We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Anniversary Dinner”
Review of The Esmeralda Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Esmeralda Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2017

We didn't stay in the hotel,but we had a wonderful meal in the restaurant to celebrate our 36th wedding anniversary. We arrived earlier than our reservation,but we were seated immediately,and made to feel very welcome. We shared a appetizer of shrimp and grits in a spring roll,and wished we had ordered one each! The bread rolls were excellent,as was the pork shank,and scallops. We waited about 15 minutes for the apple crumb cake with ice cream,and it was worth every minute of the wait as it was so good! We had a rose sparkling wine to accompany the meal,and it was a very special evening for us both. Thanks to the chef and the staff for such a memorable meal.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank mandyradin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeeperOwner, Owner at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Thank you for sharing your review with us after your "Special Anniversary Dinner" We are so glad you enjoyed. We hope you will be able to return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (609)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 609 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2017

A charming and friendly getaway that's very reasonably priced.. Staff were delightful, helpful and kind while the room was perfect. It's a beautiful area with stunning views. You'll get your breath back here

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgilbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeeperOwner, Owner at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Thank you for staying with us at The Esmeralda Inn & Restaurant. We are glad to hear that you found our place to be a "Charming Retreat". Thanks again and we will see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

We stayed at The Esmerelda for a couple of nights during Lake Lure's "Dirty Dancing Festival". We found it suprisingly quite and cozy since it is just past the Chimney Rock Village Area. We slept with the windows open listening to the relaxing sound of the river and woke to stunning views of the sunrise-lit mountains. All meals were top notch and both the indoor and outdoor dining experiences were relaxed and pleasant. The landscaping outside was just as magnificent as the rustic interior. The Esmerelda's historic past was well documented in thoughtfully placed books, photo albums, and collections of newspaper clippings in the lobby lounge area. It was fun just sitting there for a while and learning a bit about the history of the area and the Inn. We are planning to come back at least once a year from now on. It was that good of an experience. The owners and staff make you feel so comfortable there that you don't feel like you are "on vacation", you feel like you are visiting with friends.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeeperOwner, Owner at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words about your recent stay with us at The Esmeralda Inn & Restaurant. We are so glad that you enjoyed our Inn and all that it has to offer. We will look forward to your return visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

An absolutely wonderful visit to The Esmeralda! The accommodations, spa, and meals were exceptional, not to mention, the best massage from Penny!
My husband and I stayed in room 10, breathtaking!
WE WILL BE BACK!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank fongmm1918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeeperOwner, Owner at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at The Esmeralda Inn & Restaurant and our amenities as well. We will look forward to your return visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

We were looking for a quick anniversary getaway. Wanted somewhere with the right balance of activities and relaxing atmosphere. We looked at several lush and plush B&B's in the Asheville/Chimney Rock area. Esmeralda Inn isn't the most plush in the area, but it was the closest to Chimney Rock with an available room on short notice. Surprise! The service was impeccable! Our room was very nice, though not huge, and the bedding was wonderful! Very comfortable! It was wonderfully clean, and there was the ambience of soft music playing when we first entered our room, which I loved. The staff was very attentive and informative. Even though it was a small hotel, we still felt the coziness of a smaller B&B. The coffee was down the hall, but still accessible very early in the morning. We loved getting our coffee and sitting on the front porch first thing in the morning, looking out over Chimney Rock! It is a wonderful view! The rooms on the second floor access the porch directly from the room.
The Inn is a historic building, and the entrance and living area are beautifully built and decorated. I loved the incorporation of trees in the stairwell and entry area. There were little forest animals (stuffed toys) stuck in small nooks and crannies, causing an unexpected smile at unexpected moments.
The best part of the Inn is the food! It is world class! Breakfast in the morning is amazing, and included. Be sure to ask for a picnic lunch if you're going out for the day. We ate there for one evening meal, and I honestly enjoyed it more than our anniversary meal at the Grove Park Inn, and you KNOW how good they are! They also have a large hot tub on a patio, combined with a nice outdoor fireplace. Looks like fun for the colder months! Oh! There is also a great game room!
The Inn is not an easy walk into town, but it's less than a 5 minute drive. We enjoyed town, the River Walk, and the hikes around the Chimney Rock park. The waterfall was beautiful! It was also an easy drive into Asheville.
Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GigiGibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeeperOwner, Owner at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay with us at The Esmeralda Inn & Restaurant. We are glad we were able to meet your expectations. We hope you will be able to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chimney Rock
3.3 km away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
2.4 km away
Chimney Rock Inn
Chimney Rock Inn
#4 of 4 in Chimney Rock
32 reviews
1.9 km away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 4 in Chimney Rock
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.9 km away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
36 km away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate), NC
20.4 km away
Mountain Lodge
Mountain Lodge
#3 of 6 in Flat Rock
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esmeralda Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esmeralda Inn

Address: 910 Main St, Chimney Rock, NC 28720
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Chimney Rock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Price Range: ₹ 10,530 - ₹ 36,439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Esmeralda Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esmeralda Inn and Restaurant is nestled within the Hickory Nut Gorge of the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains located in Chimney Rock, NC. Enjoy hiking, climbing and fishing and golfing. While dining enjoy the majestic views of Chimney Rock State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Esmeralda Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Esmeralda Hotel Chimney Rock
Esmeralda Hotel Chimney Rock
Esmeralda Chimney Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing