels). If you want something to drink after you have gone to bed (no room to be anyplace else in your room), you have to get dressed, make yourself reasonably respectable and go to another floor to make it.

Room Tip: Make sure that you get one of their bigger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DougandShirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeeperOwner, Owner at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing your review from your last stay with us at The Esmeralda Inn & Restaurant. We are glad you enjoyed your visit with us. However, I understand that some of our rooms are smaller due to this being rebuilt from the original structure, but our views from our outdoor porches are breathtaking. We hope that you will be able to come back and visit us again and stay in Room 1 or 2 or you might even enjoy more space in one of our cabins. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (600)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 600 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay tremendously! The inn is located out of the high traffic area on the main thoroughfare. The hot tub was awesome after our hike up Chimney Rock Park. Game room was fun. Room was spotless. Food was delicious. They have thought of everything here at this inn

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank pirate013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeeperOwner, Owner at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed our amenities here at The Esmeralda Inn & Restaurant. We hope that you can return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

We didn't stay in the hotel,but we had a wonderful meal in the restaurant to celebrate our 36th wedding anniversary. We arrived earlier than our reservation,but we were seated immediately,and made to feel very welcome. We shared a appetizer of shrimp and grits in a spring roll,and wished we had ordered one each! The bread rolls were excellent,as was the pork shank,and scallops. We waited about 15 minutes for the apple crumb cake with ice cream,and it was worth every minute of the wait as it was so good! We had a rose sparkling wine to accompany the meal,and it was a very special evening for us both. Thanks to the chef and the staff for such a memorable meal.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank mandyradin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeeperOwner, Owner at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing your review with us after your "Special Anniversary Dinner" We are so glad you enjoyed. We hope you will be able to return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

A charming and friendly getaway that's very reasonably priced.. Staff were delightful, helpful and kind while the room was perfect. It's a beautiful area with stunning views. You'll get your breath back here

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgilbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeeperOwner, Owner at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for staying with us at The Esmeralda Inn & Restaurant. We are glad to hear that you found our place to be a "Charming Retreat". Thanks again and we will see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

We stayed at The Esmerelda for a couple of nights during Lake Lure's "Dirty Dancing Festival". We found it suprisingly quite and cozy since it is just past the Chimney Rock Village Area. We slept with the windows open listening to the relaxing sound of the river and woke to stunning views of the sunrise-lit mountains. All meals were top notch and both the indoor and outdoor dining experiences were relaxed and pleasant. The landscaping outside was just as magnificent as the rustic interior. The Esmerelda's historic past was well documented in thoughtfully placed books, photo albums, and collections of newspaper clippings in the lobby lounge area. It was fun just sitting there for a while and learning a bit about the history of the area and the Inn. We are planning to come back at least once a year from now on. It was that good of an experience. The owners and staff make you feel so comfortable there that you don't feel like you are "on vacation", you feel like you are visiting with friends.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeeperOwner, Owner at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your kind words about your recent stay with us at The Esmeralda Inn & Restaurant. We are so glad that you enjoyed our Inn and all that it has to offer. We will look forward to your return visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chimney Rock
3.3 km away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
1.9 km away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 4 in Chimney Rock
117 reviews
31.2 km away
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Asheville
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.4 km away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
7.1 km away
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
32.0 km away
The Omni Grove Park Inn
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#13 of 66 in Asheville
6,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esmeralda Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esmeralda Inn

Address: 910 Main St, Chimney Rock, NC 28720
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Chimney Rock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Price Range: ₹ 12,098 - ₹ 39,935 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Esmeralda Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esmeralda Inn and Restaurant is nestled within the Hickory Nut Gorge of the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains located in Chimney Rock, NC. Enjoy hiking, climbing and fishing and golfing. While dining enjoy the majestic views of Chimney Rock State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Esmeralda Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Esmeralda Hotel Chimney Rock
Esmeralda Hotel Chimney Rock
Esmeralda Chimney Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing