We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (647)
Filter reviews
647 results
Traveller rating
507
95
16
14
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
507
95
16
14
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake lureair hockeyoutdoor fireplacebroad riverchimney rock parkterrace roomshrimp and gritshot tubpicnic lunchfront porchdirty dancingtroutget awaymodern amenitieswe loved our stayplan to returnbed was very comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 647 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay tremendously! The inn is located out of the high traffic area on the main thoroughfare. The hot tub was awesome after our hike up Chimney Rock Park. Game room was fun. Room was spotless. Food was delicious. They have thought of everything here at this inn

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank pirate013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeeperOwner, Owner at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed our amenities here at The Esmeralda Inn & Restaurant. We hope that you can return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

We didn't stay in the hotel,but we had a wonderful meal in the restaurant to celebrate our 36th wedding anniversary. We arrived earlier than our reservation,but we were seated immediately,and made to feel very welcome. We shared a appetizer of shrimp and grits in a spring roll,and wished we had ordered one each! The bread rolls were excellent,as was the pork shank,and scallops. We waited about 15 minutes for the apple crumb cake with ice cream,and it was worth every minute of the wait as it was so good! We had a rose sparkling wine to accompany the meal,and it was a very special evening for us both. Thanks to the chef and the staff for such a memorable meal.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank mandyradin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeeperOwner, Owner at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Thank you for sharing your review with us after your "Special Anniversary Dinner" We are so glad you enjoyed. We hope you will be able to return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

A charming and friendly getaway that's very reasonably priced.. Staff were delightful, helpful and kind while the room was perfect. It's a beautiful area with stunning views. You'll get your breath back here

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgilbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeeperOwner, Owner at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Thank you for staying with us at The Esmeralda Inn & Restaurant. We are glad to hear that you found our place to be a "Charming Retreat". Thanks again and we will see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

We stayed at The Esmerelda for a couple of nights during Lake Lure's "Dirty Dancing Festival". We found it suprisingly quite and cozy since it is just past the Chimney Rock Village Area. We slept with the windows open listening to the relaxing sound of the river and woke to stunning views of the sunrise-lit mountains. All meals were top notch and both the indoor and outdoor dining experiences were relaxed and pleasant. The landscaping outside was just as magnificent as the rustic interior. The Esmerelda's historic past was well documented in thoughtfully placed books, photo albums, and collections of newspaper clippings in the lobby lounge area. It was fun just sitting there for a while and learning a bit about the history of the area and the Inn. We are planning to come back at least once a year from now on. It was that good of an experience. The owners and staff make you feel so comfortable there that you don't feel like you are "on vacation", you feel like you are visiting with friends.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeeperOwner, Owner at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words about your recent stay with us at The Esmeralda Inn & Restaurant. We are so glad that you enjoyed our Inn and all that it has to offer. We will look forward to your return visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

An absolutely wonderful visit to The Esmeralda! The accommodations, spa, and meals were exceptional, not to mention, the best massage from Penny!
My husband and I stayed in room 10, breathtaking!
WE WILL BE BACK!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank fongmm1918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeeperOwner, Owner at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at The Esmeralda Inn & Restaurant and our amenities as well. We will look forward to your return visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews