We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (647)
Filter reviews
647 results
Traveller rating
507
95
16
14
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
507
95
16
14
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake lureair hockeyoutdoor fireplacebroad riverchimney rock parkterrace roomshrimp and gritshot tubpicnic lunchfront porchdirty dancingtroutget awaymodern amenitieswe loved our stayplan to returnbed was very comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 647 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2017

A charming and friendly getaway that's very reasonably priced.. Staff were delightful, helpful and kind while the room was perfect. It's a beautiful area with stunning views. You'll get your breath back here

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgilbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeeperOwner, Owner at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Thank you for staying with us at The Esmeralda Inn & Restaurant. We are glad to hear that you found our place to be a "Charming Retreat". Thanks again and we will see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

We stayed at The Esmerelda for a couple of nights during Lake Lure's "Dirty Dancing Festival". We found it suprisingly quite and cozy since it is just past the Chimney Rock Village Area. We slept with the windows open listening to the relaxing sound of the river and woke to stunning views of the sunrise-lit mountains. All meals were top notch and both the indoor and outdoor dining experiences were relaxed and pleasant. The landscaping outside was just as magnificent as the rustic interior. The Esmerelda's historic past was well documented in thoughtfully placed books, photo albums, and collections of newspaper clippings in the lobby lounge area. It was fun just sitting there for a while and learning a bit about the history of the area and the Inn. We are planning to come back at least once a year from now on. It was that good of an experience. The owners and staff make you feel so comfortable there that you don't feel like you are "on vacation", you feel like you are visiting with friends.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeeperOwner, Owner at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words about your recent stay with us at The Esmeralda Inn & Restaurant. We are so glad that you enjoyed our Inn and all that it has to offer. We will look forward to your return visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

An absolutely wonderful visit to The Esmeralda! The accommodations, spa, and meals were exceptional, not to mention, the best massage from Penny!
My husband and I stayed in room 10, breathtaking!
WE WILL BE BACK!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank fongmm1918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeeperOwner, Owner at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at The Esmeralda Inn & Restaurant and our amenities as well. We will look forward to your return visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

We were looking for a quick anniversary getaway. Wanted somewhere with the right balance of activities and relaxing atmosphere. We looked at several lush and plush B&B's in the Asheville/Chimney Rock area. Esmeralda Inn isn't the most plush in the area, but it was the closest to Chimney Rock with an available room on short notice. Surprise! The service was impeccable! Our room was very nice, though not huge, and the bedding was wonderful! Very comfortable! It was wonderfully clean, and there was the ambience of soft music playing when we first entered our room, which I loved. The staff was very attentive and informative. Even though it was a small hotel, we still felt the coziness of a smaller B&B. The coffee was down the hall, but still accessible very early in the morning. We loved getting our coffee and sitting on the front porch first thing in the morning, looking out over Chimney Rock! It is a wonderful view! The rooms on the second floor access the porch directly from the room.
The Inn is a historic building, and the entrance and living area are beautifully built and decorated. I loved the incorporation of trees in the stairwell and entry area. There were little forest animals (stuffed toys) stuck in small nooks and crannies, causing an unexpected smile at unexpected moments.
The best part of the Inn is the food! It is world class! Breakfast in the morning is amazing, and included. Be sure to ask for a picnic lunch if you're going out for the day. We ate there for one evening meal, and I honestly enjoyed it more than our anniversary meal at the Grove Park Inn, and you KNOW how good they are! They also have a large hot tub on a patio, combined with a nice outdoor fireplace. Looks like fun for the colder months! Oh! There is also a great game room!
The Inn is not an easy walk into town, but it's less than a 5 minute drive. We enjoyed town, the River Walk, and the hikes around the Chimney Rock park. The waterfall was beautiful! It was also an easy drive into Asheville.
Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GigiGibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeeperOwner, Owner at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay with us at The Esmeralda Inn & Restaurant. We are glad we were able to meet your expectations. We hope you will be able to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Comfortable rooms. Many with lovely views. Our room was small (remember the Inn is the size of the old inn that burned to the ground a decade ago), however our outdoor porch with amazing mountain and waterfall views, made it feel and live much larger. We loved watching a storm come in over Chimney Rock while relaxing with a glass of wine on our covered porch. Be sure to request a view room.

Room Tip: Request view rooms. If traveling with children consider the river front cabins; one is single dog friendly.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeeperOwner, Owner at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Thank you for sharing your memories with us about your stay at The Esmeralda Inn & Restaurant. We are glad we meet your expectations. We hope you can visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews